We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful night's rest in a centrally located hotel”
Review of Room Mate Pau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Pau
Ranked #46 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A peaceful night's rest in a centrally located hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A good night's sleep is what I require in a hotel and you certainly get that in this hotel. Although it is located literally yards away from Placa Catelunya, we could have been the only people in the hotel - I did not hear any noise from either outside or from other guests. This is in part due to the room's location, - we had an executive room on the forth floor around one of the internal courtyard wells, where we backed onto only one other room; and due to the room's design, for example double ceilings. The room was quite small but had everything you needed, was exceptionally clean with a powerful shower. It is very modern - white walls and furniture, dashes of colours here and there and hidden lighting. funky but effective.

the young staff were fabulous - very friendly and helpful. They recommended a reasonably priced restaurant for which they had free drinks vouchers, made telephone bookings for us and phoned up a restaurant where my daughter had left her sunglasses behind.

Breakfast was adequate, but can be found cheaper in local cafes. One morning we went to the café in the adjoining department store which is located on the top floor and has fantastic views. We had a lovely meal at Cachitos in Rambla de Catalunya - the inside is very Spanish and tasteful. Also for a treat in Casa Calvert a ten mins walk away and one of Gaudi's first houses he designed - ask to see the lift and vestibule.

Two other trips for visitors: go after 6pm to Sagrada Familia to avoid the queues and pre-book for Parc Guell.

Room Tip: Room 410 was exceptionally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaby186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    372
    37
    7
    11
See reviews for
133
707
48
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

You can't want for anything more from this hotel - central location, extremely helpful and friendly staff (we forgot to print some tickets and needed them urgently and they were more than accommodating), a clean/modern room and oh the bed was comfy! Price was also reasonable for the city centre and good value for money given the size of the room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Sophie,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We really enjoy helping our guests to have the best stay in Barcelona, this is why we help you in everything!!

Please feel free to contact us directly next time you plan visiting Barcelona,
pau@room-matehotels.com

Best regards from all the staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, WA
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is really everything you need for a pre-cruise stay: clean, comfortable room with an awesome shower, convenient location when taking the A2 airport bus, and helpful staff. The modern design may not be to everyone's taste but it seems to work. The room is Euro-sized but very functional. It includes a safe, mini fridge, and flawless wifi. We booked the room with breakfast included and felt we received good value for the price. Breakfast was more than adequate. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anaco_Angler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Anaco,

Thank you very much for your review,

All the team is looking forward to welcome you soon,

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

It was hard to find a good hotel in Barcelona with a good location. But with Room Mate Pau, we founded the perfect place (100 meters away from Place de Cataluyna). Nice and clean rooms. The staff was super friendly.

They suggested us an upgrade to an executive room (10 €/night extra).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gschnied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Of all the hotels we've stayed at in Barcelona this one is in the best location - just round the corner from El Cortes ingles and the airport bus stop. The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. We really liked the minimalist room decor/design. We had a standard room which was a decent size. There is a fridge, safe and hair dryer in the room and you can buy drinks from reception to put in your fridge. The outside space is pretty funky and it was good having breakfast outside although the breakfast area is nice. We paid extra for breakfast in advance although in hindsight we would have only had breakfast in the hotel a couple of times because it was pretty limiting, although I think for Barcelona standards it is a good value breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Booked this hotel for a 3 day pre-cruise tour of Barcelona. The airport shuttle bus stop is only 500 yards from this hotel, and the hop-on-hop-off bus also starts from there. It is walking distance to LasRamblas. The front desk is very friendly. Room is clean and the breakfast is delicious with many choices. There is one minor issue with the shower. The water from the shower area will run into the bedroom area.. Other than that, this is an excellent modern hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chow_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Family Chow,

Thank you very much for your review, sorry for the inconvinience with the shower, we just made some Works in all the showers!

Hope next time you visit Barcelona you choose cPau for your stay.

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We booked this after reading reviews, so glad we did. We wanted a 4 night birthday break, I had arranged for a bottle of Cava and birthday message, this was waiting on ice upon our arrival. I upgraded 10 euros per night for executive room stayed in 206, very spacious, situated on the front with a small balcony. The shower is seperate and amazing. The hotel is very quirky and this is reflected in the rooms. Breakfast was 8.50 euros good value buffet cold cereals, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, cakes. Toast making facilities, scrambled egg, bacon, mini sausages. Fills you up for the day. Location is top of
Las Ramblas, the bus A2 from airport takes 25 minutes and drops off at Plaza Catalunya which is 30 seconds from the hotel, approx 10 euros return ticket. It's 30 mins walk from Barcelona fountains but only 2 euros on metro. We walked to beach in approx 25 mins, and also went in a taxi approx 7 euros. Lots to see and do, staff so friendly and can recommend lots. They can't do enough for you. We did homework on places to eat, a short walk away look for either Cera 23, or Buenos Aires Argentinian Grill. For tapas Taller De Tapas. Thanks again to the helpful staff Nan, Raquel, Inigo, Joel, and especially Gener enjoyed our late night chats, they all made our stay great! And what a shame when our flight got cancelled and we had to enjoy an extra night!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AdyClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you very much Mr Clarke,

We really appreciate you kind review, fro sure your review will help other people to book in Pau!

Best regards from all the staff!!

Hope to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#34 of 512 in Barcelona
2,072 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 512 in Barcelona
893 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#19 of 512 in Barcelona
650 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 512 in Barcelona
190 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 512 in Barcelona
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Pau

Property: Room Mate Pau
Address: C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Pau 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Room Mate Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing