We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied !!!”
Review of Room Mate Pau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Pau
Ranked #45 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very satisfied !!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed for two nights in room 605. Very nice clean and reasonably spacious. Modern furniture, very quite although overlooking the street below. Full (hot) breakfast with everything you look for.
The best is the fantastic location right on the 20 seconds to the Catalunia Square and right on the edge of the Gothic quartet.
Extremely polite and well informed stuff.
We will definitely return !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacob500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Jacob,

Thank you for you positive comment.

We are happy to know you like the service received from all the staff.

We like to help our guests to make your stay even better.

Hope to see you soon in Pau,

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    368
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
128
698
48
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington Kent
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The aerobus coaches from the airport take 35 mins to the big square (Placa de Catalunya) where you will be able to access the metro and a lot of buses to various locations including Park Guell.

The hotel is 2 min walk from square. The old town begins on the other side of the road and goes down to the beach/marina/port. La Rambla runs from the marina up to the square. You can walk to the cathedral and other places of interest or use the metro/buses.

The hotel is excellent with very helpful staff. We had breakfast in Pan & Company (located about 2 mins from hotel) for around 4 euros. The hotel breakfast is 9 euros.
The hotel and our double room were clean and comfortable.
The staff were excellent and spoke english.

Room Tip: All rooms are well sound proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ironhead13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Ironhead,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are pleased to know you had a nice stay in Pau and enjoyed your trip to Barcelona,

Please feel free to contact us next time you plan to visit Barcelona.

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived to Barcelona on a Saturday around midday and were able to check in straightaway.

We had an executive room on the second floor (206) with a balcony overlooking the main street outside the hotel. Initial impressions of the room were that it was large, light, plenty of electrical sockets etc. The bed was comfortable.

Negatives were that there is no hot drink making facility, the room was looking a little tired after a few years use and some of the design features were definitely form over function i.e Sink in a cupboard and no privacy in the toilet with only a thin piece of glass separating it from the main room. Towels felt cheap. Carpet was dirty.

The toilet seat had fallen off and not been properly fixed back on.

The room had an internet radio/media system. This was temperamental and started to wake us up at 7am without us setting it!!! Not good...

We had breakfast on the first morning. It was busy, mainly stocked with substandard pastries, fruit, bread and cold meats. All the hot food had run out when we arrived but when it did arrive it looked pretty horrible so I didn't bother. The coffee was awful. Not really worth the 9 euro (each) that they charged. We ate out the other mornings for much less and had better food (plenty of places close by).

One afternoon we arrived back to our room and it was still being serviced - I think this is too late. The maid apologised and we had to wait outside 15 mins for her to finish. In her rush he hadn't changed the sheets and left our bin halfway down the corridor

The location of the hotel was great - 5 mins walk from the airport bus and close to all the big attractions, we walked almost everywhere

So overall a disappointment, and we would not come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lonrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great location, great design and friendly staff with perfect English. Really swish executive room with huge walk in shower room, 42 inch flat screen TV, superbly comfortable bed, great air con, safe and fridge. It's the design of the rooms and the coolness of the place that makes it special. Breakfast also very good apart from dry scrambled eggs and served till 12 if you've had a late night. Worth getting the executive room and in January/February it's a bargain price. Perfectly located for walking to the old city or taking the subway further afield. Even in early Feb I had perfect blue sky and a reasonably warm sun. No wonder the locals look so happy.

Room Tip: Face the courtyard rather than the street if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Roger,

First of all, thank you very much for such a nice comment.
You perfeclty describe our hotel concept. good shower, good bed, good breakfast!

Best regards from sunny Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Just returned from 2 nights at the room mate pau, Barcelona, on arrival desk staff very welcoming and friendly, we stayed in a deluxe room on the 4th floor, rooms are small but have everything you need! Very central location just round the corner from the central plaza and round the corner from las ramblas, breakfast is ok, continental mainly with a bit of bacon and scrambled egg, it was pleasant enough, would definitely stay at this hotel again! Brilliant break

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear KTTT,

Thank you very much for your kind comment.

We are happy to know next time you visit Barcelona you will stay in Pau!

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Can not recommend this hotel enough!

Located a few seconds walk from the main square (plaça catalunya), it is absolutely perfect for both the bus to and from the airport and all main tourist bus routes. Also only a few hundred yards from the metro line for places like the Camp Nou.

The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable. Staff more than helpful and always with a smile. The room is very well designed (except for a leaky shower due to the floor being flat) but looks great throughout.

If you're staying in Barcelona, you won't find better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellors84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Mellors84,

Thank you very much for spending time in writing a comment.

In a few days we start woriking in our new showers, so hop you visit us soon asn you try it!

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I am a frequent traveller and spend maybe way too many nights in hotel rooms. Oh so often it happens that one wonders how hotels can be so overwhelmingly badly managed. And I wonder how this is possible, given that it is no rocket science to run a good hotel.

This hotel, in sharp contrast, can easily serve as the definition of a well-managed hotel.

In fact, I think the people running it did pretty much everything right. The location is great. The design is fancy, original and tasteful. Of course free broadband wireless is included and there is no need to say many words about it. Staff is friendly, open and superbly professional. The bed is huge and comfortable. There is even a small balcony. Breakfast is healthy and good. The back yard is designed in a cool fashion and is charming.

I am not saying that this is a luxury hotel. Quite the opposite is true, in fact; this one is fairly on the budget side. Still, given the limited resources available, it is very obvious that the makers of this hotel spent a brain cell or two to figure out how one could make a good hotel possible. Last week I stayed in a hotel charging a factor of 3 more for a room, and I felt much less welcome.

At the entrance, a bright sign asks: Do you want to sleep with me?

And, well, there is no denying. I say yes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlkoreander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Karl,

Thank you very very much for such a possitive comment on our hotel.

This is exactly what we pretend: confy bed, good breakfast and good shower!!!

We try to improve daily and this is a very important recompense, to read such a nice comment.

All the team hopes to welcome you soon,

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,051 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
870 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#61 of 513 in Barcelona
1,140 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
186 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Pau

Property: Room Mate Pau
Address: C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Pau 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Room Mate Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing