We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at fabulous hotel”
Review of Room Mate Pau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Pau
Ranked #46 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service at fabulous hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location at city centre, highly accessible to all tourist spots. Room Mate Pau has got a team of terrific staff, offering excellent service and resourceful advice. Salute to Martina and Joel in particular!
Really appreciate the free flow of iced water offered at the lobby (they use bottled but not tap water!!) and the REAL high speed wifi (many hotels offer free but slow wifi!)
Will definitely stay there again :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Flo,

We are happy to know you had a great time in Pau!

Please feel free to contact us next time you plan to visit Barcelona!

Best regards from all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    363
    35
    7
    10
See reviews for
125
689
47
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent hotel. I came here with my friend for 5 days and received the best attention, and the room was very comfortable. Wifi works really well. Young and modern ambience makes it great for couples and friends. Oh, and Oliver is the coolest receptionist ever! If we ever come back to BCN, we'll surely stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Nico,

Thank you for your nice comments, we appreciate you took your time to explain your experience.

Hope to see you and your friend soon!

Best regards from all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We could not fault this hotel. When I booked I asked if they could do a gluten free breakfast and they provided cereal, cakes, croissants and hot rolls on top of what was available on the buffet. The staff were friendly and helpful and when we had an issue with the safe it was sorted instantly. I found the breakfast relaxed and plentiful and available from 7.30 to mid day which is unusual. The mini bar idea of stocking it with what you want saves any difficulties at check out and the decor was innovative and unusual. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Maps were available at reception and the location very central. I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I return to Barcelona will use it again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank janeeh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jane,

Thank you for writing your experience in Pau!

We are happy you had a nice stay in Pay and Barcelona.

Best regards, from all the team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was one of the few times my experience was so different from the reviews. Upon check in we had a room that was so different and smaller from the one we expected from the booking.com photos. We asked that they change it and we had to show them the booking.com site and what we signed up for. They kept us waiting in front of them to call booking.com to tell them that the picture is wrong before solving our problem. We were very disappointed to find that the mini bar is empty and there is no room service and were told that we can get what we want from a vending machine in the lobby. Breakfast is the worst we have had in terms of variety and quality. So, after breakfast we wanted to check out to go to a better place to save the remaining of the trip. The manager on duty gave us a hard time and she was extremely rude. We finally checked out, and went to Ohla hotel, which was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Maymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located just around the corner of Placa Katalunya which is a major transportation hub for the city. The airport is 35 minutes and 6 euros away (aerobus). It also seems that most of the major sightseeing and entertainment is within walking distance.
Rooms are small but spacious enough and organized. We stayed in the standard room but didn't spent much time inside anyway...
The breakfast is tasty with good variety - more than enough to get your day started.
Overall good value for the buck.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank P3tr4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time on writing your opinion.

This helps us to improve and give a good service!

Regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Perfectly placed and convenient to the bus service from the airport. The rooms are very different, and very modern, but work well. An excellent breakfast. The Reception Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, even though I was grumpy as my wife and I had been victims of two pickpocket attacks whilst leaving the bus. Hotel location central to everywhere!

Room Tip: Do not get to Plaza de Catalunya on the bus early on a Sunday morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Gabriela,

Thank you for your kind words. These helps us to improve daily and offer our best!

Hope to see you soon in Barcelona!


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great hotel. Decor feels fresh and clean. Bed was sooo comfortable. Close to everything. Staff very friendly and helpful. I agree with what someone said in an earlier review that the breakfast area looks like a school cafeteria. Although the outside of the dining area is very cool. Breakfast very average but adequate.
This hotel has a nice feel about it. I would defineately return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahjane865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Deborah,

Thank you for you comment. We are happy to know you had a nice stay. We are redesigning the bar/breakfast area, so I am sure that when you come back you will like it!

Regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#34 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#60 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#19 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Pau

Property: Room Mate Pau
Address: C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Pau 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Room Mate Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing