We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing....everything!”
Review of Suculent

Suculent
Ranked #726 of 9,610 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Raval
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing....everything!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Perfect dinner... rocked up at 9.30 on a Friday night not expecting to get a table, though there was one spare at the back of the restaurant! Service was a little slow to start but improved thereafter.

We went for the medium sized tasting menu, which was about 70 euros per person. This was excellent value! We must have had about 4 starters, 3 fish dishes, 1 main course, 2 desserts, 2 bottles of wine, 2 glasses of cava & 2 dessert wines (as well as bread and olives). It's a lot of food and drink (we had to ask to take the second bottle of wine home as there was so much!).

All the cooking was expertly executed with innovative dishes & tweaks to classics. This was a perfect experience & I would recommend anyone go here if visiting Barcelona!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank czechplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniella C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Suculent, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello!
Thank you very much for your comment! we are glad that your experience in our restaurant has been amazing :-)

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    183
    69
    39
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
283 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Succulent is the Word!! An adventure in eating - no disappointments.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had been to the next door bar twice before. (Bar Raval) A great neighborhood bar with wonderful homemade vermouth and fun tapas.

We finally got into the Suculent restaurant and we were not disappointed. The wait staff helped us choose foods from the very eclectic menu and we loved all the choices. We had the following very tasty dishes:
Beef Tongue Bossam
Calf Tail and Mushroom Croquettes
Macarroni stuffed with Stewed Lamb and Basil
Marrow Royale with Grilled White Asparragus
Grilled Octopus with Chickpeas and Black Sausage
Eel on sliced Potatoes with Garlic and Pepper
Pork Ribs
Sting Ray with Black Butter
Homemade Brie Cheese Cake with Muscatel Jelly

All of these dishes were fabulous. Don’t be intimidated by the menu. We are not adventurous eaters but all of these dishes so foreign to us were truly excellent. It was all great! . We loved the atmosphere too. It is on the bustling Rambla de Raval --- far enough from the tourists to make it a real Barcelona experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniella C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Suculent, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello!
Thank you very much for your comment! We hope to repeat your culinary adventure in our restaurant :-)

Thanks and regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heule, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cataluña on your plate”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great setting and delicious authentic tapas!
Well, that about sums it up for me.
Superb quality food in resonable portions AND prices.
Must do in the Barcelona food scene.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KageDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniella C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Suculent, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello!
Thank you very much for your comment! we are glad you enjoyed the authentic Catalan traditional food :-)

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious and wonderful atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was by far our favorite dining experience. We had reservations and were seated promptly at 3. The service is not the best but remember you are in barcelona and service is generally laid back. There was live music which i honestly did not know about. The music was fantastic and def made the atmosphere come alive. The woman singing had a really strong beautiful voice. I dont know if there is a performance everyday but we felt lucky to c it. The comp olives were really good and so were all the food that followed. We had so many dishes i cant even remember. But i do remember the bone marrow dish which was real good. I will def be returning to this place if im in barcelona

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mslinh210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniella C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Suculent, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello!
Thank you very much for your comment! We hope to repeat your visit to our restaurant :-)

Thanks and regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
435 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

The food is quite good but the service is terrible, don't came to this restaurant! Expensive and the food and service don not worth it! Several terraces at the area with better price and service

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCarmelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniella C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Suculent, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello!
We regret that your experience at our restaurant was not good. We note your comments.

Thanks and regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suculent also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Suculent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing