We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tapas, very friendly staff, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suculent

Suculent
Ranked #623 of 9,333 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $67
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: El Raval
Amsterdam
2 reviews
“Great tapas, very friendly staff, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This has been a real good experience of the real catalan tapas. We went here for some very nice wines from the greatest bodegas in spain. The tapas are freshly made and have great taste. They also serve great acetunas. The staff is super friendly and are happy to help to make choice of there nice dishes.

This definitely is one of the nicer restaurants in the raval area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    170
    65
    37
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fethard
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“well worth finding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

this is a tiny restaurant on Rambla del Raval, and we found it while we having a drink just beside it. We ate in the middle of the Rambla, watching all the life going past. It is in a slightly seedier part of Barcelona, but we never felt unsafe or uncomfortable. Quite the opposite, the people were very friendly and the staff exemplary.The menu were full of lovely traditional dishes, and as such maybe some would find it too fatty. We loved it! Oh, and the cheesecake dessert--I usually dont like cheesecake, but let the waiter talk me into trying it, and he was right--sublime!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jopowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Tasty food but lousy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

You wouldn't expect nothing but good food from Carles Abellan and the food is really tasty. Nice use of old recipies and ingredients. Alas my visit was marked by appallingly bad and slow service. Waiters seemed to be more interested in looking cool than doing their job.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jvtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We walked by this restaurant and thought it looked nice so decided to make a reservation. It is a bit pricey compared to other restaurants in the Raval area but it was definitely worth it. I had the Cerviche for starter which was very tasty (although quite small for the price) and tuna for main course which was fantastic. My husband also really enjoyed his meal - he had pork ribs for a main course which he said were the 'best he's ever had'. The service was good. We sat inside as it was a very warm evening. They do not have a lot of tables so I'd recommend booking.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hopgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Truly Succulent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We followed the reviews here and went to find Succulent. The map shows it on the south west side of the street but it is on the other side. We had some fantastic tuna steaks sliced with a light grill on the outside. We also had some delicious pork ribs. On the side we had the best tomato bread we have had on really crispy bread. The waiter also helped us select a bottle of red wine that was strong but smooth on the after taste - really great. Overall a fantastic meal, not the cheapest prices but certainly worth every euro.

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Suculent also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Suculent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing