We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour!”

Aborigens -Local Food Insiders
Ranked #25 of 171 Food & Drink in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "One of the 6 Best Food Tours in the World" (The Sunday Times, UK) Avoid tourist traps and explore the real local gastronomy of Barcelona with native experts. Aborigens suggests tours for foodies and for those who want to enjoy and taste Catalan cuisine in a vibrant, passionate and casual manner. Enjoy local recipes, discover non-touristic spots across the country and meet its people while we show you the most succulent side of Catalonia. Fully Licensed Tour Operator.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent tour!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

After several trips to Barcelona we thought we already knew the city in depth, but after joining the evening tour with Aborigens I changed my mind. There are plenty of places out of the touristic center that worth the visit, and our guide Cesc took us to some interesting bars and bodega with lovely food tastings. A strongly recommended experience, specially being a foodie.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    10
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Food Tour”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family went on a joint tour with some friends, and we had an amazing time. We had young children with us- two toddlers aged 2 plus, and we all had a great time! Cesq and Alex were wonderful guides who knew their stuff and managed to tailor the tour to suit us and the kids, which made it easy.

We opted for the morning food tour, which included tour of a great local market (mercat de la libertat), iberico jamon tasting, a trip to a patisserie, wine tasting, and drinks and tapas at 2 bars (at least). Suffice to say, we had too much to eat that morning. The beauty of this tour is that we were taken to local haunts which we wouldn't have known about otherwise. Cesq and Alex also had impressive knowledge of the local cuisine, and we learnt a lot about the history and context of dishes we sampled, including some weird and wonderful things like "moixama"- dried salted tuna.

The guides were incredibly friendly and personable, and we felt like we were hanging out with friends rather than a being on a guided tour. To me, that was the best part.

This definitely rates as one of the best things we did in Barcelona.


.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazza28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tapas tour!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Alex and Alex are wonderful tour guides. Our tapas experience took us from rustic and traditional to the neo-tapas revolution. This tour is a must!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank MmeShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The alternative foodie tour in Barcelona. Great!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

In an attempt to overcome the elements we decided to this tour with another aussie couple and his son. So two adults + two 2 yo in a food tour in Barcelona!
It doesn't sound like an awesome plan, but it was. We spent all morning (and part of the afternoon) visiting markets, little tapas bars, patisseries, wine bars/shops and an average looking place that had the best potato omelette I've tasted in a long time.
The two hosts were really knowledgeable and charismatic, you could tell they live and breed for the food and the city.
In summary it seems like a great idea to learn about the hidden food places of the city that you would miss for your if you travel by yourself.
To improve: At the market I reckon that they should have provided with some drinks (besides the water) we tried some cured pork meat and some cod that would have been great with some white wine. Also although they were really patient with the kids maybe they could have planned a little 15min stop in a playground for the children :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aborigens, Manager at Aborigens -Local Food Insiders, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for your review. We really appreciate your feedback in order to improve our service, so we are considering your suggestions for families traveling with kids and thirsty people like you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome local food tour of Barcelona!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Alex and Cesc gave a great tour of the local food and bar scene in Barcelona. If you're looking for local gems that aren't found in guides or blogs, definitely book a tour with these gentlemen. I felt as if I was traveling with two local friends in Barcelona and they were very helpful in answering any questions I had about the city. I would definitely recommend them to anybody looking for a more authentic experience when visiting Barcelona.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mister_min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aborigens -Local Food Insiders also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Aborigens -Local Food Insiders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing