We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of The Hipstel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hipstel
Ranked #152 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Santiago
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hostel was in a good location , nice area , many places for eating, some expensive stores, it was difficult to find where to buy groceries or make a phone call , The hostel was nothing special for us, they had a problem with our reservation, according to the people of the hostel the error was caused by the website we used to book, they resolved our problem , provided a room , it did not have windows so it was a little uncomfortable, i found nothing remarkable in this hostel compare to other hotels where i have been,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    197
    89
    46
    37
See reviews for
18
40
233
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I went to Barcelona for three days and I stayed at The Hipstel for 2 nights. The location was quite excellent as it is basically at the centre of everything. You will only have to work for 5mins-15mins to find McDonald, bus stations, Casa Batllo, Casa Mila, and all the fashion shops that you need. The staff were generally okay, neither helpful nor friendly, just doing their jobs. They have a luggage room, you can keep your luggage there for a while before or after you c/i and c/o. The rooms are quite small. We 6 people had to squeeze into a room with bunk beds that generally should accommodate 3-4 people comfortably. The bathrooms are unisex, though they have female shower rooms too. Toilets are okay, but there was no hot water, only cold water.
Cheap breakfast for only 2 euros. You can toast your own bread, put on tomatoes and cheese. They have a vending machine that you can get all kinds of hot drinks by pushing just a button. Don't expect too much as it is cheap. They have oatmeal, milk and fruits too. They have a small communal area with TV, sofa. Quite comfortable.

Overall a good stay. Satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WengMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
서울, 대한민국
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hostel is located quite far from catalyuna square (10 to 15 minutes by walk). If you want to visit to Lamblas street everyday, then it will be better to choose other hostel. Also, the WIFI is not allowed if you do not agree with hipstel facebook page. Sadly, there were many staffs and some of them were rude. If I didn’t meet them, then I would have a perfect memory at hipstel.
Tips : Anyway, the dinner was nice. I enjoyed every dinner in the hostel which was just only 5 euro (includes beer).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berespectful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hipstel H, Gerente at The Hipstel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear 서울, 대한민국,

thank you for sharing your experience with us!
We will work hard to fix and correct these failures you have noticed in our hostel
In order to be fair, I would like to give some explanations to your complaints:

1) It is true, we are 10 minutes away by foot and 2 minutes away by metro to the Ramblas. However, we are in the corner of Passeig de Grácia, the most fancy and elegant avenue in the city, 2 minutes from a metro stop, 1 minute away from 2 of the most known masterpieces of Gaudi (Casa Battló and Casa Mila) and we are surrounded by bars, restaurants, ATMs and shopping stores...
By taking a look at other reviews, you will see that our guests appreciate the fact that we are not right in the ramblas, but close enough

2) To have access to our free internet you can also log in with your email address, there is no need to use your facebook data

3) We are very sorry about your experience with our staff members. In their trainning period, they are told and taught that customer service is priority number one

4) We are really happy that you have enjoyed our dinners inhouse!
Íf you decide to come back and give us another chance, we will invite you dinner every night, as a compensation for your last non-satisfactory visit

I hope you will find this explanation sincere and fair
Thank you for reading
Have a great time!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was there for one night, the Receptionist forgot to tell me about the kitchen timings and when I was there at 10pm to get just some hot water for a coffee, I wasn't even allowed to go near it! And then she tried to cover up by saying she informed me, and was so arrogant afterwards as if I was staying there for free, what the hell! Watch out, the kitchen timings aren't mentioned! And yes, no sockets to charge my phone as there were only 2 in a 4 bedded room. Not to forget the noise as a result of the windows, phew!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WDeumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hipstel H, Gerente at The Hipstel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear WDeumus,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us
We are really sorry about this incident
In their trainning period, receptionists are told and taught that customer service is priority number one

We would like to invite to try us one more time, we know that we can offer you a great service and make your stay in Barcelona unforgettable!

I am at your full disposal
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I spent 1 night here as I was just passing through Barcelona again. The location is excellent - very close to the Metro to the airport, Gaudi architecture, and you can walk to La Sagrada Familia. Staff were very helpful and the reception is 24 hours, which can be convenient if you get in late or have an early morning flight/departure. Unfortunately the room was very small and noisy. The bathrooms were typical shared for a backpackers but very small and not very practical. The hostel had a fun atmosphere, and you could do some group meals/activities if you wanted. There were vending machines with snacks/drinks and overall I think you get what you pay for at Hipstel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropeLova
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and it was excellent. We didn't plan on staying a third night and needed a two bed private room and they helped accommodate us to make it more affordable, since it was last minute. The facilities and rooms were all excellent. Overall, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EuropeLova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hipstel H, Gérant at The Hipstel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear EuropaLova,

Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us.

It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back to Barcelona, let us know and we will surprise you with a special treatment.

In the name of The Hipstel staff, I wish you all the best.

See you soon,

Kind regards

The Hipstel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Awesome people, the rooms are sound proof and quite confortable.

Would only add a thicker blanket, but despite that, the people were fun and it was nice to just hang out there :). The downside was the power outlets, because we needed to charge phones so we had to take turns...

Room Tip: Take a Power cord! A room for 6 people only had 2 outlets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hipstel H, Gérant at The Hipstel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Ino,

Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us.

It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back to Barcelona, let us know and we will surprise you with a special treatment.

In the name of The Hipstel staff, I wish you all the best.

See you soon,

Kind regards

The Hipstel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#78 of 722 in Barcelona
872 reviews
Barcelona Urbany Hostel
#73 of 722 in Barcelona
1,098 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
#81 of 722 in Barcelona
186 reviews
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#156 of 722 in Barcelona
154 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Arc House
Arc House
#135 of 722 in Barcelona
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hipstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hipstel

Property: The Hipstel
Address: Valencia 266 | Carrer de Valencia, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hipstel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you planning your trip to Barcelona and want to explore a different way of staying? Join the Hipstel-Family!The Hipstel is more than just a hostel - It is a home away from home.Located in the city´s most emblematic area, the hostel provides you the perfect base for sight-seeing along the day and partying all night long! Our friendly staff will be more than happy to offer you a good insight into this magical city When will you join?A quick overview of what we offer you:• Breakfast service included (extra charge)• Free coffee• 24/7 reception• Free Wi-FI• Amazing dinners!• Private and shared rooms• Bedlinen included• Towels for rent 2€• Free walking tours• Free city maps• Free activities• Free lugagge room• Common rooms• Big exterior terrace• Board gamesThe Hipstel offers private rooms as well as various sized dorms for affordable prices. Depending on your personal needs, you can either book a private room for you and your company or you just check in to a dorm to get in touch with loads of interesting peole from different countries all around the globe. The rooms are spacious, bright as well as secure . This will ensure, that your stay is going to be 100% comfortable. All our rooms are with shared bathroom. You will find air conditioner, big lockers in dorms, keycard access, bedlinen and blankets included in the rate, towels for rent at reception. Our staff will take care of every detail and your room and common areas will be perfectly clean and tidy. Location InformationThe Hipstel C\ de València 266, Barcelona 08007Due to its location next to the the city center, pretty much every hot spot in Barcelona can be reached by feet. But no worries - if you prefer to go by Metro, there is one stop directly across the corner of the Hostel. Within a few minutes you can reach Barceloneta metro station, where you can find the most popular beaches, or Park Güell, one of the hot spots in the city.Also, our location allows you to come and get to main airport and stations easily and cheap. There are bus stops as well as train stations closeby.In a nutshell, we are really proud to say that our location is pretty much unbeatable – can’t believe it? Just check it out on a map! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Hipstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hipstel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing