We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're Doing it Right!”
Review of The Hipstel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hipstel
Ranked #156 of 732 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had an amazing experience at the Hipstel! The hostel provided just enough privacy on each floor and in the dressing/shower rooms but also enough common space to mingle and meet friends! I went out on a pub crawl which was super inexpensive and gave me a good opportunity to immerse myself into the Barcelona nightlife! I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
There are newer reviews for The Hipstel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 671 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was my first time staying at a Hostel but as I was traveling alone thought I would give it a go.
All I can say its amazing, all of the very helpful staff spoke English. Beautifully decorated, very clean, great food, in a very up market part of the city (Burberry, Louis Vuitton, Channel and Gucci are on its doorstep). I shared a room with 10 others, lockers are provided for valuables (Take your own padlock or buy one at reception). All of my room mates spoke English (I speak no Spanish) met some great new friends from all around the world,I would recommend this hostel as somewhere to stay to anyone on a budget or backpacking or just on a weekend city break, Barcelona is a Dangerous place mainly at night, many of the guests, including me had phones or wallets stolen while out on the streets, in bars/clubs in the area or on the metro.
I would recommend the Night tours they arrange at reception, where they take you to a Bar and a Club (different each night) its well worth the money because traveling in a group with a guide (and joined by other groups from other hostels) is the safes way to enjoy the nightlife of Barcelona without getting robbed or thrown in Jail.
I did have a bad experience outside the hostel when I wondered off late at night on my own and my recommendation to avoid any issues with the police or thief's is: DO NOT take your wallet or phone out with you if you intend to drink alcohol (it will probably get stolen no matter how carful you are) Leave it in your locker or bag at hostel where it is safe!. In Spain you should carry ID (A UK,USA driving license will not be enough if the police decide to stop you) I spent 19hrs in Jail, but if I had taken my passport (hidden in underwear or strapped to leg under shorts/jeans ect) they I would have been allowed to pass by the Police (as they were annoyed I was not carrying it) and avoided any issues with it being stolen by the pick pockets (some of who are very pretty and will say anything to make you drop your guard). The last thing is be careful of Drink spiking weather you are Male or Female (there are gay bars/clubs nr Hostel) thief's will use drugs such as GHB (one drop can make you feel like you have drunk 20 pints of strong beer within 20 minutes) or magic mushrooms to make you loose your guard and then they can take your Wallet/Phone (if you have been silly enough to take them with you.)

Room Tip: Choose a room wih lots of people if you travel solo, you will make friends very quickly here!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CokeFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

You can't fault this hostel. Firstly it's SO clean! I swear there is always a cleaner cleaning something! The hostel it's self has a great vibe, really cosy! Small kitchen but it's ok. Very good to meet people. The staff are supper friendly. Great location, near La Ramblas but far enough away to be a little quite. Only 5 minute walk to La Rambla. Pub crawl every night with other hostels. The pub crawl people cool dinner every night for those that want it, but they don't push if you don't. All in all, LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATEMUZZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hipstel, I was there this new year.... may be late to recommend, but If I go back barcelona again I will stay at the hipstel .... good environment, best place to stay with multicultural network.. friends from all over the world. woooow it is nice ....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's a very friendly and nice hostel. The rooms are clean and the service is good. The bar crawl event was really perfect as we arrived there for the first time. It helped us to discover the city and get to know new people...Location is good (not far away from plaça catalunya where the airport bus station is located)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aladeen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I loved it! The Hipstel Hostel is full of youg and good vibe people! the installations were really nice the breakfast was very good too! I surely recommend it either couples, friends or solo will have a great time there! well located and the area seemes very safe, if you are a lady, this is a great Choice. Victoria 31 years old.

Room Tip: half the days i shared the room and half my boyfriend and I didn't. Both rooms had lockers, so i...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickywei315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Cleanliness was very good and the kitchen was nice.

The breakfast was decent, but you have to wash your tableware on the breakfast and (worse than that) it might not be very clean because it was washed by other guests.

Employees are nice, but very unorganized: when I got to my bed on the second night there was someone else there because I didn't let any "personal objects" and the cleaning crew cleaned the bed (probably beacuse other guy checkout, his bed was intact).

My room doesn't had air conditioning, but wasn't so bad because of the window.

Room Tip: Dorm 10 is not worthy!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSFalcon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#74 of 732 in Barcelona
898 reviews
Barcelona Urbany Hostel
#78 of 732 in Barcelona
1,140 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Arc House
Arc House
#145 of 732 in Barcelona
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
#63 of 732 in Barcelona
1,267 reviews
Eixample
Bed&Bike Barcelona
Bed&Bike Barcelona
#22 of 732 in Barcelona
235 reviews
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#167 of 732 in Barcelona
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hipstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hipstel

Address: Valencia 266 | Carrer de Valencia, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 732 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $31 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hipstel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you planning your trip to Barcelona and want to explore a different way of staying? Join the Hipstel-Family!The Hipstel is more than just a hostel - It is a home away from home.Located in the city´s most emblematic area, the hostel provides you the perfect base for sight-seeing along the day and partying all night long! Our friendly staff will be more than happy to offer you a good insight into this magical city When will you join?A quick overview of what we offer you:• Breakfast service included (extra charge)• Free coffee• 24/7 reception• Free Wi-FI• Amazing dinners!• Private and shared rooms• Bedlinen included• Towels for rent 2€• Free walking tours• Free city maps• Free activities• Free lugagge room• Common rooms• Big exterior terrace• Board gamesThe Hipstel offers private rooms as well as various sized dorms for affordable prices. Depending on your personal needs, you can either book a private room for you and your company or you just check in to a dorm to get in touch with loads of interesting peole from different countries all around the globe. The rooms are spacious, bright as well as secure . This will ensure, that your stay is going to be 100% comfortable. All our rooms are with shared bathroom. You will find air conditioner, big lockers in dorms, keycard access, bedlinen and blankets included in the rate, towels for rent at reception. Our staff will take care of every detail and your room and common areas will be perfectly clean and tidy. Location InformationThe Hipstel C\ de València 266, Barcelona 08007Due to its location next to the the city center, pretty much every hot spot in Barcelona can be reached by feet. But no worries - if you prefer to go by Metro, there is one stop directly across the corner of the Hostel. Within a few minutes you can reach Barceloneta metro station, where you can find the most popular beaches, or Park Güell, one of the hot spots in the city.Also, our location allows you to come and get to main airport and stations easily and cheap. There are bus stops as well as train stations closeby.In a nutshell, we are really proud to say that our location is pretty much unbeatable – can’t believe it? Just check it out on a map! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hipstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hipstel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing