We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hipstel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Hipstel
Ranked #157 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
“Very Good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Everything was great!The rooms were clean and the location is amazing...i could rate it with 4 stars, but we had a little inconvinience that dissapointed us...No big deal. If you visit hipstel,which i recommend,i hope you meet Hercules,an excellent guy from Rhodes island!thanks for everything Hercules!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mixrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    191
    88
    46
    36
See reviews for
18
40
225
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hipstel is a lovely place where you meet smiling people and find a clean environment. The place itself makes you feel staying in a historical place. They offer free wifi and the warm water in the showers are enough. Thanks to the location of the hostel we never had to take any vehicle of transportation and explored Barcelona on foot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank enisizmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

A nice hostel with a great breakfast and an amazing location. It really is close to everything. The lounge furniture is a bit old and not the most comfortable and you have to pay to use the computers (wifi is free for phones). Most of the staff is very friendly and helpful however some are a bit stand-offish and cold. The rooms are pretty comfortable and clean but the lockers are small and you have to bring your own lock. The warm water isn't always available for showers either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maassluis
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The rooms and bathrooms are clean, showers do have enough warm water (but I had to change shower because the water was not running away fast enough), the building itself is quite impressive and the breakfast room has a great atmosphere. Depends on the person who is helping, but a guy at the reception desk was of great willing to help me, another time a girl working there was not that enthousiastic. Be sure to be before 10.00 for breakfast, sharp that time nothing is available anymore. The inner city is close nearby, Catalunya is only a 10 minutes walk and Casa Battlo is around the corner. Metro station also close by. Recommend it for sure!

Room Tip: If you sleep not that tight, get a room upstairs, not on the same floor as the reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jipje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We only stay one night in The Hipstel but we really love this hostel. Comparing with other hostel, The Hipstel was really nice place to choose when you are visiting Barcelona. The Hipstel has great location, cheap price with good breakfast. People in the reception desk are nice and always give us good advises and smiles! Nice building. perfect place to stay when you visit Barcelona.

Room Tip: beds by windows may hear the sounds from the streets but for me is good. they also have beds which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ChungMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasil
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I liked to stay there. The hostel is VERY near the center of the city. The people was nice, friendly, the breakfeast was very good.

The toilets and showers could be a littler bit better, but that was clean and that is the most important thing.

The bed could also have cortins in each one. By this way, people would have more privacity. If each bed had a light is would be nice too. But it is just tips.

I liked to stay there and the price is fear!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank carol1515Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Hostel is well decorated, but my room was not clean when I arrived and got in at 21:00. In my 2 bed dorm, there was only 1 powerplug, which had to be used for the fan. I find the hostel was very expensive, for the service. There are no single rooms with private bad. It was really warm, hot. And people where really loud at night. I always got awake several times during the night.
Locations is excellent.
For the prize, could be much, much better...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank UniTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#82 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#47 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#149 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Poblenou
Residencia Melon District Marina
Barcelona Urbany Hostel
#68 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hipstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hipstel

Property: The Hipstel
Address: Valencia 266 | Carrer de Valencia, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hipstel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you planning your trip to Barcelona and want to explore a different way of staying? Join the Hipstel-Family!The Hipstel is more than just a hostel - It is a home away from home.Located in the city´s most emblematic area, the hostel provides you the perfect base for sight-seeing along the day and partying all night long! Our friendly staff will be more than happy to offer you a good insight into this magical city When will you join?A quick overview of what we offer you:• Breakfast service included (extra charge)• Free coffee• 24/7 reception• Free Wi-FI• Amazing dinners!• Private and shared rooms• Bedlinen included• Towels for rent 2€• Free walking tours• Free city maps• Free activities• Free lugagge room• Common rooms• Big exterior terrace• Board gamesThe Hipstel offers private rooms as well as various sized dorms for affordable prices. Depending on your personal needs, you can either book a private room for you and your company or you just check in to a dorm to get in touch with loads of interesting peole from different countries all around the globe. The rooms are spacious, bright as well as secure . This will ensure, that your stay is going to be 100% comfortable. All our rooms are with shared bathroom. You will find air conditioner, big lockers in dorms, keycard access, bedlinen and blankets included in the rate, towels for rent at reception. Our staff will take care of every detail and your room and common areas will be perfectly clean and tidy. Location InformationThe Hipstel C\ de València 266, Barcelona 08007Due to its location next to the the city center, pretty much every hot spot in Barcelona can be reached by feet. But no worries - if you prefer to go by Metro, there is one stop directly across the corner of the Hostel. Within a few minutes you can reach Barceloneta metro station, where you can find the most popular beaches, or Park Güell, one of the hot spots in the city.Also, our location allows you to come and get to main airport and stations easily and cheap. There are bus stops as well as train stations closeby.In a nutshell, we are really proud to say that our location is pretty much unbeatable – can’t believe it? Just check it out on a map! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Hipstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hipstel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing