We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but noisy”
Review of The Hipstel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hipstel
Ranked #155 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable but noisy”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Friendly and helpful stuff, free breakfast - in general comfortable hostel.
However it gets noisy in the evenings, people talking loud and the walls are thin. Better take earplugs! The breakfast disappears quickly, so better come early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrzegorzT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    194
    89
    46
    37
See reviews for
18
40
230
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Hipstel is a fantastic hostel, located close to Gaudí's Casa Batlló, in a safe neighbourhood with a very Barcelona feel. The welcome and overall atmosphere was very nice, Marco gave us (young girls) great tips on how to have an exciting trip and yet survive Barcelona without any inconvenience. Free coffee in the break room and lovely paella in the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 313Ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I'm one of those people who is always skeptical of hostels that have amazing reviews such as The Hipstel, but I can honestly say that it was the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The location is perfect and central, the rooms are clean and nice, the atmosphere of the hostel is comfortable and modern, and best of all the staff is amazing. When we checked in, a worker named Hercules was working the front desk and he took the time out of his night to give us a tour of the hostel and its amenities...he was incredibly helpful and friendly along with all of his coworkers I encountered. I felt very welcome and comfortable there and would recommend this hostel to anyone (and already have done so to a number of people). STAY AT THE HIPSTEL!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyPaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hostel is probably my favorite I've ever stayed in. It's in a great, safe location. Everything is very clean and the decor is really cool. The breakfast was great and we had homemade paella and listened to live music one night before a pub crawl. The staff are all very nice and helpful as well. I would strongly recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Me and some friends went for the weekend and overall it was really good. Hercules was really helpful in showing us were to go and great conversation for when couldn't sleep :) not really a place to go if you're planning on coming in very drunk and talking quite loud though as my firends and i did get told off a couple of times for that but a really nice place and very central.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Guys!!!!!!!! you r the best!!! Hercules i miss your eyes and smile already:)))
Thanks for your fixing my problem with thief...
Very comfortable rooms, soooo good breakfast and soooo close to the center :)!!! invite you all to visit Ukraine:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iryna_from_Ukraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Hipstel. There was some problem with noise, but only because there was a group of 60 Dutch students there who were very rude and loud, and the halls were really echoey. The rooms were clean and spacious, and having lockers provided was convenient. Breakfast provided was great, lots of fresh fruit and coffee, tea, and juice, as well as toast with tomato and cheese.

The only issues we had were with the facilties. The bathrooms were nice, but two of them were out of order the whole weekend we were there, which only left two between us and all of the Dutch students. The showers were fine, but there was very little privacy, similar to a dorm at a university. If you didn't have the shower on the far end, there was nowhere to put your clothing, so you had to either hang it over the shower and avoid it with the water, or put it on the far end and dash to grab it in it towel. They were clean with hot water though, so it wasn't too much of a problem.

GREAT location, right by a metro stop and within walking distance of las ramblas, sagrada familia, and plaza catalunya.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Californiagrl936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#82 of 723 in Barcelona
852 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Barcelona Urbany Hostel
#70 of 723 in Barcelona
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
#75 of 723 in Barcelona
185 reviews
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#101 of 723 in Barcelona
114 reviews
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#154 of 723 in Barcelona
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hipstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hipstel

Property: The Hipstel
Address: Valencia 266 | Carrer de Valencia, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hipstel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you planning your trip to Barcelona and want to explore a different way of staying? Join the Hipstel-Family!The Hipstel is more than just a hostel - It is a home away from home.Located in the city´s most emblematic area, the hostel provides you the perfect base for sight-seeing along the day and partying all night long! Our friendly staff will be more than happy to offer you a good insight into this magical city When will you join?A quick overview of what we offer you:• Breakfast service included (extra charge)• Free coffee• 24/7 reception• Free Wi-FI• Amazing dinners!• Private and shared rooms• Bedlinen included• Towels for rent 2€• Free walking tours• Free city maps• Free activities• Free lugagge room• Common rooms• Big exterior terrace• Board gamesThe Hipstel offers private rooms as well as various sized dorms for affordable prices. Depending on your personal needs, you can either book a private room for you and your company or you just check in to a dorm to get in touch with loads of interesting peole from different countries all around the globe. The rooms are spacious, bright as well as secure . This will ensure, that your stay is going to be 100% comfortable. All our rooms are with shared bathroom. You will find air conditioner, big lockers in dorms, keycard access, bedlinen and blankets included in the rate, towels for rent at reception. Our staff will take care of every detail and your room and common areas will be perfectly clean and tidy. Location InformationThe Hipstel C\ de València 266, Barcelona 08007Due to its location next to the the city center, pretty much every hot spot in Barcelona can be reached by feet. But no worries - if you prefer to go by Metro, there is one stop directly across the corner of the Hostel. Within a few minutes you can reach Barceloneta metro station, where you can find the most popular beaches, or Park Güell, one of the hot spots in the city.Also, our location allows you to come and get to main airport and stations easily and cheap. There are bus stops as well as train stations closeby.In a nutshell, we are really proud to say that our location is pretty much unbeatable – can’t believe it? Just check it out on a map! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Hipstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hipstel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing