We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT HERE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hipstel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hipstel
Ranked #157 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Alicante, Spain
1 review
“LOVED IT HERE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was located right in the middle of everything and very close to the metro. They staff and everyone staying at the hostel was SO nice, and all very helpful. The place was clean, had nice facilities, and a great value for what I paid. They even have a kitchen so you can buy food and cook it there instead of spending more money. Overall it was a great deal.

Room Tip: The rooms without windows are a lot quieter because they aren't on the street. Being in the chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    191
    88
    46
    36
See reviews for
18
40
225
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was really a great place to stay. I was in a private room, really nice room, it was ready when I got in before check in time and they let me in, loved that. The bathrooms were always being cleaned and the water pressure and temperature were great.
Also, very well located, with easy access to a lot of places walking and also close to a very central metro station.
I recommend it for everyone.

Room Tip: The private room has a lot of space. I think the rooms in the second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iarambap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really nice hostel. The location was impecable, and the stuff is super friendly. The rooms are nice, have lots of space, and averything is really clean. The kitchen isnice and has lots of stuff, besides there's a shelf with food for anyone to eat. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PilarLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great Location, beeeeeeautiful place, kind staff, super clean and a fair price!
The only complain is that on Sundays breakfast there's no "tomato on bread", which is just purrrrrrfect!

Oh! One more thing. Be careful then taking a shower, the floor can be quite slippery. :)

Room Tip: I booked a room for 3 persons, which was great a great idea as we had a big room for ourselves for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank decafujita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I would repeat what has been said about this wonderful hostel. It is really the best place to stay with a reasonable price and and wonderful reception. I am happy I had the chance to spend some time there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariyaDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The rooms were very clean and a decent size.
Location was awesome. It was right next to all the big shops and around the corner from a metro stop, which we used to get all over the city.
Service was good, cleaners constantly cleaning and receptionists were very helpful with anything that you needed.
For the price paid was definitely worth staying here

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjh281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaboticabal, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Really good Hostel, good reception, good breakfast and excelent price, i think it's the best place to stay at Barcelona, when i return to the city, it will be for sure the place that i'll choose to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#82 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#47 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#149 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Poblenou
Residencia Melon District Marina
Barcelona Urbany Hostel
#68 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hipstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hipstel

Property: The Hipstel
Address: Valencia 266 | Carrer de Valencia, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hipstel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you planning your trip to Barcelona and want to explore a different way of staying? Join the Hipstel-Family!The Hipstel is more than just a hostel - It is a home away from home.Located in the city´s most emblematic area, the hostel provides you the perfect base for sight-seeing along the day and partying all night long! Our friendly staff will be more than happy to offer you a good insight into this magical city When will you join?A quick overview of what we offer you:• Breakfast service included (extra charge)• Free coffee• 24/7 reception• Free Wi-FI• Amazing dinners!• Private and shared rooms• Bedlinen included• Towels for rent 2€• Free walking tours• Free city maps• Free activities• Free lugagge room• Common rooms• Big exterior terrace• Board gamesThe Hipstel offers private rooms as well as various sized dorms for affordable prices. Depending on your personal needs, you can either book a private room for you and your company or you just check in to a dorm to get in touch with loads of interesting peole from different countries all around the globe. The rooms are spacious, bright as well as secure . This will ensure, that your stay is going to be 100% comfortable. All our rooms are with shared bathroom. You will find air conditioner, big lockers in dorms, keycard access, bedlinen and blankets included in the rate, towels for rent at reception. Our staff will take care of every detail and your room and common areas will be perfectly clean and tidy. Location InformationThe Hipstel C\ de València 266, Barcelona 08007Due to its location next to the the city center, pretty much every hot spot in Barcelona can be reached by feet. But no worries - if you prefer to go by Metro, there is one stop directly across the corner of the Hostel. Within a few minutes you can reach Barceloneta metro station, where you can find the most popular beaches, or Park Güell, one of the hot spots in the city.Also, our location allows you to come and get to main airport and stations easily and cheap. There are bus stops as well as train stations closeby.In a nutshell, we are really proud to say that our location is pretty much unbeatable – can’t believe it? Just check it out on a map! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Hipstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hipstel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing