We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Hipstel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hipstel
Ranked #159 of 735 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hostel is nice. The ppl is very friendly, aleays willing to help you, and everything works perfect. The place is very clean. The location is awesome, In the city center, close to everything; two of the most popular streets and a metro station. I went solo and never felt alone, everyone was very friendly.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Joaquin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 674 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Really nice Hostel, one of the best I have ever been, rooms/toilets/showers were clean, cleaning lady came always when someone left and cleaned the room. Staff was the best part of the experience, really friendly and helpful. I can not leave out to mention , that location was also super. Security of the hostel was good. Common area was also nice and the price included breakfest( enough to start your morning ). Overall I had perfect time there, met nice people and when I find myself next time in Barcelona, I will most definately stay there again. Thank You Hipstel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keijo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had a great stay here. Room was super clean, shared bathrooms were always clean and tidy, inclusive breakfast was nice. Only downsides: we woke up a couple times in the night due to noise. It wasn't awful, but the walls are quite thin and sound does echo. The hostel has signs not to bang doors and stuff, but you get a few inconsiderates who storm through the main door and have a conversation at 5am. We had a laugh about it, but it depends what you're wanting to visit Barcelona for and whether you would mind that - if it would be an issue, bring earplugs! Also, we forgot towels. Bring a towel, or its 2 euros (not expensive, but every little helps).

I'm still giving this hostel an excellent review, and don't really want to put anyone off it, because I had a great time in Barcelona and staying here. The location was perfect (we didn't even bother with metros most of the time, just walked nearly everywhere), the staff were friendly and helpful and showed us all the best places to visit on a little map, plus explained the bus tours etc. I've stayed in quite a few hostels, and this has to be one of the best!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I spent three nights at The Hipstel and really enjoyed my time there. The place is super clean and conveniently located. The staff were amazing, remembering me by name, answering all my questions, giving advice, and even helping me !plan the rest of my trip. Breakfast was also included, which was much appreciated. Overall, The Hipstel provides a social atmosphere and is a great value for the price!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uribee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Amazingly nice hostel, especially for the cost. Rooms, location, showers, breakfast were all great. Best hostel I've stayed in so far. Only downside for me was that the Wi-Fi wasn't super fast. If you want to use a safebox or shower, be sure to bring your own lock and towel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Hipstel is hip!!! A great hostel in a very good location and an excellent price-value relation. I love the design, it is very chick, cosy and inviting. Lot's of beautiful corners where you meat people from all over. Very homey atmosphere. The rooms are very clean and with lot's of light. You can leave you luggage if you stay after the check-out time and the stuff is very nice and helpful. Depending where your room is, it can get a bit noisy... But all an all a good place to stay when in Barcelona - recommended :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InbalBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hostel has its own personality, you can see that was given thought to every detail. The staff was really friendly, they answered all of our questions and gave us tips for our trip. The breakfast didn't had a lot of things but the basics were there and you have all the conditions. The system for the entrance in the rooms was simple and safe.
I had a very nice time there ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annakercheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#71 of 735 in Barcelona
915 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#74 of 735 in Barcelona
1,157 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Arc House
Arc House
#149 of 735 in Barcelona
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
#70 of 735 in Barcelona
1,290 reviews
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#166 of 735 in Barcelona
167 reviews
Alberguinn Sants Youth Hostel
#143 of 735 in Barcelona
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hipstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hipstel

Address: Valencia 266 | Carrer de Valencia, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 735 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $18 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hipstel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you planning your trip to Barcelona and want to explore a different way of staying? Join the Hipstel-Family!The Hipstel is more than just a hostel - It is a home away from home.Located in the city´s most emblematic area, the hostel provides you the perfect base for sight-seeing along the day and partying all night long! Our friendly staff will be more than happy to offer you a good insight into this magical city When will you join?A quick overview of what we offer you:• Breakfast service included (extra charge)• Free coffee• 24/7 reception• Free Wi-FI• Amazing dinners!• Private and shared rooms• Bedlinen included• Towels for rent 2€• Free walking tours• Free city maps• Free activities• Free lugagge room• Common rooms• Big exterior terrace• Board gamesThe Hipstel offers private rooms as well as various sized dorms for affordable prices. Depending on your personal needs, you can either book a private room for you and your company or you just check in to a dorm to get in touch with loads of interesting peole from different countries all around the globe. The rooms are spacious, bright as well as secure . This will ensure, that your stay is going to be 100% comfortable. All our rooms are with shared bathroom. You will find air conditioner, big lockers in dorms, keycard access, bedlinen and blankets included in the rate, towels for rent at reception. Our staff will take care of every detail and your room and common areas will be perfectly clean and tidy. Location InformationThe Hipstel C\ de València 266, Barcelona 08007Due to its location next to the the city center, pretty much every hot spot in Barcelona can be reached by feet. But no worries - if you prefer to go by Metro, there is one stop directly across the corner of the Hostel. Within a few minutes you can reach Barceloneta metro station, where you can find the most popular beaches, or Park Güell, one of the hot spots in the city.Also, our location allows you to come and get to main airport and stations easily and cheap. There are bus stops as well as train stations closeby.In a nutshell, we are really proud to say that our location is pretty much unbeatable – can’t believe it? Just check it out on a map! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Hipstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hipstel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing