We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of Elsa y Fred

Elsa y Fred
Ranked #118 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Elsa and Fred reinvents the classic tapas bar, with creative cuisine with subtle inspiration from international cuisine. With special care in the presentation and maximum respect for the original flavors of each ingredient. When we prepare a dish, we make each one with all our passion and creativity. ELSA Y FRED INVITES YOU TO ENJOY BREAKFAST, HALF DAY MENUS, SANDWICHES, DELICIOUS HOMEMADE CAKES MID-AFTERNOON, AND TAPAS THROUGHOUT THE DAY, AS WELL AS A FINE WINE LIST AND COCKTAILS.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We came here in our first night in Barcelona after a long delay and tiresome flight.
Kicked off with a strawberry mojito (which could have been stronger - but hindsight just string enough seen as we were with our 5month old baby). My hubby had a G&T which came in a huge wineglass. The atmosphere was great with locals popping in and out and tourists who has stumbled upon the place. We ate the bravas, tuna tatar, sirloin, and crispy Brie salad. A total bargain of £55. Would def do again and will tell everyone we know who goes to visit there!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsR17710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    396
    80
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sublime”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful little restaurant with a great feel, nicely presented tasty food that won't break the bank (50 euros for 4 people including a drink). Great choice of music. And the girls are front of house with the boys in the kitchen!

Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fort McMurray
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inviting restaurant with great food”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a great tapas restaurant in the El Born area. The service is fast and the food is wonderful. Everything on the menu is made to share and you will be plenty full after ordering 3 or 4 plates (for a party of 2).

I highly recommend the patatas bravas as well as the croquettes. The pumpkin ravioli with the cheese sauce was delicious as well. After consuming all the food and wine and you still have room, check out their dessert menu. You will not be disappointed.

Price point wise it is a bit more than other tapas places in the area but what you get is definitely worth the money spent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Liz_339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best tapas!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went to Elsa y Fred last week after i searched the web for a different restaurant for us to try on our 6th stay in Barcelona. We are so pleased that we went. The restaurant has a very cosy, friendly atmosphere. We were greeted by a lovely waitress who took us to our table and offered us a cocktail and gave us the menu. It is mainly tapas which you have a choice of small or large portions. It all sounded delicious and some dishes were very different to the standard tapas that can be found in most of the tapas places! As we did not know what to choose, we asked the waitress, Merri, to help us. Merri did a brilliant job, explaining all the dishes and saying what goes best with what!! We ordered a bottle of house cava (merri said it was very good) and at 13 euros it was a bargain ( and it did taste good too!!!) Our tapas came out in stages and it was all amazing. The mushroom croquettes, tuna tartare and the sirloin were outstanding but then so was everything else! We finished off our meal about an hour after our tapas had been taken away, with 2 gorgeous homemade cakes and a glass of pedro ximenez sherry!Yum!The atmosphere was bustly without being too loud and people were still coming in at midnight when we were leaving. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. We will definitely be returning to elsa y fred when we return to Barcelona next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirroyale1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect find.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We have learned that when you find a great restaurant when traveling, you keep going back. And we did. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert. Pumpkin ravioli, jambon,cheese plate,sirloin, great cappuccino, wonderful green salad with warm brie, perfect fried eggs with pastas, and then there was the chocolate truffle dessert. Great food near Arc de Triomf.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birkie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elsa y Fred also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Elsa y Fred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing