We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devil is in the Details”
Review of Meneghina

Meneghina
Reserve with
Meneghina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,300 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Dallas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Devil is in the Details”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were blown away by this cute Italian kitchen. The staff was graceful and very attentive and kind. It is a tiny restaurant that seats no more than 30 it seemed. All pasta and gnocchi was made in house. We split the bolognese, gnocchi, and sautéed turbo entrees. For the appetizer we had homemade burrata that was amazing along with an arugula and tomato salad. The balsamic drizzle was a perfect addition. For dessert, the cheesecake; probably the best I've ever had.

We were so impressed with the kitchen staff as they came to the dining room to greet guests. The maitre'd was such a wonderful hostess as was the other staff. It was our last stop in Barcelona--we had saved the best for last. This place is remarkable. I almost want to keep this one to myself, but there is no stopping something this good. Good luck to this restaurant. We hope you can maintain its charm through all your success.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b_mohon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    50
    25
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

On our last night in Barcelona we were strolling through the small lane ways in the Born area and found Menegihna. It looked charming, menu was interesting, open kitchen looked very professional, and fortunately they had a table. The food is fantastic, Italian with a Catalan influence. We ate a wonderful rocket salad with buffalo mozzarella and tomatoes, delicious scallops, rigatoni with calamari and grilled fish. All really well cooked. The service is very friendly, and they were very helpful in translating the menu. This was our best meal in Barcelona, a real find. We are sorry we discovered Menghina in our last night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fitzroytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The first thing you notice when entering Meneghina is the wonderful aroma coming from the kitchen. The place is small and cozy - seats 20 people maximum, so do book in advance. Tables seat maximum 4-6 people, no large groups or noisy bunches. You truly feel at home. The two young but very professional ladies who run the place make you feel as part of the family right away. In fact many of the customers greeted them by name, you could tell Meneghina is a place where locals come back to.

We went in for an early dinner on a spring Friday evening with our baby in the stroller, they accomodated very obligingly. We started off with a cod sort of patee, suggestion of the day, and a green peas with black sausage and squid cassole, very Catalan. Most of the menu is Italian with a Catalan blend that makes this quite a unique offering with respect to your typical Italian in Barcelona. Next course we took the octopus pappardelle and aubergine parmiggiana. Everything was delicious, in smart-looking portions. Wine was a Cabernet Sauvignon from the Venezia region which they kindly offered to take away home if we didn't finish the bottle. For dessert we shared panna cotta with orange peels which was also perfect. We are definitely coming back to Meneghina!

And just to uncover a well-kept secret in this area of Born, don't miss out the Convent café right inside the old Saint Agustin Convent, 100 mts away from Meneghina.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food, bad service”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

we were strolling by when we decided we would grab our bite here. looked overpriced and there was only one table occupied. despite our second thoughts, we walked in. we had actually failed to locate the place we wanted to eat.

we were in for a surprise as the place filled up in some time and folks had indeed booked the tables in advance.

the service was pathetic. the waitress was merely polite in serving and though we loved the food, we did not order seconds/desserts, finished our meal, gave the money (no tips there) and walked out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is hidden on a side street but worth the effort to find it. We went on Friday night without a reservation with no luck they were full. We made a reservation for the following night. I let her know I was gluten free and she offered to go out and get an alternative pasta for me. I thought that was amazing, but I told her I would rather choose something they had that I could eat. They made a eggplant lasagne that was to die for. So good. My daughter got pasta with a pumpkin cream sauce, and my husband got the fish dish. Everything was great. She was warm and friendly and spoke very good English. My only warning is don't try to go on the weekend without a reservation we saw her turn many people down because she was full.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goodeats22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meneghina also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Meneghina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing