We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent sea food and great value. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Koxkera

Restaurant Koxkera
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Restaurant Koxkera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #289 of 8,492 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent sea food and great value. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited this restaurant and were delighted. We arrived at 8:30 and were first there as the spanish eat later. Soon enough though Spanish parties arrived which is and proved to be a good sign. The food and service was wonderful. Really friendly staff. We opted for the 30 euro menu. The food was delicious. The restaurant specialises in seafood. The menu included bread,water, coffee, dessert and a bottle of wine/cava as well as a starter and main course so was terrific value and each course was lovely. Very highly recommended! Delicious food and a great evening.

Helpful?
Thank FUSSYCLOGGS
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    143
    37
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Good Service & Taste, Reasonable price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went this restaurant at our last day in Barcelona, cause we would like to try seafood in Spain. We ordered sea bass, octopus, clams and seafood paella.
Sea bass is fresh and taste good. Octopus and Clams are nice too.
But we love the seafood paella most!
Staffs are very nice and provided excellent service. Even we don't know french but we don't have any problem when order food here.
We made reservation and we got 40% off! So we suggest you to make the reservation and it worth to try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“If it’s Good Enough For the Neighborhood – It’s Good for You”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I dined here on June 1. For appetizers we ordered Arrosto misto di pesce (grilled mixed seafood), and Andalusia Style Cattle Fish.

We wanted to understand the difference between local seafood and typical seafood so we ordered Arròs del Senyoret (local seafood paella) and Paella Marinera (regular seafood paella). Both were outstanding. We washed it down with an excellent bottle of red from Rioja.
The service was outstanding. Our water spoke good English. He was knowledgeable, efficient and friendly. Although we were not necessarily looking for value we were surprised at how inexpensive it was.

This place changed ownership a short while ago. Usually, new owners tend to cut corners in order to recoup the price they paid. However, we haven't noticed any of this.

We will definitely come back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent bang for your buck seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for some great home style Barcelona seafood far away from touristy areas, I highly recommend this place. We have been travelling Europe for a month and this is by far the cheapest good quality seafood we have had. I was able to get an entire grilled sea bass for 10 euro...that's incredibly cheap compared to what I was asked to pay in other cities (up to 100 euros) for the same thing! My fiancé had the set menu with clams, paella and creme brule. I also had the steamed mussels and octopus and everything was delicious. We also had some great tomato bread and complimentary sea snails.

The atmosphere isn't exactly swanky (think lots of wood panelling) and could use some updating, but the service was fantastic, the waiters were super friendly and helpful, and the food was cheap and delicious! We had a ton of food and it came only to 50 euros for 2. Excellent compared to harbour front seafood restaurants (100 euro EACH min).

Don't be scared to venture away from the tourist areas. It's a 5 min walk from the nearest metro stop. We will be back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linds0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Barcelona ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice small but great restaurant with super suggestion from the chef. And all the dishes were a dream. We will go again

Helpful?
Thank adrianhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Koxkera also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Koxkera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing