We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wrong location”
Review of Vioko

Vioko
Ranked #30 of 218 Dessert in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wrong location”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Dear TripAdvisor,

I have been in Europe for 2 months using your site for maps and it stuns me how difficult it is for your staff to plot an address correctly on a map. You have the right address but very frequently you have it on a map a whole mile away from its actual location. Vioko is a great spot for gelato but i only found it by chance as you have it mapped 1 mile inland when it is in fact right by port vell.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    72
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“amazing !”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Discovered this place by chance.
The chocolate, candy & flavored sugar selection was amazing !

I cannot believe that they have a single location, which is dissapointing.

So if you are anywhere near the Barcelona beaches, please go here.
I would have loved to bring back some, but in the august heat, nothing would have survived the trip.

Ice cream flavors are fantastic, from the very classic to novelty - Had the blueberry violet, was a dream.
got a few samples of the chocolate : raspberry, tropical, violet & olive - yes, olive ! and it was incredible.
I wish they had more locations, but then maybe they'd become like all the other chocolatiers...

Weather permitting, this would be a great gift too, only if you can stop yourself from eating it !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AzerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Dark chocolate heaven”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The dark bitter chocolate with almonds is amazing. I strongly recommend it. The yogurt is delicious as well.Lots of flavors and choices.
The long can be a bit long but it is worth it.
One of my all time favorite gelato places in the world.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mystic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vanilla Gelato I've Ever Had”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Modern, sleek, amazing location - steps from the beach, good service, amazing selection of desserts & chocolate, and the best vanilla gelato I've ever had. A must!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best selection in barceloneta. Good value”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The selection at Vioko is fantastic. Easily double the number of flavours of many of the places in barceloneta. A great selection of fruit (milk free) flavours along with fruit mousse and cream flavours. The line seemed long, but it moved quickly. They have a pay first and get your number, then wait for your number to be called system that works much better than the "jump and scream to get noticed" system.

The prices seem reasonable too, and they really pile on the gelato. We ordered small cups for Eur2.90 and they were piled high ... easily the equivalent of two big scoops of ice cream.

You won't be able to go just once!

Helpful?
1 Thank TheTraveller314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vioko also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Vioko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing