We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good affordable choice for short stay”
Review of Gran Ducat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Ducat Hotel
Ranked #380 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Washington DC, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good affordable choice for short stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I had one night after a trip with friends to spend on my own before flying out, so I wanted something affordable, central, and close to Aerobus, and BCN Gran Ducat did the trick. It's certainly no frills (I don't even think my room had the art that is in the photos) but clean and basic. For rooms facing the street, street noise does start early. Best of all, it's steps away from Placa de Catalunya, shopping, and restaurants, so very easy to get about. Front desk service was good. Recommend to be close to the center as long as you get a good deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringa220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    226
    164
    62
    51
See reviews for
82
240
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Hotel is 2 min walking distance to Placa Catalonia and Aerobus stop, situated in very city center, you can get everywhere on foot from there- Bari Gothic, Rambla, Casa Batlo etc. Rooms are not very big but comfy and clean. Shopping and restaurants are nearby. It is one of the most perfect locations in Barcelona. Staff is nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Had room with street view, I liked it a lot. Probably for some people it could be little bit noisy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Generally speaking this was a good choice as the hotel is very close to Plaça de Catalunya. Apart from using the sightseeing bus on Day One, we walked everywhere from the hotel base. On the plus side, the room was clean (tiled floors) and the bed was comfortable. There was a kettle to make tea and coffee, no fridge. Our room had a very small bathroom with a bath and a shower over the bath. The water pressure was good and plenty of hot water. Towels were changed daily. A small wardrobe with fixed hangers also housed a room safe. Gripes about the room: Our room faced onto the street and it was very noisy. The air conditioning did not work so we had to have the window / double glazing open at night to breathe. There was constant street noise of traffic and people passing by. Also the underground trains rumbled through underneath the building. At times there was noise from within the hotel and rooms either side. No hooks on back of bathroom door, curtains over window were dirty and the plastic 'blackout' curtain was ripped and useless. No English TV channel. Breakfast was quite adequate, though the 'hot' dishes were usually lukewarm. The staff were helpful and polite and spoke good English. I probably would stay there again but would request a quiet room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect for getting around & seeing all the main sights in a short space of time + travel links couldn't be easier. Our room was at the front of the hotel so we got a balcony & a nice bright room. Beds were hard & quite uncomfortable & it's pretty noisy at night but if you know you'll struggle to sleep or want to spend a lot of time in the hotel rather than exploring this beautiful city, don't book a budget hotel or one that's situated right in the middle of a very touristy part of the city. We just booked the room so I can't comment on the food but everything was clean & the staff were courteous & for a city break on a buget, you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHammy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The location was great, the staff was very kind and pleasant, price is very good and the room was clean.

On the other side... the room was very small and there was no option to sit on the toilet (there was a wall close to the toilet)!
Also, the room had a balcony that anyone could enter from the stairway and people that walks in the hall could see the inside of the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaofix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was a very good value and a comfortable place. Well located within walking distance of nice shops and places of interest.The only problem we encountered was getting in when no one was at the desk,and the front door was locked,but the desk agent was just gone for a few minutes. If you know that,you won't be panicked as we were.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dudley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during the holidays of 2013. I was extremely happy to be so close to all of my planned activities. The famous Placa Catalonia is within two blocks of the hotel. All major public transportation, stores, banks, and various tourist attractions are within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to save time, money, and enjoy your stay in the city of Barcelona. Buen viaje!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and spend a few more euros to enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
#290 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#150 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#85 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#214 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#183 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#46 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Ducat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Ducat Hotel

Property: Gran Ducat Hotel
Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 15, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Ducat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience the real Barcelona, the BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ducat offers you the possibility to host you next to Plaza Catalunya, at the center of Barcelona with the services of a 3 star hotel. The perfect place for tourism in Barcelona. Modern, comfortable and with a dinamic design, the BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ducat is versatil and offers you the possibility to enjoy all type of details such as the breakfast terrace, free WiFi, parking $... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gran Ducat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ducat Barcelona
Hotel Gran Ducat
Gran Ducat Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing