We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”
Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acevi Villarroel
Ranked #144 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Wonderful location. Only 400m from Urgel metro which is 2 stops from Las Ramblas. Staff are very helpful and hotel rooms are comfortable clean and well maintained. Also on a bus route. Hotel is in the eixample area of Barcelona and very central. Many cafes, bars and restaurants near by for all tastes. There is a wonderful Italian restaurant across the street. Also near super markets for the odd thing or too. Recommend for all users. Staff at reception 24 hrs.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in are very good but the quieter rooms are away from the main street but...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glamorgans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you too have chosen our hotel for your stay in Barcelona. We are happy after reading your review, and we will keep working to give the best service.

Kind Regards,
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
There are newer reviews for Acevi Villarroel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 974 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Arrived via the airport bus a2 to metro stop urgell, it's a five minute walk from there, 6.0 euros each from the airport, bargain. taxi on return was 30 euro for 2 of us.
Hotel reception was nice and clean, staff efficient and very cool and welcoming from the aircon, room on 6 th floor room 608 not the best view but a lovely quiet room overlooking flats opposite courtyard.

Room Amenities
Very clean, cleaned daily
Fresh towels each day, very nice quality indeed,
Comfy beds with nice pillows, great nights sleep
Wifi in room works very well
Smart tv on wall, but few English channels, no problem to us but maybe to some ?
Nice bathroom with a good shower
Rather odd that the bathroom sink was actually in bedroom with a modern glass sink, however it did take ages to drain and be warned there is no overflow!!
Unfortunately in the attempt to be modern and contemporary a decision was made to install a frosted glass door with a 1" gap all the way round. So not very private and you could see someone sitting on the toilet, not very pleasant
Aircon was effective 3 nights out of 4, for some reason it didn't work one night due to a hotel issue ?
Breakfast was ok with some cereals, juice, coffee, some different breads to toast, bacon on 1 day other days were sausage only, 1 very spicy indeed, cold meats, cheese etc, adequate but nothing special
Located 15 minutes ( at a reasonable pace ) from the top of cataluni square where the rambla starts, and 30 mins from the port, in the other direction was espanya square and the magic fountain, so well located if you don't mind walking
Near urgell metro stop (5 mins) where is 2.15 euro each to most attractions
We thought it was a fair hotel at a fair price in a good location with friendly helpful staff
Would go again if visiting Barcelona and would recommend

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank lesstatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to give us your opinion about the hotel. I see that you liked to stay with us, and you specially appreciate the location.
It is very important for us to know what you think about what to improve, and we are glad you give us some tips in order to give a better service. The airco in the hotel failed during few hours, but it was already repaired as fast as possible, and now is working perfectly.

Thank you again.

Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was very nice. The location is great as it is only 10 minutes walk from the center of city. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast had a nice selection of food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldofMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you to spend some minutes to give us your opinion about the hotel. We appreciate your review and we hope to recieve your visit in the future.

Kind Regards,

Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

the location was very good. staff was really helpful. Our room was big, clean and quiet. Breakfast was great (the have the best coffee I've tasted in Barcelona). We really enjoyed our staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay in or hotel. We hope to have you as a guest in the future.

Kind Regards,

front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

just back from 3 nights stay at thr acevi villarroel in barcelona, arrived about 5pm with my wife after 2 days on business at the other end of town ( barcelona princess) and was offered an upgrade to a suite rather than the double room we had booked,the suite was fantastic. very spacious with high quality furnishings, a large double bedroom seperated from the living space with large sliding doors, corridor out to a large bathroom which had a jacuzzi bath, large spa shower and then a seperate toilet. the staff were excellent, all very helpful, we didnt eat in the restaurant at night as there were lots of local places to catch some good food near bye but did have breakfast every morning which was fine. the really big plus was the location, 3 blocks from the metro, bus stop outside, taxi to airport only 20mins away and about 26 euros. we used the metro every day to travel about, only 2 stops on red line into la catalunya which is top end of la rambla area. we booked direct with hotel, and this gave you free entry to spa for the duration, but unfortunately it was being repaired at our time of visiting, but with so much to do and see in barca anyway i doubt we would have had time anyway
barcelona is a great city for a break, so many must see's like the gotic district, catedral, familia sagreda etc all amazing in there own way.
aim to go back next year for a longer tourist visig this time as business meang we lost some days and will definetly be looking to stay again at the acevi villarroel. the barcelona princess had stunning views and that big hotel feel but the charm was with the acevi villarroel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to know that you had a very good pleasant stay in our hotel, and we hope you come back again to enjoy your holidays.

Kind Regards,

Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Nice man checked us in very kind and helpful 16/05/14. about 10pm. He deserves a special mention as he is very welcoming and good at his job. We couldn't have received a better welcome. :) Everyone at the hotel was nice. The hotel is in a good location close to some of the main attractions taxis are cheap from the hotel to major attractions it is a very good base for visiting Barcelona. We enjoyed it here a lot. We went to watch the football but also we loved the magic fountain. I recommend this hotel it is decorated well and is clean.

Room Tip: n/a all nice I would guess
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you to write a review about your stay in the Hotel Acevi Villarroel. I appreciate your opinion about it and specially the mention of the recepctionist. I will transmit your words to him.
We work very hard to give the best service to our guests, and after reading these lines, we see that the guests appreciate our work.

Thank you and I hope to receive your visit again,

Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

When they say the first impression counts... Unfortunately I arrived to his hotel and got a very bad approach. I specifically asked to check in between 1 and 2 as the check in is at 3. I actually arrived at 12 40 asking to check in after 1 but at least before 2. The person in reception instead of trying to faciliate the situation told me that there was no room available and the other person in the room requested a late check out. Notice check out is normally at 12. When I confronted him with the fact that I got a confirmation for early check in, he basically told me that his colleague meant that this "maybe" possible. Showing him the written confirmation this was saying that it was confirmed. We entered into a debate which was not healthy and not customer minded. As I was upset I was prepared to move to another hotel, he very kindly offered me to leave after paying the first night.
We ended up getting the room at 2. The rude receptionist apologised and offered free entrance to the Spa.
So what lesson can be learned. People make the difference and trying the first time harder would have given me a completly different impression.
What I was left was with a negative experience which is what I am reporting.
The staff problem is obviously shown in order report.
If you go to this hotel my other comments are. It us relatively close to the ramblas de Catalunya. So quite central. The room I was in was large and nice. The bathroom had no window. Neither the shower room. The room appeared cleaned but obviously because of the above there were staines on the wall.
Unfortunately when you have a bad first impression, then you tend to look at the negative types of things.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Torino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director General at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to apologize about the situation you are explaining. I am quiet sure that it was a misunderstand because, according your review it was a first impression and everything was good after that.
We never may confirm an early check in but we do our best to make it possible. If you get the confirmation it was our mistake. But it is also true that we may not hesitate of you when you are showing the confirmation.
I am sure that we explain this to you but you had the confirmation from us, and this the most important thing. I am also sure that my colleague did not want to seem rude, because after all he did his best to give you the room as fast as possible. He even talk with the guest who was in the room in order to check out earlier.
It is a shame this first impression affects to the rest of your stay, but is our work to give a good service from the beginning until the end.
Accept our apologize and I hope to receive your visit again to show you the best of us.

Yours Faithfuly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#142 of 513 in Barcelona
934 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#122 of 513 in Barcelona
1,188 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#107 of 513 in Barcelona
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#80 of 513 in Barcelona
948 reviews
Eixample
Ako Suite Hotel
Ako Suite Hotel
#184 of 513 in Barcelona
291 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#179 of 513 in Barcelona
3,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Address: Villarroel, 106 | C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#104 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $111 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining in our restaurant "el 106", a spa and gym, and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. We also offer polyvalent meeting rooms with personalized services to enable enterprises to make their conferences, seminars, and even for cocktails and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona
Acevi Villarroel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing