We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”
Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acevi Villarroel
Ranked #145 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

When we came to this hotel we were extremely tires after a long tour from madrid, paris, rome and florence and we just couldn't believe such nice hotel, very clean, personnel that went above and beyond their duties to help us out! Everything was just comfy, no doubt best hotel for the price, is ver well located close to placa españa and fee blocks from placa catalunyia.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank omunozl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion about our hotel and thank you very much for the nice words you write.

I hope to see you again if you come back to Barcelona.

Kind Regards,

Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

For over the last decade, I have stayed in Barcelona at least once a year. I try to always stay in different hotels meaning that I have had my fair share of disappointments as well as great surprises.

This time I stayed in Acevi Villarroel and found it to be sufficiently central to even walk to Plaza Catalunya (about 15m walk). The room I stayed in fro a week was comfortable, clean, large enough and a good sized bathroom. No view from the room (facing interior courtyard) but I just use the room for sleeping and a bit of work so that was OK. The only problem, if you could call it that, was the air conditioning that was a bit noisy. Other than that... great night's sleep every night!

Breakfast was probably the downside. The variety was not that great and the toaster broke down one day and was not timely replaced.

There are many hotels to stay in while in Barcelona. So, would I stay at Acevi Villarroel again? Well, I like to stay at different hotels but I would certainly recommend this 4* hotel to anyone that want a fairly central stay in a quiet area.

(sorry! forgot to take some photos to share with all of you but what other reviewers have posted correctly illustrates what I experienced)

Room Tip: Want a quiet night... then choose a room that is facing the interior courtyard. I stayed in 107 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biscas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your comments, and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

The toaster was broken as you said, but it has been replaced for a new one.

I hope that, even you like to try different hotels, you come back soon.

Thank you and Kind Regards,

Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed in the Acevi for a long weekend in Barcelona. The reception presented nicely and the rooms were very comfortable and of a good standard. Some staff were more helpful than others, but overall the Acevi is good value and well connected transport wise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonSandybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you to write some lines about our hotel. One of our strong points is the staff, but it is always possible to improve. Your opinion is very important in order to give a better service.

Thank you very much,
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights - first night the air con rattled like a pneumatic drill and room very hot. Raised the issue the next day which could not be fixed so we were moved to a better, duplex room. All staff we met were friendly and keen to help.

Room Tip: Would think front of the hotel would be quite noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Normangnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you to spend some minutes to give us your opinion, and thank you to be so comprehensive about the problem in your room.
We could solve the technic problem in the room and everything is fine now.

Thank you,
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The prices aren't too expensive nor cheap. There is a buffet that you have to pay extra for but is lovely. My family and I have breakfast there every morning. The rooms are lovely and modern with no balconies. The rooms are spacious and our chambermaid was Milagror and she made our stay cleaner and made our beds everyday whilst my family and I were away sightseeing. Its really close to the Metros- Urgel(L1), Rocafort (L1), Sant Antoni(L2) and Hospital Clinic(L5). It is close to the city centre and the hotel offers a restrant, a spa, a gym, a satellite tv in every room equipped with a DVD player, room service and a open top swimming pool however the pool isn't that big, its quite shallow and unless the sun is quite high, it will be hidden by the sun. Altogether I can say it is amazing and a must place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were here for 5 days for new years. The rooms are clean spacious and modern, I couldn't fault them. Its a short walk from the city centre and all the amazing attractions. The lady at reception was great. I got a migraine on the last day, so she let me check out 3hours late so I could sleep it off. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakesh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel is centrally located, and it is very easy to stroll around. Reception staff were very warm and helpful. The breakfast was really nice, in a warm and cosy atmosphere. The restaurant does not open for lunch. Room was clean and very comfortable. Good strong wifi. Highly recommended for a nice comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Persimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#148 of 515 in Barcelona
951 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Salles Hotel Pere IV
Salles Hotel Pere IV
#290 of 515 in Barcelona
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#60 of 515 in Barcelona
2,298 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#112 of 515 in Barcelona
1,231 reviews
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
#233 of 515 in Barcelona
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Address: Villarroel, 106, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#104 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $78 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining in our restaurant "el 106", a spa and gym, and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. We also offer polyvalent meeting rooms with personalized services to enable enterprises to make their conferences, seminars, and even for cocktails and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona
Acevi Villarroel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing