We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acevi Villarroel
Ranked #143 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The prices aren't too expensive nor cheap. There is a buffet that you have to pay extra for but is lovely. My family and I have breakfast there every morning. The rooms are lovely and modern with no balconies. The rooms are spacious and our chambermaid was Milagror and she made our stay cleaner and made our beds everyday whilst my family and I were away sightseeing. Its really close to the Metros- Urgel(L1), Rocafort (L1), Sant Antoni(L2) and Hospital Clinic(L5). It is close to the city centre and the hotel offers a restrant, a spa, a gym, a satellite tv in every room equipped with a DVD player, room service and a open top swimming pool however the pool isn't that big, its quite shallow and unless the sun is quite high, it will be hidden by the sun. Altogether I can say it is amazing and a must place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    366
    112
    32
    26
See reviews for
172
367
36
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were here for 5 days for new years. The rooms are clean spacious and modern, I couldn't fault them. Its a short walk from the city centre and all the amazing attractions. The lady at reception was great. I got a migraine on the last day, so she let me check out 3hours late so I could sleep it off. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakesh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel is centrally located, and it is very easy to stroll around. Reception staff were very warm and helpful. The breakfast was really nice, in a warm and cosy atmosphere. The restaurant does not open for lunch. Room was clean and very comfortable. Good strong wifi. Highly recommended for a nice comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Got a transfer from airport to hotel. Lady at reception was lovely. Wasn't over the top or overbearing. got down to business with details and passports and key cards for room. told us to come back when settled for info on city and sites and stuff.
Room was simple, clean and spacious. basically as in picture
bed was big and really comfy which was great.
Woulda been nice if there was some form of press for clothes or an iron. Also shower wasn't great for trying to get temperature right, the handles were a bit worn on gauges. also it got pretty warm during night, not sure air conditioning was working really but opened window so was ok.. Coulda done with more shower gel left in bathroom (only basing on other hotels i've stayed in).
Didn't try the spa place as only there for short stay and 10euro charge, didn't make sense for us but would have if staying longer. 10euro charge for the room (not per person) for full day, didn't really have a problem with it.

Negatives listed above were only superficial things that didn't really have an actual effect on anything we did at hotel so I wouldn't state them as caution if deciding to book.

staff gave maps and advice whenver asked. also rang up transfer company night before leaving for me to confirm transfer to airport. Genuine and helpful.

good location, about 20 min walk to la ramblas. wasn't sure what to expect. Good for shopping if that's what you're looking for. modern city street, long and straight.

restaurant across the road from hotel, napoli something. got a pizza night before leaving. was delicious. wish i'd gone properly for a meal. highly recommended, good value.

Overall, good value for what you get, good location, friendly helpful staff, some minor niggley negatives that don't have much actual bearing on stay. Nothing to blow your mind. Perfect if your planning to spend time in city rather than spending all your time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Check appliances when get into room, get impression some might need to be updated. easier to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muse02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed three nights at the Acevi Villarroel Hotel in Barcelona during a business meeting, which also took place at the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and the friendly and hospitable atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and most forthcoming. The hotel is situated very close to the heart of Barcelona and easy to be reached from the airport.The only downside: they are charging Euro 10 for the use of their Spa/Gym. This notwithstanding, absolutely recommended as a business hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LangeManfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We traveled there for a "honeymoon"-last minute choice, and we didn't regret it at all! The service was excellent. The breakfast very delicious, with lots of typical products, as chorizo etc and with very polite employees. The bed was extra large, and very comfortable! Also the room was spacious, bat with very small bathroom. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed there on a business trip to Barca, very friendly staff, clean hotel. The best room maid I've encountered in a long time. Attention to details and cleanliness of room. Room is a decent size and comfortable. Centrally located. Slow in follow up when it comes to inquiry. Still waiting for an updated folio of my room, for accounting purposes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 870shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#92 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Eixample
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel & Spa Villa Olimpica Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ako Suite Hotel
Ako Suite Hotel
#164 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#201 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Property: Acevi Villarroel
Address: Villarroel, 106 | C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#106 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining in our restaurant "el 106", a spa and gym, and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. We also offer polyvalent meeting rooms with personalized services to enable enterprises to make their conferences, seminars, and even for cocktails and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona
Acevi Villarroel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing