We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great location!”
Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Acevi Villarroel
Ranked #143 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were here for 5 days for new years. The rooms are clean spacious and modern, I couldn't fault them. Its a short walk from the city centre and all the amazing attractions. The lady at reception was great. I got a migraine on the last day, so she let me check out 3hours late so I could sleep it off. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakesh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
There are newer reviews for Acevi Villarroel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 975 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel is centrally located, and it is very easy to stroll around. Reception staff were very warm and helpful. The breakfast was really nice, in a warm and cosy atmosphere. The restaurant does not open for lunch. Room was clean and very comfortable. Good strong wifi. Highly recommended for a nice comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Persimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Got a transfer from airport to hotel. Lady at reception was lovely. Wasn't over the top or overbearing. got down to business with details and passports and key cards for room. told us to come back when settled for info on city and sites and stuff.
Room was simple, clean and spacious. basically as in picture
bed was big and really comfy which was great.
Woulda been nice if there was some form of press for clothes or an iron. Also shower wasn't great for trying to get temperature right, the handles were a bit worn on gauges. also it got pretty warm during night, not sure air conditioning was working really but opened window so was ok.. Coulda done with more shower gel left in bathroom (only basing on other hotels i've stayed in).
Didn't try the spa place as only there for short stay and 10euro charge, didn't make sense for us but would have if staying longer. 10euro charge for the room (not per person) for full day, didn't really have a problem with it.

Negatives listed above were only superficial things that didn't really have an actual effect on anything we did at hotel so I wouldn't state them as caution if deciding to book.

staff gave maps and advice whenver asked. also rang up transfer company night before leaving for me to confirm transfer to airport. Genuine and helpful.

good location, about 20 min walk to la ramblas. wasn't sure what to expect. Good for shopping if that's what you're looking for. modern city street, long and straight.

restaurant across the road from hotel, napoli something. got a pizza night before leaving. was delicious. wish i'd gone properly for a meal. highly recommended, good value.

Overall, good value for what you get, good location, friendly helpful staff, some minor niggley negatives that don't have much actual bearing on stay. Nothing to blow your mind. Perfect if your planning to spend time in city rather than spending all your time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Check appliances when get into room, get impression some might need to be updated. easier to change...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muse02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed three nights at the Acevi Villarroel Hotel in Barcelona during a business meeting, which also took place at the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and the friendly and hospitable atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and most forthcoming. The hotel is situated very close to the heart of Barcelona and easy to be reached from the airport.The only downside: they are charging Euro 10 for the use of their Spa/Gym. This notwithstanding, absolutely recommended as a business hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LangeManfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We traveled there for a "honeymoon"-last minute choice, and we didn't regret it at all! The service was excellent. The breakfast very delicious, with lots of typical products, as chorizo etc and with very polite employees. The bed was extra large, and very comfortable! Also the room was spacious, bat with very small bathroom. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed there on a business trip to Barca, very friendly staff, clean hotel. The best room maid I've encountered in a long time. Attention to details and cleanliness of room. Room is a decent size and comfortable. Centrally located. Slow in follow up when it comes to inquiry. Still waiting for an updated folio of my room, for accounting purposes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 870shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned back from this hotel having stayed for 3 nights. The room was clean but we were in the second floor corner room which was very dark and you are not allowed to open window! We did ask to change the room but for told it was fully booked which we didn't believe as we didn't see that many people. It's a 7 floor hotel. We paid for breakfast as well which we don't recommend to anyone. All we had to eat was bread, cereal, boiled or scrambled egg. Nothing else! Every day was the same. The location of the hotel was good as there were lots of shops around but be prepared to do long walks to get to places. Every road looks like each other so very easy to get lost. Make sure you keep a map with you all the time. :-)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SGWoodhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#146 of 513 in Barcelona
935 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#123 of 513 in Barcelona
1,190 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#107 of 513 in Barcelona
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#83 of 513 in Barcelona
949 reviews
Eixample
Ako Suite Hotel
Ako Suite Hotel
#194 of 513 in Barcelona
292 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#179 of 513 in Barcelona
3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Address: Villarroel, 106 | C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $110 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining in our restaurant "el 106", a spa and gym, and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. We also offer polyvalent meeting rooms with personalized services to enable enterprises to make their conferences, seminars, and even for cocktails and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona
Acevi Villarroel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing