We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Trip”
Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acevi Villarroel
Ranked #147 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing Trip”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Firstly, we must say that our Junior Suite, based over two floors was lovely and the huge bed was really comfortable. But the praise must end there. No british TV to watch as you unwind or get ready to go out, so we opted for the use of free CD's that were advertised as being offered at reception, but no CD's were available, I had to take the info book from the room to the reception to prove I wasnt making it up. No change of towels after the first night so we waited for the 2nd night, still no change until I requested them. The pool is advertised as a summer pool, thats probably as its outside, small and freezing cold in a very run down and neglected area overlooked by a 1000 residential balconies. Breakfast, aimed at the German / Dutch market with weird cheeses and strange looking mini sausages with rock hard bread rolls and sterilised milk for cereal and coffee / tea making, (sterilised milk?? this is 2013!!!).
We selected this hotel as it offered use of their Spa as part of our package, only to be told that we had to pay an extra 16 euros each for the privelage. Musnt forget the daily 6:00am wake up call as the staff clocked in or out for work, but thats probably because we were on the ground floor.
We paid top dollar for this special birthday break and were left feeling very disappointed, with the only explaination offered by the reception being, "we've recently been taken over and we are in the process of change". My advice, change your mind if you're considering this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room thats high as the staff change over at 6am is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanseajak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    375
    119
    34
    28
See reviews for
181
381
36
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
200 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Really beautiful hotel, clean and large rooms, excellent breakfast and friendly staff in reception and at breakfast, quiet location but within walking distance from most attractions. Urgell metro stop if few minutes walking distance. The pool is a little bit small and overlooked by other apartment blocks but it was still refreshing after a hot day. The sauna is nice and excellent for relaxing after a long day walking.
Parking for my motorbike was for free and the overall ration quality / price is of absolute excellence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giuseppe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotel is very central, very clean and the staff are very helpful. i went to Barcelona to meet my sister for a long weekend she comes from Denmark and was also pleased with our room. The bathroom was very clean and the maid tidied up all our belongings we left lying around. No breakfast was included but menu and restaurant looked very good. The metro was close by also many places to eat or for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogrob47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Acevi. It was our first time in Barcelona for a family trip. We had interconnecting rooms with our teenager children. Rooms were spacious as wll as bathrooms. Hotel was very quite and clean. It is situated near main road of Arago. We used to walk around town however bus stop is just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights from September 18th 2013. Easy to get to from the airport, A2 bus took us there with a 10minute walk from the bus stop. Lovely hotel, extremely clean! Rooms were great, nice big size, modern & comfy beds. Working safe in the rooms, tv had 1 or 2 English channels which wasnt great but nothing big to moan about. Location of hotel was perfect. 10 minute walk to Las Ramblas, half an hour walk to the sea front, or a few quick stops on the metro. A T-10 ticket is a must! You can buy them from metro stations, 10 journeys for 10€. Metro station at the end of the road where hotel is located is called Urgell. Lots of lovely little cafes/restaurants in the local area of hotel which are half the price of restaurants on Las Ramblas. We did eat there a couple of times though as we loved the atmosphere. Breakfast at hotel was fine, cold meats, toast, rolls, fruit, yogurts, sausages, eggs etc. just what you need for a long day of sight seeing! It was my partners birthday while we were there, we didnt tell the staff but they must have noticed on his passport as they sent up a fruit hamper on his birthday, lovely touch! staff were great, very friendly! Overall a great hotel in a wonderful city! Don't hesitate to stay here's

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucia_mg364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed 3 nights on April 2013. I have been on that hotel before so it was very safe bet.
On the first date I arrived on the late evening to hotel from airport and leaving very early to Barcelona Sants railway station. It only took 5 min from hotel to railway station (less than 5 euros by Taxi).
I spend day in business in Zaragoza and afternoon back to Barcelona. Fast train only took 1h 30 min from Barcelona to Zaragoza so it was perfect, because I like more Barcelona.
Location of the hotel is fine and reasonable distance by walk to everywhere.
Hotel has nice pool area and small gym.
Hotel breakfast was also good and nearby hotel is plenty of restaurant to choose.

Next time I will visit same hotel together with my wife. Hopefully it will be good also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SakariLahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#123 of 513 in Barcelona
1,132 reviews
Eixample
Ako Suite Hotel
Ako Suite Hotel
#163 of 513 in Barcelona
283 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#126 of 513 in Barcelona
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#77 of 513 in Barcelona
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Property: Acevi Villarroel
Address: Villarroel, 106 | C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining in our restaurant "el 106", a spa and gym, and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. We also offer polyvalent meeting rooms with personalized services to enable enterprises to make their conferences, seminars, and even for cocktails and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona
Acevi Villarroel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing