We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad reception!”
Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Acevi Villarroel
Ranked #138 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad reception!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The people from the reception did everything to make it a bad experience from the first minute. Fistly, they lost the reservation. That meant waiting at least an hour in the lobby for phones to be made to my home country, to my travel agent, to whoever, in order to find the reservation, which was left somewhere on the desk. That also meant some of my money spent on calling my travel agent back at home to explain the situation. Secondly, they asked for my credit card for deposit. I said I don't want to give my credit card. Instead, they asked for 100 Euros in cash. I was totally amazed, because it has never happened to me, and I asked why. They said it was a deposit for extras, in case I wanted to eat at the restaurant. Of course, I said I don't want to eat at the restaurant, and I don't want to give my credit card or a large deposit in cash. They were totally shocked, and I asked to speak to the manager of the hotel, to show me the rules of the hotel, in English, regarding the deposit and the credit card. When I said the word "rules", everyone got into panic and let me go, without any deposit or credit card. It was my worst experience ever in a hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank VoicuD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    383
    120
    35
    28
See reviews for
188
391
36
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in quite a central location not far from all the major sights! The highlight of this hotel is its spacious rooms with the lovely bathrooms! Breakfast was average and the service was superb! I would highly recommend the 2 day bus pass for the red sightseeing buses which costs €31 euros each. It is a hop on hop of service with earphones for an audio guide. There is an east and west route which allows you to see all the major sights within a short period of time! Definitely a must.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here this weekend just gone and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel lobby was lovely and the reception staff were friendly and explained what we needed to know. The rooms were on 1st floor and they were adjoining which was perfect. Only downside was that we stayed next door to a smoking room and sometimes we could smell it. Reception asked if they could move us if we wanted but it was not too bad. Breakfast was fab! Cereals, fruit, pastries, eggs and sausages, cheeses and breads lots if fruit juices and hot drinks. Couldnt ask for anything more!! Loved our stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venus76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you to spend few minutes to give us your opinion about the hotel. We are glad to see that you liked the hotel and you would decide to come back again in the future.

Yours Faithfuly,
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Everthing was good!
We stayed there for 5 nights. The room was very clean, enough space and the service was very friendly and give us a lot of helpful information.
The breakfast was very delicious and had a lot of things to choose.
The hotel is not in the main area of barcelona, but easy to reach by metro.

We liked this hotel very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thnk you for your comments. We are very happy you enjouyed your stey with us.

Kind Regards,

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Traveling from the US to Spain for the first time, we assumed that the basics we take for granted in a 3 star hotel in the US would hold for Spain as well. Not so, it turns out. Hotel rooms don't come equipped with a microwave and coffee maker, for one, and that can be quite an issue for people who are used to waking up with a cup of coffee. Also, rooms can be quite a bit smaller than those in the US. Ours did not even have a proper door for the bath, just a frosted glass pane which left a good 1 inch gap open on all sides so privacy in the toilet was impossible! The AC was also kinda temperamental, and would go on one night but would not the next. Those negatives stated, the room was quiet (very important in this city where many hotels are on noisy streets), clean and functional, and the hotel itself was located about 5 mins walk away from a metro (Urquell) and had a bus stop right at the door, and was within 30 mins walk from all the major sights near the downtown area, so location was good. The staff were also extremely friendly and helpful, always giving us precise directions to get to places and attending to our requests with speed and grace. We did not eat at the restaurant for breakfast or other meals, but from what we could see, the buffet in the morning was pretty good value for Euro 12. For the price (we paid about $ 136 per night) this was overall a pretty good deal compared to the available options, but in hindsight I'd pay a little more and opt for a better hotel the next time.

Room Tip: We selected a room on the top most floor facing the back on the building, which had a view of a resi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeker1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you to have choosen our hotel for your stay in Barcelona and thank you to give us your opinion about it.
We always try to give the best of us in order to help the guests about everything they need. That is why our staff is so important for us, but not less important tan your suggestions, that we will consider to make the guest feel like home.

Thank you again and our Best wishes.

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We used this hotel as a post-cruise, explore Barcelona hotel. It's a good price for the location. Walking distance from the university and Las Ramblas. It's also close to two metro stations which can take you to many great locations including Sagrada Familia. I'd stay here again...no question! Only negative is they didn't provide wash cloths...minor negative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 539ChristopherA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for review, we appreciate your comments. One of our strong ponits is the location; we are close enough to the old city centre to go walking, but far from the crowded touristic areas, and at the same time very well communicated by public transportaion.

I hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

modern hip and comfortable room in a fine neighborhood. I loved the modern fixtures in the bathroom, the ultra comfortable bed, and had a great dinner at their restaurant

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Herbert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#126 of 513 in Barcelona
1,173 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#143 of 513 in Barcelona
925 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ako Suite Hotel
Ako Suite Hotel
#166 of 513 in Barcelona
289 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#87 of 513 in Barcelona
926 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#173 of 513 in Barcelona
3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Property: Acevi Villarroel
Address: Villarroel, 106 | C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#100 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining in our restaurant "el 106", a spa and gym, and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. We also offer polyvalent meeting rooms with personalized services to enable enterprises to make their conferences, seminars, and even for cocktails and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona
Acevi Villarroel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing