We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Acevi Villarroel
Ranked #140 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

modern hip and comfortable room in a fine neighborhood. I loved the modern fixtures in the bathroom, the ultra comfortable bed, and had a great dinner at their restaurant

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Herbert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel had really nice interior. Nothing too flash but high quality. The rooms were great with massive beds although the portable hi-fi system and old fashioned box-set tv (didn't check to see if it worked) are not what you would expect for a hotel of this standard and price. The only other down-side to the rooms are the glass door to the en-suite which is frosted but the gaps between the door and door frame mean you can hear everything that goes on. So if you're on a romantic getaway make sure you both feel comfortable going to the toilet when the other can hear.

The location is close to Urgell metro station, while not right in the centre with the excellent transport links it's easy to get about.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanMal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a huge room for the 3 of us...2 beds downstairs with a separate bathroom (no shower downstairs..which was fine since one was upstairs). The extra room was much appreciated. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer...we ate at a great restaurant twice right on the corner of gran via...Guidos...highly recommend.
Breakfast buffet was nice and seemed about average price for a buffet. We would stay here again. Room was cold had to remember to turn off air conditioner several times!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Schus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked this hotel because of good trip advisor reviews,thank you everyone who left feedback.
Staff all excellent,hotel spotless,rooms tv cd player,mini bar in fridge,good breakfast with fresh coffee machine.
just back from 5 night stay
Nice to have a swimming pool, had two afternoons here resting tired feet.
Slept well during stay,hotel quiet, no noise heard at night apart from odd passing sirens from emergency services.
We would recommend hotel and stay here again.
bus/metro tickets- zone 1 - T-10 cost 9.45 euros- gives you 10 trips either bus/tram/metro anywhere in Barcelona,can be used for 2 people if only short stay just put ticket in machine and pass back for next person to use.
Easy metro links, from bus station nord, red line 1 from Arc de Triomf to Urgell, hotel 5 mins walk from Urgell station. or taxi cost approx 10.00 euros. all taxis have meters
Do try donuts from shop-San Roman left out of hotel -1st left shop is on corner.
Sagrada Familia-Please get tickets before going as waiting time in queue is about 3 hours, you can buy tickets from SERVICAIXA cash machine- leave hotel 1st left -1st left again you can seen caixa bank- cash point have large yellow surround-put card in, chose English -pin etc- then other services- at top left is should show- buy event tickets- touch screen to activate- the options come up for Sagrada Familia- it only shows visit at 18-00,but when you chose this option,it then opens up all the times you can visit -chose time then + button to add number of people, you then confirm and it then prints out tickets cost us = £23 for for adults. we booked and visited the same morning,wish I could of told everyone in the long queue how easy it was.
Montserrat- you can get train from Place Espange- there is tourist information desk to help purchase tickets trip cost 24.95 Euros per person -you need to chose if you wish to use cable car or funicular before booking, trains leave every hours starting at 8.36 am,last train back is at 18.08
Only one bad experience on trip,stopped for a drink at a place called TopTapas Le Rambla opposite burger king, we did not look at bar card for drink prices as it was not available on table and we were charged 22.57 Euros for one large beer and one sangria,what a rip off be warned, ask to see drink prices list before buying on rambla,also if you go into a restaurant showing cheap food outside and then are given an expensive menu once inside do ask to see menu for meals shown on board.
On a good note- out of the hotel turn left the restaurant at end of the road by Urgell tube station does fantastic food, the entrecote (steak) was the best steak had for years and hubby had gambas and cod,two large beers and it bill of 28 euros.
still so much to see in Barcelona we will be back.

Room Tip: our room was at back of hotel,looking out over pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stjean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Barcelona.
We are happy that our guests gives their opinion about the gotel and about our service because we try to do it as best as possible.

Thank you again,

Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. The hotel has nice clean and large rooms and is in a decent location (about 2 blocks from the nearest metro station and is just outside the main tourist areas). The area is reasonably quiet in the evenings. My father who is a very light sleeper slept well and that's not always the case. Wifi is free and fast and I love that every floor has a public use computer (I only brought an iPhone and its sometimes good to use the bigger screen).


The Bad: The hotel rooms lack amenities I personally consider as very basic. Our room did not have a flat screen TV (we had a 1990's style 20' box TV), a microwave or coffee maker. While the area is quiet, the rooms could do with a little more sound proofing, we had noisy neighbors one night and we could definitely hear them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Never been to Barcelona so this was pure chance. Looked good on reviews and we were not disappointed. The location was ideal for either walking or Metro. The room was modern and set out well. Staff very helpful not only answering our questions but suggesting alternatives. Definately be back. Barcelona worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you to spend few minutes to give your opinion about our hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona nad we collaborate for that.
I am happy that you got what you expected when you booked the reservation.
I hope to receive your visit again,

Kind Regards,
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

near the metro, nice room, king size bed, nice bathroom, wifi free in the room perfect, excellent service at frontdesk. Parking only convenient for small cars (20euros +tax) pool very convenient after an excursion day

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean-louis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
#233 of 516 in Barcelona
1,617 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Salles Hotel Pere IV
Salles Hotel Pere IV
#280 of 516 in Barcelona
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#152 of 516 in Barcelona
955 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#114 of 516 in Barcelona
1,239 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#199 of 516 in Barcelona
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Address: Villarroel, 106, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#76 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#102 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $67 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining in our restaurant "el 106", a spa and gym, and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. We also offer polyvalent meeting rooms with personalized services to enable enterprises to make their conferences, seminars, and even for cocktails and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona
Acevi Villarroel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing