We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great triple room lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acevi Villarroel
Ranked #156 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
375 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great triple room lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a huge room for the 3 of us...2 beds downstairs with a separate bathroom (no shower downstairs..which was fine since one was upstairs). The extra room was much appreciated. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer...we ate at a great restaurant twice right on the corner of gran via...Guidos...highly recommend.
Breakfast buffet was nice and seemed about average price for a buffet. We would stay here again. Room was cold had to remember to turn off air conditioner several times!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Schus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    369
    117
    32
    28
See reviews for
177
373
36
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked this hotel because of good trip advisor reviews,thank you everyone who left feedback.
Staff all excellent,hotel spotless,rooms tv cd player,mini bar in fridge,good breakfast with fresh coffee machine.
just back from 5 night stay
Nice to have a swimming pool, had two afternoons here resting tired feet.
Slept well during stay,hotel quiet, no noise heard at night apart from odd passing sirens from emergency services.
We would recommend hotel and stay here again.
bus/metro tickets- zone 1 - T-10 cost 9.45 euros- gives you 10 trips either bus/tram/metro anywhere in Barcelona,can be used for 2 people if only short stay just put ticket in machine and pass back for next person to use.
Easy metro links, from bus station nord, red line 1 from Arc de Triomf to Urgell, hotel 5 mins walk from Urgell station. or taxi cost approx 10.00 euros. all taxis have meters
Do try donuts from shop-San Roman left out of hotel -1st left shop is on corner.
Sagrada Familia-Please get tickets before going as waiting time in queue is about 3 hours, you can buy tickets from SERVICAIXA cash machine- leave hotel 1st left -1st left again you can seen caixa bank- cash point have large yellow surround-put card in, chose English -pin etc- then other services- at top left is should show- buy event tickets- touch screen to activate- the options come up for Sagrada Familia- it only shows visit at 18-00,but when you chose this option,it then opens up all the times you can visit -chose time then + button to add number of people, you then confirm and it then prints out tickets cost us = £23 for for adults. we booked and visited the same morning,wish I could of told everyone in the long queue how easy it was.
Montserrat- you can get train from Place Espange- there is tourist information desk to help purchase tickets trip cost 24.95 Euros per person -you need to chose if you wish to use cable car or funicular before booking, trains leave every hours starting at 8.36 am,last train back is at 18.08
Only one bad experience on trip,stopped for a drink at a place called TopTapas Le Rambla opposite burger king, we did not look at bar card for drink prices as it was not available on table and we were charged 22.57 Euros for one large beer and one sangria,what a rip off be warned, ask to see drink prices list before buying on rambla,also if you go into a restaurant showing cheap food outside and then are given an expensive menu once inside do ask to see menu for meals shown on board.
On a good note- out of the hotel turn left the restaurant at end of the road by Urgell tube station does fantastic food, the entrecote (steak) was the best steak had for years and hubby had gambas and cod,two large beers and it bill of 28 euros.
still so much to see in Barcelona we will be back.

Room Tip: our room was at back of hotel,looking out over pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stjean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Barcelona.
We are happy that our guests gives their opinion about the gotel and about our service because we try to do it as best as possible.

Thank you again,

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. The hotel has nice clean and large rooms and is in a decent location (about 2 blocks from the nearest metro station and is just outside the main tourist areas). The area is reasonably quiet in the evenings. My father who is a very light sleeper slept well and that's not always the case. Wifi is free and fast and I love that every floor has a public use computer (I only brought an iPhone and its sometimes good to use the bigger screen).


The Bad: The hotel rooms lack amenities I personally consider as very basic. Our room did not have a flat screen TV (we had a 1990's style 20' box TV), a microwave or coffee maker. While the area is quiet, the rooms could do with a little more sound proofing, we had noisy neighbors one night and we could definitely hear them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Never been to Barcelona so this was pure chance. Looked good on reviews and we were not disappointed. The location was ideal for either walking or Metro. The room was modern and set out well. Staff very helpful not only answering our questions but suggesting alternatives. Definately be back. Barcelona worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you to spend few minutes to give your opinion about our hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona nad we collaborate for that.
I am happy that you got what you expected when you booked the reservation.
I hope to receive your visit again,

Kind Regards,
Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

near the metro, nice room, king size bed, nice bathroom, wifi free in the room perfect, excellent service at frontdesk. Parking only convenient for small cars (20euros +tax) pool very convenient after an excursion day

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean-louis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Traveling with my boyfriend and four other friends throughout Spain and Barcelona was our first stop. Definitely wanted to stay in the gay area, but also wanted to be close to the sites and attractions. This hotel certainly fit the bill. The rooms are comfortable and roomy, but the beds are typically European - two twins pushed together. We were certainly hoping more from the rooftop pool, but it's pretty much a two foot deep wading pool. Oh well, we weren't in Barcelona to hang out at our hotel. Also wouldn't recommend going to Barcelona in August. It's kind of dead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in mid September. The hotel is very convenient for public transport (airport bus, Metro, bus routes) and 15 minutes walk from Las Ramblas. The rooms are modern, large and functional. Beds are large and comfortable, and bathroom is fitted with bath and separate shower. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly, and although the hotel is essentially aimed at business guests they looked after us well.

The only criticism would be that the aicon was either on (and cold) or off, and therefore the room got pretty hot, even in September.

Bottom line is that I would return to this hotel.....a recomendation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRBbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and we hope to get your visit again in the future.

Yours Faithfuly,
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Ako Suite Hotel
Ako Suite Hotel
#163 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#93 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#138 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#84 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Eixample
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Property: Acevi Villarroel
Address: Villarroel, 106 | C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining in our restaurant "el 106", a spa and gym, and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. We also offer polyvalent meeting rooms with personalized services to enable enterprises to make their conferences, seminars, and even for cocktails and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona
Acevi Villarroel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing