We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families with young children”
Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acevi Villarroel
Ranked #133 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We've just had a wonderful break in Barcelona with our 5 and 18 month old girls. The Acvei is in a location that is convenient for walking around the city or catching the metro. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel too. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and really good with the children - no negative reactions when the girls got a bit too excited! Our room was nicely appointed and as it was on 2 levels we had bathroom facilities on both levels. The on site restaurant offered good value for money and were again very family friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sangeeta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

Centally located for major tourist areas. Safe, quiet location. Extremely helpful staff. Great value for the money. Have spent more in Barcelona on accomodation and recieved less!
N.B.As you come out of the hotel if you turn left and walk down towards the metro there is the Balmes cafe cake and savoury pastry shop at No 78 Villarroel. An excellent little cafe with great pastries and teas. Ideal for a quick breakfast or pit stop.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very glad about your comments. We are located in a quiet neighbourhood close to the main tourist areas, and this is one of our advantatge in order to offer a reasonable price giving our best service

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Excellent location in a real neighborhood, 3 blocks from the metro and a nice break from the more touristed parts of Barcelona. Rooms are very clean and nicely appointed with a beautiful bathroom. Had a family room, which was 2 connected rooms and it was perfect. Other reviewers complained that the bathrooms had glass doors - it is frosted glass and you cannot see in. Staff is very helpful when we have questions. Would absolutely recommend it to any friends staying in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JRBShlanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your comments, and we are very happy to know that you would come back in the future. We hope to see you again as soon as possible.

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We enjoyed staying in this hotel. It's 2 blocks from the metro, in a nice neighborhood, with clean, modern rooms. Overall, no complaints, it was a great mid-range/modern option. The smoke detector fell out of the ceiling one night which was strange, but otherwise everything else went smoothly. It has nice bathrooms, good bed, and friendly staff. There's a spa also, but we didn't use it as it cost 10 euros per person. Also had wifi, which worked very well during our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank froufrouBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you to choose our hotel for your stay in Barcelona and thank you for your comments, but we will work to improve our hotel.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank alexandru p
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Lovely hotel 10 mins walk from LA RAMBLAS. Fantastic bathroom, clean rooms and comfortable beds. Adequate 3 course lunch in restaurant 15 Euros at weekends and 10 Euros weekdays and that includes a drink.

Staff in general were efficient and helpful.

Breakfast was great...hot and cold buffet, loads of fruit, pastries etc staff constantly replenished food and juices, no complaints whatsoever.

NEGATIVE - room walls are paper thin and you can hear everything from next door but it didn't really cause us a problem.

If you are visiting FC Barcelona football stadium (CAMP NOU) they sometimes close early on Sundays (2.30pm) so don't get caught out, we managed the stadium tour in 1.5 hours, but there is a lot to see.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool as road side might prove a bit noisy.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PWILBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Front Office Manager at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thank you to spend some minutes to write a review. We are happy that you liked our hotel, but at the same time we will do our best to improve about the things you did not like so much.

Thank you againa and I hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at this very very nice hotel during our trip to Barcelona recently, and were looked after superbly. The staff were so friendly that we were treated as regulars . Ernest and David and the 2 girls at the front desk were excellent. June, the waiter at the restaurant helped us with train and bus routes and best restaurants in Barcelona . His advice on the T-10 tickets was great. We shall always remember him.
The Hotel had bus routes to all parts of the city just outside the front entrence . There was even a train station just 5minutes away -URGELL STATION . Buses went straight to LA RAMBLAS
from the hotel.

The Buffet breakfast was good but could do with a little more variety, although I was very much satisfied with it. My wife had some adventurewith the coffee Machine as it didn't give her the precise coffee she wanted but he's loved the Peach juice every morning. I had smoked salmon on toast every day for starters at breakfast. The waiter at breakfast always had a smile, I forget his name.
The room was large, clean and fantastic, together with the fine bathrooms.
All in all we had a lovely time at the Acevi Villaroell Hotel and when we go back to Barcelona this is the hotel that we shall stay in.
Oh by the way Barcelona was FANTASTIC !!!

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank biusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice comments in this review. We are very happy to know that our hard work is appreciated by our guests, specially when you talk about our treatment to the guest. We put special attention that our staff make the guest feel like at home.
Anyway we take note about the aspects we can improve, like the coffee machine.

Thank you again and I hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
#244 of 519 in Barcelona
1,678 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#99 of 519 in Barcelona
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
#150 of 519 in Barcelona
964 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#196 of 519 in Barcelona
1,222 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#121 of 519 in Barcelona
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Address: Villarroel, 106, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#76 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#98 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $82 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining in our restaurant "el 106", a spa and gym, and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. We also offer polyvalent meeting rooms with personalized services to enable enterprises to make their conferences, seminars, and even for cocktails and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona
Acevi Villarroel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing