We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to expencive not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #185 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This place is not in a bad location but its seems fake to me. For the place i would expect something much better and maybe people are arrogant. rooms neat but i have been in better places with better decoration and service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfang p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your opinion and time invested in it.
I would like to apologize if our decor and service was not to your liking, I invite you to try our Premium or Suite rooms are much more spacious, with reference to the service, highlight just what our guests is the quality and friendliness of our staff .
We hope for a second chance and see you soon with us in any of the Axel Hotels around the world
Yours sincerely,
Jorge Perez
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,515)
There are newer reviews for Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 2,517 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Axel Hotel Barcelona
Nice concept, design and service!
1 minus point of me its that the staff personel of the terras bar can not smyle( happy faces make happy life and the service),
Second point its !Never serv in a luxury hotel a White Wine of 6 euro for the cup in a plastic cup
For te rest I Will Come Back ! Be sure xxxxx

Cristian from Belgium

Room Tip: Just make a booking at this hotel! And you will experience the godness
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Cristian,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona. Also thank you for your opinion and share it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.

On the other hand we apologize for those details that you didn't like such as the cup of wine, but we serve them in a plastic cup to avoid that they break and hurt somebody. What's more by law in all the terraces in Barcelona the cups must be made out of plastic, and here in the Axel Hotel we use the best quality allowed for our guests.

Hope to see you very soon here again with us.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

i have no complains,it is a ,very nice gay hotel.a little bit noise at night.clean rooms.good service. comming back every year. my compliments to galahotels fot my reservation.there was a double booking ,a mistake but they make it in order,next time i book again by galahotels


  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Niels R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We are very glad that you´ve been very comfortable in your stay with us!
We really apreciatte you take your time and give us your opinion.
Your opinion is always welcomed to improve our services.

Hope to see you again very soon in the Axel Hotel Barcelona!


Jorge Perez
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My favorite hotel in my favorite city. Axel Hotel provides excellent room that are clean pleasant and functional . The location is amazing. The staff are extremely professional and very friendly. I have stayed at this hotel 4 times over the last four years and I have never been disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelhelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We are very glad that you´ve been very comfortable in you foiurth time with us!
We really apreciatte you take your time and give us your opinion.
Your opinion is always welcomed to improve our services.

Hope to see you again in your favourite hotel, in your favourite city!

Jorge Perez
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Axel Hotel Barcelona. Nice location centrally located to many attractions. Front desk staff were willing to go above and beyond to make sure we were happy. Roof deck staff was nice. A little slow a little attitude but overall nice. Breakfast was very nice and rooms were nice although bathrooms could use a little updating and repair.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite or get a front facing room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment about Axel Hotel Barcelona. We are pleased that you have stay in our hotel. We strive to provide the ultimate service while maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great hotel & staff which contributed to a fantastic stay at The Axel. Found a good deal via Otel.com which helped. Brilliant location for daytime & evening adventures and there is always the excellent Skybar if you want to stay closer to home & relax by the pool. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for your lovely opinion, it´s very helpful for us. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We provide maximum efficiency in your individual care regarding both quality of our services and accommodation aspects.

Hope to see you back here in any Axel Hotels around the world.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my second visit to Axel Hotel Barcelona. The first time I turned up with my daughter I had no idea that this was a gay hotel and the first thing I noticed was that the reception staff was extremely good looking as were the boys standing behind me. I then saw a notice saying that this hotel had won a prize. I have never been looked after as well in any hotel as here and I travel and stay in many hotels around the world. The staff could not do enough for us and no matter how many trivial questions we had, they were always willing to help, tell us the best Tapas place, which happens to be around the corner, helped us with trains to the beach as we arrived in the middle of a heat wave.
Room was very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was great. Love the music as you walk into the reception and the "Pricilla Queen of the Desert Chairs".
Can highly recommend this hotel for all the above reasons and more.

Room Tip: Our room was to the main road and we heard nothing. I am sure they are all very good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely comment about Axel Hotel Barcelona. We are pleased that you have stay in our hotel. We strive to provide the ultimate service while maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#83 of 513 in Barcelona
686 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#147 of 513 in Barcelona
933 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#46 of 513 in Barcelona
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#142 of 513 in Barcelona
974 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#87 of 513 in Barcelona
1,673 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $129 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing