We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #195 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The standard of this hotel is high. The hotel is clean & the staff are very friendly. I stayed in the Berlin Axel & new what to expect & it lived up to my expectations. The sky bar was closed due to the winter but this didn't stop me from having a good time. It's just a short walk to La Rambla & Pass de Gracia from the hotel which is fantastic to take in some of the views on the way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimmerskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fantastic comments about us.
We really apreciatte you take your time and give us your opinion.
We would like to inform you the upcoming opening of our new project AxelBeach Maspalomas in Gran Canaria island, which will be opened the next 1st of May 2013. The new property will offer the best leisure and service proposals, along with the best outdoor areas and equipment available to enjoy a great holidays and a wonderful weather the whole year.
Thank you in advance
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    737
    363
    190
    114
See reviews for
61
1,105
473
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Axel, our first was not long after it opened. I'm not sure why it's taken so long to return, it's a great hotel in an amazing city. Our (standard) room was spacious, well designed and equipped. Service was friendly and professional at all times. We enjoyed the social network within the hotel, it's not all about sex. In fact we made friends with, typically, a fellow Londoner and it was great to share drinks and tips about the city with him. It was also great to be able to use the Spa at the end of a day's sightseeing before going out for the evening. One minor gripe is that the steam room wasn't working when we were there (they were waiting for a part to fix it). The location is also very convenient and some of Barcelona's best restaurants are nearby. We'll definitely be back

Room Tip: First time we stayed here we had a room at the rear of the hotel which was quiet, but had no view, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rognbrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fantastic comments about us.
We really apreciatte you take your time and give us your opinion.
And we are deeply sorry about the sauna.
We would like to inform you the upcoming opening of our new project AxelBeach Maspalomas in Gran Canaria island, which will be opened the next 1st of May 2013. The new property will offer the best leisure and service proposals, along with the best outdoor areas and equipment available to enjoy a great holidays and a wonderful weather the whole year.
Thank you in advance
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Well, It was only after I'd booked this hotel for a week with my girlfriend that I realised I'd booked a gay hotel. Naturally, we weren't fussed in the slightest - as long as they were happy to have us, which of course, being hetrofriendly, they were. The room we had was huge, had a balcony, decent fridge, aircon, clean marble floor and cleaners that came daily. There is a roof bar & swimming pool which is a nice place kick back in the sun, along with a bar on the ground floor that does killer cocktails. The location is great, about 10-15min walk to the ramblas, great restaurants nearby [ especally 'la flauta', google it & go there], gaudis cathedral takes about 40mins to walk. Everything is within walking distance really, even the beach - just make sure you have comfy shoes. Its such a shame to take public transport in this wonderful city as you miss so much of its architecture & beauty.

Back to the hotel, the staff were very friendly and were more then happy to help you with maps and recommended where to eat etc. Overall, I think the hotel made our trip. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is because the beers on the roof bar were very expensive - but perhaps thats the going rate for a bar that gives you a panoramic view of Barcelona, with a jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Balcony is great for eating take-out, or watching the sun go down with a few beers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olliejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great opinion and thank you for considerer us a wonderful hotel.
And yes we are HETEROFRIENDLY!
We hope see you soon with us!
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

but it wasn't meant to be. The good: Friendly staff, comfortable beds, nice design, perfect location. And now the bad: A sewer odor filled my room on the second of 5 nights. I asked to be moved. Impossible they said until the next morning. They "fixed" the problem the next morning. The odor reemerged 24 hours later. Again, impossible to change rooms (depsite vacancy) in the evening. The next day they moved me. I wish they would authorize the evening staff to make room switches in cases like this.

The showers are inviting, but I had to take two scalding hot showers because I could not get any cold water to come out. Apparently there is a button there that gets jammed frequently. Last but not least, one night just after midnight there was a knock on my door. I opened. The man standing there knew my name but was looking for someone else. A mystery.

Breakfast was 16 euros and was definitely not worth it. There are plenty of options within 50 m of the hotel for a fraction of that price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annapolis21403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for take the time and wrote a comment here, for us is very important for give a perfect service!
We are deeply sorry about the odor in your room, is not normal in our hotel, and our staf make the perfect proceed (we tried to fixed and then we chance the room)
about the man in your room who knew your name...a mistery for us too...
the price of the breakfast is 16€ in the moment, but if you inclued in your reservation or ask in the recepcion in your check in the price is 12€
hope you give us a second chance,
king regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

It's really difficult to write a review for this hotel, because I never had a so bad experience in an accommodation of this level.
Using only few words: a very good level of services for a gay sauna, a very poor level of services for a hotel of this category. So, if you're looking for gay sauna services is the right place to chose.

- we arrived at 11:30 am and room wasn't ready (that's ok, check in is at 2 pm): they told us to come back after 40 minutes; at 1 pm room wasn't ready, they told us to come back after 30 minutes;
- the check in operation is a 20 minutes job, with a lot of never seen check and sum and calculation;
- in general, every kind of operation at the desk requires a lot of patience because they are very slow;
- the "free wifi" is free only for one person and one device, also if you booked a double room (the connection cost 5 euro a day for every device);
- rooms are nice and have high design style (if you don't like no-door bathroom and shower with bedroom view this is not the place for you);
- breakfast is ok, nothing special but ok;
- the hotel has a gay bar in the lobby, always almost empty;
- they rent bikes, but you have to give a 150 euros deposit even if they have your credit card;
- in our room (320) it was impossible to set the right temperature because the ac system sends air only in one zone

Room Tip: internal room are very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marco_mazzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you, again, for send us your opinion and to share in Trip Advisor.
I would like to inform all guest from trip advisor, that you did not sent your comments to our Costumer Service. You sent it to me, and I answered you, all your comments.
Also, I would like to inform that, in our web side it´s very clear all the info about the PACK AXEL BIKE: The package includes:
• Accommodation in our design rooms.
• A bike rental per person for one day.
You made, first a book for AXEL TOUR BIKE, and then you changed for AXEL BIKE.
Also, as I said in my email sent to you, the deposit of 150€ it is the same as many rental cars, or rental scootters, and we must not to charge in your room, because sometimes we had problems in the past that credit cards are denied, so we have preference in cash, again, as a deposit, then we return it to you.
About the terrible service, again I want to apologize to you, as I said in our emails, but the reason it was so slow, it is because you wanted a room a 11 am, and you know, as many hotels, that the time to do the check in is at 14 pm. Anyway we made your check in at 12 as soon as possible. About the Minibar, I am sorry for the ¿30€? or ¿3€? if you did not drink any from there.
About the rest you mention from your room. OK. We are very very sorry if you have unconfortable stay, in your Premium Room. Hope, you like that we did an upgrade to you, for free in a 100% occupancy during your stay for all your "complaints".
As a Manager from Axel Hotel Barcelona, I really apreciatte your constructive criticism.
Thank you in advance.
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

our first time at the axel hotel.. and i must say it was a good and pleasant stay. we stayed at the axel hotel for 4 days.. the hotel staff was friendly and really helpful.. the breakfast was really good. the room was always net and clean.. the bed was really comfortable. all the accommodations like the spa was very good. the fitness room (we did not use but look really great) all with all FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fantastic comments about us.
We really apreciatte you take your time and give us your opinion.
We would like to inform you the upcoming opening of our new project AxelBeach Maspalomas in Gran Canaria island, which will be opened the next 1st of May 2013. The new property will offer the best leisure and service proposals, along with the best outdoor areas and equipment available to enjoy a great holidays and a wonderful weather the whole year.
Thank you in advance
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#72 of 512 in Barcelona
624 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#146 of 512 in Barcelona
949 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#48 of 512 in Barcelona
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#124 of 512 in Barcelona
909 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 512 in Barcelona
4,457 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#32 of 512 in Barcelona
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Property: Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing