We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #217 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Staff were always polite, room clean, reception and massage service very professional and i also liked the gym and spa AND working wifi. BUT there are also so many disgusting let downs, there for this was my first and last visit in this hotel.

After travelling over 2500km, at the end of my workday, to this hotel, i just wanted to eat and sleep. They offer roomservice, so i called...like over 10 times...they did not aswered the phone..
Next day i went to the restaurant to have a lunch. I was the only customer and now i know why. Food is not for human beings, maby for dogs instead.. On day four i did call again to roomservice number and they were answering this time BUT after i made the order they faild to make the delivery,, they just dont care. They also did not care when to breakfest buffet was not ready 30 min after opening in one morning. Thank god i didnt try breakfest card which you can find in the room..other customers said that they faild at this too..did not make the delivery.

Though i get uppgrated to premium room (at the check in ), room was noise and i mean internal noises, toilet keeps running 24/7,very loud plumbing noises, no bidet or toiletbrush., noises from corridors and also you could hear neigbours trough the walls. Noises from the street i dont care.

I usually never complain any of the costs, because why travel if you dont have money to do that, budget travellers can use one or two stars accomondation if needed BUT i expect decent service at least, espessially in a four star hotel.

Please dont promise something to the customers if you cant make it.

Room Tip: International, well known, chain hotel (for example Hilton, Riu, even Best Western), there is a reas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Axel Hotel for your recent stay in Barcelona.
Thank you Also for your opinion.
We are deeply sorry for all the inconvenience that you had with the restaurant services, is not our regular way of working...
I would like to apologize to you, again, for it and hope you can give us another opportunity.
Thank you in advance
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    703
    357
    185
    111
See reviews for
59
1,038
456
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

10 Year veteran to Axel Hotel.... .

I have never seen a hotel loose so much quality over a decade.

- rooms are not aligned with what you expect of a quality hotel
- door-list towards roadside is falling apart
- toilet "flushing" every 10 seconds. ("Fixed" by staff three times.... Second time they said: just turn of the main water supply to the toilet and the noise will go away" WTF????)
- toilet sink was blocked
- towels quality Very LOW... Impossible to dry yourselfe and your body is covered in lint (white strings of cotton) after use. :((((
- alien-like bug on toilet floor...(lepisma saccharina) please Google it and see a nasty creature.
- wall lamp not working
- rooftop terrasse was flowding in waste, bottles and used swimwear!??
- The once free "spa-area" is now 7 euro


All in all signs of a hotel not having their customers as main focus aka a money machine.

Thanks for many good stays... But over the last years its has gone down hill - and for me you have reach the bottom.
Sad :(

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Madsfamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona.
Also thank you for your opinion and share it with all travelers on Trip Advisor.
We are deeply sorry for the toilet flushing and the towels are brand new, that maybe the problem that you felt it wasnt drying...
About the spa as almost all the hotels around the world the spa is a external company and you have to paid apart, but we have some packege that you have it incluied in our web site
Thank you in advance and sorry for the inconvinience
Hope you give us a last chance!
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have just spent 5 nights at the Axel in Barcelona. The staff on reception were all really friendly. Check-in was smooth and hassle free. Yep ok the issue of WiFi only being for one device is a bit of a pain, but other than my key not working on a couple of occasions, there were no problems with my stay here. The hotel is a 'Gay' hotel - marketed as Hetero Friendly, but to be honest, other than the "Please Disturb" room signs .......
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the metro station that links directly to the airport. The main shopping area is about a 15 minute walk away - but you have several nice little places to pass on the way there.
I stayed in a standard room, looking in on the atrium area.
Bottom line ... Good Hotel, Good Location! Lovely little pool on the roof too ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for your great opinion.
We hope see you soon with us again during 2013.
Sincerely,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I experienced a most enjoyable and hospitable stay at the Axel Hotel Barcelona. The rooms were very clean and had all the conveniences that I desire while travelling. The staff made me feel more like family with their concern about my having a wonderful time at the hotel and in Barcelona. The staff members gave me information on using the local transportation and maps that allowed me to visit the main sites that I wanted to see. The staff members also called me by name whick really made me feel special. THANKS to the entire staff for making my first visit to Barcelona so great. When I return, I will definitely stay at the Axel Hotel Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great opinion and for stay with us during your last visit in Barcelona.
Thank you for considerer us a great Hotel with a good service and good and very helpful staff.
Thank you so much!!
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Leu, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very good place to stay but WIFI is only for one device and that wasn't precise before. If you wan to use personnal computer or more device, you must pay 5€ for each.
Breakfast on friday, saturday and sunday were good but for monday you just have the rest : hard bread, croissant...nothing really fresh.
However it's a nice place if you're lucky to be upgrade for premium or suite.
Will come again to this place. Easy to each the main place

Room Tip: WIFI is poor as we had to pay more for another device. no brush in the toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion and thank you for staying with us.
We are very glad that you choose Axel Hotel Barcelona during your visit to Barcelona and we hope to see you soon with us again.
We would like to inform you the upcoming opening of our new project AxelBeach Maspalomas in Gran Canaria island, which will be opened the next 1st of May 2013. The new property will offer the best leisure and service proposals, along with the best outdoor areas and equipment available to enjoy a great holidays and a wonderful weather the whole year.
Best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I was very apprehensive to book a "gay" hotel but when I arrived my worries disappeared. The Axel is a very nice hotel for the price in a great location. It's really a great place to meet other travelers and have a good time in Barcelona. Me and my friends will definitely be back to Axel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizFamJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fantastic comments about us.
We really apreciatte you take your time and give us your opinion.
We would like to inform you the upcoming opening of our new project AxelBeach Maspalomas in Gran Canaria island, which will be opened the next 1st of May 2013. The new property will offer the best leisure and service proposals, along with the best outdoor areas and equipment available to enjoy a great holidays and a wonderful weather the whole year.
Thank you in advance
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent hotel for gay life! It's well located for gay life and well located to visit all the main sites in Barcelona. You can walk and enjoin the local area not so busy of tourist or you can get paseo de gracia and the ramblas very easy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments, we really apreciatte you take your time to wrotte about us in a good position.
We hope to see you soon!
Best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#69 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#144 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#86 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#92 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#52 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#120 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Property: Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#140 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing