We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfull week end in Bcn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #149 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent hotel for gay life! It's well located for gay life and well located to visit all the main sites in Barcelona. You can walk and enjoin the local area not so busy of tourist or you can get paseo de gracia and the ramblas very easy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments, we really apreciatte you take your time to wrotte about us in a good position.
We hope to see you soon!
Best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my second stay in Axel BCN and I am sure that was not the last... I have booked the premium room but have asked for upgrade on arrival. The receptionist offered me fair deal for upgrade into the suite and I accepted it... if comfort is important... do the same... you will get a big room with huge terrace on the 7th floor... see some added picture if you are interested how does it look like...

The receptionists are very very kind and I was really satisfied with their attitude to guests, bed perfect, breakfast rich enough and vary.... Just the waiters in the breakfast room are a bit slow... I dont like breakfast coffe, so I ordered double expresso instead.... OK, it was not necessary to get it in two seconds, but I was a bit annoyed watching waiter talking with collegue for a few minutes instead of serving me espresso first... but thats probably just my problem since the morning is not the best part of my day :) .... But they havent charged this espresso extra and that was a surprise.... normaly hotels charge such "extras"...

The breakfast room which turns into the lunch/dinner restaurant was renovated from my last visit in 2011 and is now really beautiful.... I havent eat anything there, but menues looked good...

And just something.... ground bar was mostly empty in the evening, but it is a nice place to grab for a beer or two before going out or to the bed.... they just should offer more sorts of bear and not just Heineken whis is (sorry my Dutch friends) the worst choice among bears...

Free wi-fi! I like it!

Axel BCN stays my favourite hotel and I will go there again at my next BCN visit....

And one more remark for AXEL people in Berlins's hotel: go & check BCN - they are a lot more "peoplefriendly" ....

Room Tip: 7th floor's suite ofcourse....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelX17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
Thank you for staying with us for a second time! thank you also for giving your support as a guest.
Thanks for using Axel peolpe! is very nice socialmedia!
We hope to see you soon with us!
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just returned from a four night stay. We had booked a standard room but were offered a 10 EUR per night upgrade to a premium room. This was well worth it as the room had a balcony with excellent views, a hot tub, a king-sized bed and was very big. The room was in very good condition and the linens were changed daily (we didn't ask for this). The service at reception was also very good. The location is great, it is near lots of good bakeries and cafes (not many restaurants nearby - worth heading further out for these) and a short walk from the nearest metro station at Universitat. It's an easy, 10 minute, walk to Placa Catalunya and the top of La Rambla. Getting there from the airport was simple and stress free - we got the regional railway (different from the metro) line R2 from the terminal building to Passeig de Gracia then it was a five minute walk along Carrer D'Arago (heading SW) turning left onto Carrer D'Aribau (where the hotel is located). This was 3.00 EUR each way, which is cheaper (and probably) quicker than the aeroport bus. My only negative comment is that the decor is perhaps a bit in your face and borders on being sleazy. That said there hotel has a definite LGBT ethos and the decor matches it well. The overall impression the hotel makes is fantastic and I had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d41k57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great opinion and thank you for your description about our rooms, areas and staff.
Hope to see you very soon back again with us!
Best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We just returned from a week-long stay here. The hotel was great: very quiet, clean, great price, great staff, as advertised: hetero-friendly. If you don't want to explain that to your kids, or parents, you might look somewhere else, though. The location was perfect for us to explore, a couple of blocks from the Metro and many of the Eixample sites. Lots of options for dining in the surrounding blocks, from Michelin Star places to established local spots.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great opinion and thank you also for describe us as a great hotel with a great staff , price and very clean with a great location!
Thank you also for staying with us.
It is very important your opinion and to continue working for an excellent service.
Hope see you soon with us
Sincerely
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

- I reserved this hotel online months in advance, and was originally quoted a rate of 265.00 Euros; I then checked the website again a week before my trip and I was quoted 238.00 Euros. I emailed the hotel and they immediately reduced my rate, which was great.
- My reservation was for November 23rd to 25th - and on the morning of November 23rd I received an email indicating my reservation had been cancelled as my credit card had been declined, which was very stressful as I was on my way to the airport. I promptly called the hotel - and they used the wrong card number. I was issued a new card after I made the reservation. I did contact the hotel and provide the new number, but this was not recorded and they used the old number. I did discuss this with the Front Desk Clerk on arrival. I advised him the hotel needs to review this policy as I did consider booking with another hotel, as there were no shortage of hotel rooms in Barcelona for the period. This is poor customer service, and of course counts as bad.
- The Front Desk Staff were friendly and help; this was good.
- The hotel room was clean, but the towels and bed linen does need to be replaced. The bed linen had small stains and the towels were well worn and two had small holes. This was not good - not quite bad.
- I paid for the spa and used it twice in one day. On my first visit - I was provided with a towel. But on my second visit - I was advised you were only allowed one towel per day. A spa that limits you to one towel a day is really a contradiction to what a spa experience should be. She did end up giving me a towel in the end, but where is the common sense in thinking that a paying customer, to a spa, should be limited to one towel when multiple visits are allowed. Even more so - expecting an out-of-town visitor to bring their own towel. I don't usually travel with towels. This experience was bad - and not what you would expect from an 'exclusive' spa.
- The gym was great - excellent well maintained variety of equipment - and very clean.
- The location was excellent.
- The WiFi in the room was not good - signal was intermittent and low quality.
- Although the staff member was friendly on departure, he did not ask how my stay was. This was bad - as it should be standard for any hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank CityBreakGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion and thank you for staying with us.
We also want to appologize for the inconvenience at the Spa and WIFI signal.
Hope that you give us a second chance and I promise that you will have a so much better experience!
best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Axel is a great place to stay, just a ten minute stroll from Las Ramblas. The staff are really nice and friendly and the hotel is very clean and comfortable. We had a problem witht eh water not draining from the sink which was sorted in quick smart time once we reported it.

The Sky bar is now closed during the winter season which was a shame as we felt there was a lack of atmosphere in the Ground bar and itwould have been nice for more of an opportunity to socialise with other visitors. There is only botteld beer sold in the bar which was also a bit of a let down at 5euros per bottle.

All in all, the Axel is well worth a stay and although our room was facing into the courtyard and was quite small, it was was comfy and quiet.

Room Tip: Try to book a room which is street facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great opinion and thank you for considerer us a wonderful hotel.
We hope see you soon with us!
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

the standard rooms are very little. the other one better but more expensive. nice the shower open to view. it's not only foro homosexual but often for family. the atmosphere is not properly for fmily and visitors must be confused

Room Tip: rooms interior are quite. on the street less
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion and thank you for staying with us.
We are very glad that you choose Axel Hotel Barcelona during your visit to Barcelona and we hope to see you soon with us again.
Best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#87 of 519 in Barcelona
766 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#99 of 519 in Barcelona
1,748 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#132 of 519 in Barcelona
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#162 of 519 in Barcelona
968 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#67 of 519 in Barcelona
3,283 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 519 in Barcelona
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $66 - $768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing