We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Nearby Hotels
$207
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$214
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$242
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$123
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$373
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$334
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$225
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$149
$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$437
$424
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,725)
Filter reviews
2,725 results
Traveler rating
1,231
789
388
200
117
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,231
789
388
200
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgay hotelpremium roomrooftop bargay menstraight couplesfriendly hotelsteam rooman upgradestreet noisesmall balconylas ramblasmetro stationwellnesseixamplestylishneighborhoodnightlife
Filter
Updating list...
1,062 - 1,067 of 2,725 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Having stayed several years ago in this hotel, I returned due to its "making a difference".
While from outside nothing has changed, inside a lot happened. The overall message in advance: It should be called gay friendly, but it is not a gay hotel anymore. Reception/check-in: very nice, quick. Room: Would need renovation: lots of usage tracks can be found, e.g. wallpaper comes off, old dustbin in the bathroom, smell in the room etc. If you book a standard room, you do not even have a bathrobe on your room anymore, even if the hotel calls itself now: "hotel and urban spa". Concerning the spa: I knew the hotel with the gym, sauna and steam on the top-floor. It was great. If you search for it now, you should go to the floor -1. There, you will find "gym and health club 33". This gym and spa is also accessible for non-hotel guests with a membership. As a hotel guest, sauna, steam and indoor-pool are not included in the hotel-room price anymore. Currently, you pay seven euro per day-use. After having paid this price, you can come and go as often as you want on this day. Currently, during the week, it is open from 8a.m. until 11p.m., on weekend, 10a.m. until 11p.m. Actually, the entrance fee must be paid in cash and cannot be booked to your hotel-room. The equipment of the gym and the spa is very nice. But watch out: nudism is not welcome in the sauna, steam and indoor-pool area. The reason which was given to me: it is also accessible for women. Thus, don't forget your trunks. The second time I used it, the manager told me that the hotel-shoes are not allowed inside the spa and I should remove them in advance. All in all: the cruising gets more difficult and it seems more like a very normal hotel now, which also accepts gay people. What a pity as it started out with such a great idea and it became a regular place. Sure, the location is still great. Question is, if it must be this hotel in this area, if many of the typical Axel characteristics are gone. It can be hoped only that Axel will find its way back to its real passion and purpose.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, you should book a room facing the inside yard. Bear in mind that you cannot open the curtains then, because everybody will see you from all other rooms. Standard room does not have a bathrobe in the room anymore. Superior rooms seem much nicer, but also more expensive. Good luck.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion and thank you for your description about our rooms, areas, staff and location.
We are a HETROFRIENDLY hotel, and everyone is welcome!
Hope see you soon with us in any Axel Hotels around the world.
Sincerely
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've seen and slepd in lot of Hotels in Europe (for Business) and was in one way delighted of the Axel hotel, but comparing to it's price (+/- 200 €/night in premium room 31 October till 5 November), I expected more from the room accomodation. The staff is kindly, helpfull, and always with a big smile. Breakfast is perfect, and also the Spa (my houseband had a massage). We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant and this was high-class food - compliments.
But it any way we've enjoyed our staying and will go back, but next time a normal room (I think level price/quality is more honest in the normal rooms).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great opinion and thank you for your description about our rooms, areas and staff.
Thank you so much and hope to see you very soon back again with us!
Best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel's location is superb and it's totally renovated. The day spa is luxurious and the massage services are first class. The rooms were very modern and plush.

Having said that, the service staff was put out every time we asked for help or ordered something. The bartender working the rooftop terrace was especially rude. When they're not blatantly rude, you got the feeling that they were bothered.

If it weren't for the rude staff, I would have given this hotel a 5 star rating. Customer service is poor all over Spain, but it's exceptionally poor at this hotel.

Avoid it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ielshareef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Axel Hotel for your recent stay in Barcelona.
Thank you Also for your opinion.
We are deeply sorry for our Skybar staff, is not our regular way of working...
I would like to apologize to you, again, for it and hope you can give us another opportunity.
Thank you in advance
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Axel again from October 18 to 22, 2012. Our 1st visit was in October 2009. Ricardo at front desk remembered us from our 1st visit 3 years ago. The staff is still superb and the location is very central. The Axel is a winner.

Room Tip: High floor - street view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebucfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion and for staying with us for second time.
We really apreciatte you stayed with us and give us a positive opinion.
We hope to see you soon!!
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A nice hotel in the Gay neigberhoud. We did receive an upgrade because we stayed before in the Axel hotel in Berlin. The room was very nice and quiet with a very nice kingsize bed. The negative comments i do not understand. We had no comments at all. The staff was very helpfull and nice. Service with a smile. The terras on the rooftop was a good place to be, a warm jacuzzi and a swimming pool. Very clean and nice. Breakfast was complete, not overdun but complete. Across the street there is a very nice Greek restaurant Dionisos. Try it and you will see.

Room Tip: Ask a room at the backside of the hotel, you don't have a nice view but also no noise from the streets
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kees R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fantastic comments about us.
We really apreciatte you take your time and give us your opinion.
We hope see you soon in any Axel Hotels.
Thank you in advance
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews