We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sansi Diputacio Hotel
Ranked #415 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Redding, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Do not stay there!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel has only two good points: 1. location and 2. nice lobby - the rest of it was very disappointing.
We came from the airport around 11 am and tried to check-in but we were told to come back at 4 pm. We came back at 4 pm, check-in process was very brief, no explanations about when and where the breakfast is (breakfast was included with our room), nobody offered to help us with the luggage, they gave us a code for the elevator (wth is THAT?!) without explaining how to use it - I had to figure it out myself.
Our room number was 702, we got to the 7-th floor to find out that the actual number by the room door is 602! Of course, we thought it was a mistake and maybe the elevator just stopped at the 6th floor - so, here we are getting into elevator - no, the floor is right, 7th.
Confused, I go down to the lobby again to ask them what is our room number supposed to be and what floor we supposed to be on - and the answer to me is (are you ready for this? ) : "the room 602 is actually 702 and that is your room, 'mam (smiles, smiles)".
OK, we finally got into our room and what a disappointment: the floor (which was actually nice hardwood) is dirty and dusty; the second bed is in a kind of a separate area of the room without a bed stand or lighting near it. Looked like someone hastily set the bed there and forgot the rest of the things.
The closet has no doors and is actually not a closet but a build-in shelves, no hangers to hang your close on.
The refrigerator is well stocked but is warm - not turned off but not working at all! There are flies(!) flying around in the room and a moth's nests on the ceiling. The room had a balcony and when I wanted to open the balcony door I found out there is no handle and it's impossible to open. There was also mold in the corners by the balcony door, both near the floor and the ceiling and the wallpaper coming off. The balcony door glass and the window looked like it wasn't washed since the time it was build.
Now the bathroom - very nice green tiles and actually clean but - the shower area is so dark it is impossible to see if it was clean or not, since the light by the shower was not working! There were no toiletries either, just the soap from the public-bathroom-like dispenser. Is that what a 4 star hotel should be?!
I wanted to look-up a different hotel but - guess what? - the promised free WI-Fee is not working! I looked for the safe (it was advertised on their web page - safe in every room) so I could store my tablet, passports etc. - guess again - NO safe in the room!
Very disappointed I went down to the reception area to ask for a different room, the room I paid for, only to be told that they are overbooked and do not have a different room to accommodate us. I pointed out on all of the things that were wrong with the room and things needed to be fixed like the lights near the shower, the
refrigerator etc. and was told that it is too late ( 6 pm! ) and all will be fixed tomorrow. I asked to speak to the manager and was told that the manager is not here. I asked to speak to anyone in charge and was told that nobody is available. The only thing they were able to do for us is give us 4 hangers for the "closet" - almost like an insult! We were very tired and didn't feel like arguing thinking we'll talk to the manager the next morning.
Well, the next morning came and we found few more things that should have been there but weren't, like the coffee and coffee-making facilities, or the little things like the signs you can use on the door handles when you don't want to be disturbed, oh, and with the daylight the mold could be seen all over the shower tile walls! Breakfast was OK, except for the cold coffee and when we came down to the lobby wanting to see the manager - turned out the manager didn't want to see us - we were told that "she is very busy and will talk to us later". We couldn't wait because we had tours pre-scheduled, but the same thing happened every morning for the 4 days we were there - no manager and the things in our room were never fixed. We didn't even get an apology!
Needles to say, the hotel experience was a huge downside to our vacation. My advise to you - DO NOT STAY THERE!

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank innkakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    191
    152
    102
    89
See reviews for
91
278
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Sansi hotel is a small hotel in a very good location.
the room was very clean, tidy and well Equipped.
fluffy big towels waited for us every day. warm water were available any time of the day.
The staff was warm, Fluency in English and very welcoming.
Even breakfast was Satisfactory
I highly recommend this hotel despite Previous Reviews.

Room Tip: our room on the 3rd floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sigalit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looked nice enough from the outside, the first disappointment was when we tried to check in and they said we should come back at 4pm! Anyway, we come back at 4, go to our room and find a bed with hair on it, badly laid sheets and full of stains! The bathroom was also hideous, mould between tiles, sink didn't drain the water quickly. We thought it was just bad luck and asked to change our room. The new room looked better but when we looked at the bed, same situation! Stained sheets, stained pillowcases! The curtains also stained and torn! We simply walked out and will never set foot at that hotel even if they pay me.
Their having four stars is obviously a joke.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stelios76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was there with my friends last week , the loaction of the hotel is perfect just in the middle of everything. A lot of restaurants near it and shopping places like zara h and m and a lot more ... rooms were clean and comfortable . The staff were really helpful and friendly. The only problem was the internet connection(wifi) it was really very poor! the signal was always poor and very slow ! If ur planning to go on a break from internet go for this hotel! perfect

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donadondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was there summer last year and I thought the rooms were good, not very big but they were comfortable, and the location is good, you could go easily walking to a lot of places. The staff were nice to us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were at this hotel last week. Hotel with a very bad service.do not book this hotel in any way!!!
Dirty and moldy hotel.The hotel has two Asian girls.They dont know how to face customer service.Lights do not work in the rooms and the bathrooms, dust, insect nests everywhere and dampness in walls.Deficient service!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Haim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Dirty room with glue stains and dust all over bathroom. Room itself was more like a tiny wooden box with window looking into well (that is so called Spanish "City view"). Very slow WiFi connection, no basic toiletries in bathroom. Be aware about VERY late check-in after 4 pm, might be unexpected and inconvenient like happened to me when arrived 1.30 pm.

Also kind of strange over attention at entrance from hosts and reception which are doing them self quite hard (good) and at the same time it is absolute and complete mismatch to room quality after that ...
What is the point to over welcome quests if the rooms are crap?? People are coming to hotels not for chat but for clean room and good sleep, better clean rooms properly than practice in quest brain washing.
Wouldn't stay same hotel again, plenty hotels around for same money and better quality.

Room Tip: if you want to complain about that hotel, ask at reception for "Full official de reclamacio&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Zenit Borrell
Hotel Zenit Borrell
#321 of 513 in Barcelona
524 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars Cristal Palace
Eurostars Cristal Palace
#361 of 513 in Barcelona
852 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#434 of 513 in Barcelona
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
HCC St. Moritz
HCC St. Moritz
#259 of 513 in Barcelona
476 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#337 of 513 in Barcelona
33 reviews
Eixample
HCC Taber
HCC Taber
#289 of 513 in Barcelona
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sansi Diputacio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sansi Diputacio Hotel

Property: Sansi Diputacio Hotel
Address: C/ Diputacio 234 - 236, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sansi Diputacio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sansi Diputacio is located in the heart of Barcelona, in the Eixample district. This area is known for being quiet, modern and elegant. Noted for its modernist architecture, extensive range of restaurants, for its prestigious boutiques located one block from Paseo de Gracia, where two of the most emblematic works of Gaudi, such as Casa Batllo and La Pedrera. The hotel is located just five minutes from downtown, the famous Gothic Quarter, the Cathedral, the Picasso Museum and Las Ramblas. Also, being in the heart of the city, has an excellent accessibility, since only five minutes away are three tube stations (Pl. Catalunya, Ps de Gracia, Pl. University) and two railway stations (Square Catalonia and Ps de Gracia). For customers who come in the AVE Sants Station is three subway stops ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sansi Diputacio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sansi Diputacio
Sansi Diputacio Barcelona
Sansi Diputacio Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing