We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sansi Diputacio Hotel
Ranked #452 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor maintenance”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for long weekend. Although the hotel is renovated, and everything is new – our room (and others) had leakage. One day was without hot water. Staff was friendly but useless with regards to travel advice. Overall I got the feeling these hotel doesn't try to aim high. Breakfast was reasonable. The only upside is the location – great spot to explore old city as well as other parts – 5 minutes' walk from Catalunya square.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oridx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    197
    157
    111
    98
See reviews for
97
291
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am by far no means fussy with hotels as they are just usually used as a base for exploring.
I am glad that I was not expecting much from this hotel or I would have been disappointed!

When we arrived thought hotel was clean and modern and attractive, room was also nice, however opened the mini bar to find half eaten items which reception tried to charge us for at check-out!

Cannot complain about cleanliness of hotel, rooms were cleaned daily and spotless...slightly annoyed me that the cleaner would open our window after cleaning as it was very hot outside and I imagine was open all day while we were out and made small room very warm, air con did not work, also the glass door for bathroom has quite a gap underneath it so if you/partner are taking a shower, the rooms get unbearable hot and are not well ventilated at all.

My partner and I paid for breakfast, went first morning, basic, warm items were cold no coffee or orange juice left at 8am..didnt bother going again

Bar downstairs was never staffed, enquired about having a drink at reception but she said she was too busy to work the bar.


Pros: excellent location, on quiet street, 5 mins walk to Catalunya square around 10 from Las Ramblas, friendly staff, left luggage facility, late check out facility, clean

Cons: stuffy small rooms,very poor breakfast, half used mini bar.

OVERALL: this hotel did not ruin our 4 night trip to Barcelona loved every minute for it, if looking for good location and place to rest your head but NOTHING more then this is fine, DO NOT BOTHER PAYING FOR BREAKFAST though

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _holidays_1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

While we have never had such exceptional assistance from the front desk staff in a hotel as we had here, at this price point it did not make up for the risky lukewarm or cold breakfast items that should have been hot (meat, eggs), the cloying, overwhelming rose scent pumped into the halls and public spaces. The hotel is clearly wearing around the edges but that could be overlooked given the exceptional staff if it weren't for the high price point and aforementioned shortcomings. Really unfortunate that such dedicated and helpful staff are not in a hotel that merits their exceptional service skills. I'd hire anyone of the front desk staff in a second. I would have rated the rooms and sleep better if I hadn't been ill from the overwhelming heavy and constant strong smell of roses, roses, roses, roses.

Room Tip: If you have allergies, stay away from the nauseating smell of rose perfume or freshener. Not a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed at the Sansi Diputacia hotel in Barcelona march 13:th to March 18:th 2013, and it was not a good experience!
We are a couple of about 45 years of age, and well behaved non smokers.
In the ranking it see itself as a 4 star hotel, but in reality it is a 2 star at the most.
First, no check-in before 17.00.
The room we got first was ice cold, and the air condition was not possible to controle, the thermostat on the wall was apparently just for On or Off...there was no functionality to control the temperature.
We moved to another room, where the air condition did not work at all, but the heating was on constantly (we notices this later).
It was not possible to open a window as the handles on the only window in the room had been removed. When asking about getting a handle to open a window with, we were told that is was impossible because "you could throw something out of the window, or smoke in the room, so it is not allowed to open the window"!!!?
We were offered that one of the hotel staff could follow us to the room, open the window and the stay there until it was time to close the window again!
Needless to say, we did not take this offer as it was late and we wanted to go to bed.
So, a hotel room with no ventilation...not good when you have taken a shower. We ended up having to keep the door to the corridor open to get some ventilation into the room when possible.
Other things that did not work was the WiFi (the hotel markets that they offer free WiFi), but as said - not working!
We wanted to have a glass of wine in the bar, but at first they could not find a corkscrew, and when they found one they did not know how to use it, so I had to open the bottle myself!? You might think I am making this up, and believe me, I wish I were, but i is totally true!
The breakfast did not have enough cops and plates, so if you were late (that is to say that 20 persons had eaten before you) you had to wait until someone did the dishes before eating.
In the breakfast room there was a leak in the ceiling making water tribble onto the floor. This leak was there our entire stay.

I cannot recommend the Sansi Diputacio in Barcelona to anyone looking for a better accommodation than, maybe at tops 2 stars!!
Stay away and chose another hotel for a good stay!

Regards!
Michael and wife
Sweden

Room Tip: Stay away if you expect a accommodation better than a 2 star hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for several nights in this beautiful hotel. Sansi Diputacio is a modern hotel, has a nice and friendly staff and the breakfast is tasty. In a short time you can walk into the center of Barcelona and even to the harbour. The hotel is very close to the famous Ramblas. We'll come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is very well located, 5 minutes walking from placa catalunya, la rambla, a metro station and Gaudi's Casa batillo. in the city center.
we stayed there for 3 nights - bed and breakfast.
the staff helped us in every way they could. the shower, room and sheets were clean.
breakfast wasn't varied and not so tasty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just a few minutes from Plaça de Catalunya in a quiet street, this hotel is an ideal starting point for your Barcelona weekend trip. We walked everywhere, but you can use public transport easily and get from and to airport from P/de Catalunya, or get on a Tour Bus from there. There are quite a few places to eat and sights near by, so if you are there for a few days only, it is a good place to stay. Our room on the 3. floor was ok, quiet, spacious, beds quite comfortable, it was reasonably priced. One does not need much more.

Bathroom featured a few strange details (see pictures), perhaps not only in our room: does not have a fan, the door cannot be shut (a swing-door, like a saloon) and is see-through (!), the shower spray wall is on the wrong side of the bathtub (!) so it does not perform its function, and the toilett is badly planned, too - when you want to sit down, the toilett-paper roll holder digs in your side.

Room Tip: Third floor was good, even facing the street. Since it was cold, we did not ask them to unlock the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaGlBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Zenit Borrell
Hotel Zenit Borrell
#316 of 513 in Barcelona
538 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#473 of 513 in Barcelona
454 reviews
Eixample
HCC St. Moritz
HCC St. Moritz
#266 of 513 in Barcelona
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Eurostars Cristal Palace
Eurostars Cristal Palace
#368 of 513 in Barcelona
873 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
#296 of 513 in Barcelona
740 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#256 of 513 in Barcelona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sansi Diputacio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sansi Diputacio Hotel

Property: Sansi Diputacio Hotel
Address: C/ Diputacio 234 - 236, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sansi Diputacio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sansi Diputacio is located in the heart of Barcelona, in the Eixample district. This area is known for being quiet, modern and elegant. Noted for its modernist architecture, extensive range of restaurants, for its prestigious boutiques located one block from Paseo de Gracia, where two of the most emblematic works of Gaudi, such as Casa Batllo and La Pedrera. The hotel is located just five minutes from downtown, the famous Gothic Quarter, the Cathedral, the Picasso Museum and Las Ramblas. Also, being in the heart of the city, has an excellent accessibility, since only five minutes away are three tube stations (Pl. Catalunya, Ps de Gracia, Pl. University) and two railway stations (Square Catalonia and Ps de Gracia). For customers who come in the AVE Sants Station is three subway stops ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sansi Diputacio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sansi Diputacio
Sansi Diputacio Barcelona
Sansi Diputacio Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing