We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Jazz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Jazz
Ranked #41 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

If you want a comfortable, centrally located hotel in Barcelona, then the Hotel Jazz is for you. It's minutes from Las Ramblas, but far enough away to be reasonably tranquil. One or two reviews here have mentioned the rumble from the metro - it's true, you can hear it but I'm a light sleeper and it didn't bother me at all (even though our room was on the second floor), so don't let that put you off. It's really not a problem.

The rooftop pool is very special indeed, and the staff incredibly helpful and friendly - we arrived before 10am and they still let us check in and go straight to our room.

As with many modern hotels it's a tad soulless - I wouldn't go there on a honeymoon. But it's the perfect base to explore a great city,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,659
    1,476
    170
    28
    19
See reviews for
677
2,287
157
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Firstly, what a fantastic location. Far enough away from Plaza Catalunya so that it is more relaxed but near every conceivable mode of public transport (Airport bus, metro, city buses).

The pool served as a bonus where you can dip in and cool off when exploring the city becomes too hot. It does however become quite crowded as it is more of a dipping pool.

The negatives would have to be the quite thinly walled rooms and also the rumble from the metro/underground. We were on the top floor (7th) facing the courtyard which meant traffic noise was non existent but the rumble from the metro was still audible. On the lower floors I am sure this could be quite intrusive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinezos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We had 3 rooms at Hotel Jazz Sept 2 & 3, 2010. Even before we arrived at Hotel Jazz they were providing assistance to us. I had contacted them about Car Services while on board a cruise ship. They provided an excellent recommendation for the Car Service. Once we arrived at the hotel (well before the 3PM check in) they were ready for us with our rooms. They provided us with a map and easy directions for local sight seeing. We were very happy with the qualify of the 3 rooms, the price was well worth it, rooms were clean, comfortabble and a couple blocks from Las Ramblas. Everyone in our party was happy with this hotel and it's location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel82010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Fab hotel, great location, lovely pool, gorgeous quiet, clean & modern and sound-proofed rooms. Only 2 minutes from Universitat metro stop, and only 5 mintues from Placa Catalunya metro stop (and airport shuttle bus stop too). Lovely pool and friendly, helpful staff. A drink at the pool won't cost you the earth either. Hotel is on a street with nice shops (Zara, Sephora, Massimu Duti, Mango, Women's Secret, numerous shoe shops, Starbucks) and at the end of the street (at Placa Catalunya) is Cafe Zurich - a good place to start your day with a coffee and snack and watch world go by....Would highly recommend Hotel Jazz and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Jazz was a pretty good hotel- not thrilled with the decoration though....trying a bit too hard. Good location and friendly staff!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed for seven nights this July and found the hotel ideal for our needs. It isn't the kind of place where you're met with an effusive welcome, but the staff are friendly and helpful when called upon, otherwise you are left in peace. We had a large, very clean room with pleasant modern design (aircon, minibar, safe, shower all worked well). I asked for a room on the top floor when booking and would recommend doing this - there were no problems with noise or vibration from the subway or street.

The hotel is well located - much of what you will want to see is within walking distance, and there is a handy stop for the excellent Barcelona metro system nearby at Universitat.

We had a deal where the breakfast buffet was included. This was a solid if unsensational offering and a very sensible way of fuelling up before a hard day on the pavements of Barcelona. Good also for late risers as service is until 11am.

If you want to stock up on wine / beer / water / snacks for your room cheaply rather than paying minibar prices, there's a handy little shop with a friendly owner on Carrer de Gravina very close to the hotel, and they are open until 10pm.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_hungry_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights , but wish it had been longer . It is perfectly placed , very central , a five minutes walk to the Ramblas and the main square , where all the buses can be found . Its a 10 minute ride from the airport by public bus , which stop outside the doors of the airport and about six stops later , the hotel ,the stop is two minutes away from hotel so dont bother with taxis .
The hotel is just behind the main square but tucked up a small side street so is central but quiet . Check in was swift and professional and our room was just perfect , Boutique style , practical and clean .
We didnt bother with breakfast which to us seemed overpriced , so we popped across the road to the little cafe , authentic , cheap and a lovely atmosphere .
We did venture up to look at the roof top pool , which was small but perfectly formed and fantastic views across the city ,a little oasis in a busy city .
I would stay here again without doubt , it was safe , friendly and was that perfect special treat breakaway with my husband without the kids . Barcelona is a fabulous city , cant wait to return and this hotel would be my first choice again .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,370 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,801 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Property: Hotel Jazz
Address: Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable location in the heart of Barcelona, between Plaza Catalunya, Paseo de Gracia, and the famous Ramblas, has made Hotel Jazz into one of the city’s most cosmopolitan hotels.A magnificent outdoor pool and a spacious terrace make the hotel a unique and spectacular spot for relaxing in the city center, and grant guests easy access to the city’s historical attractions and Gaudí’s modernist architecture throughout the neighborhood of the Eixample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jazz Barcelona, Catalonia
Jazz Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing