We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked my stay”
Review of Hotel Jazz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Jazz
Ranked #43 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Really liked my stay”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Right in the center of everything, but on a relatively quiet corner. Very nice boutique hotel. Friendly check in, protected elevators, nice room, spacious bed, good bathroom and fast & well working free Wifi. Good airport connection by bus. Only stayed one night, but will come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maurikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,684
    1,482
    171
    29
    19
See reviews for
683
2,305
159
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Hotel Jazz is clean and modern located in a very nice and quiet area of Barcelona. The room was efficient and provided all the amenities necessary for our stay. Including: plenty of storage, an in-room safe large enough for our iPad, and a refrigerator stocked with drinks to purchase, but also had enough room for our personal items. The bathroom was stocked with shampoo, soap and sponge, toothbrush and razor (which I really appreciated since who knows where mine was … keep reading).

We took the Aerobus for €5,90 per person. Make sure to get off a Plaza Universitat-Pelai because it‘s only 50 yards from the hotel. USAirways lost my luggage so I was not a happy camper when I arrived at the hotel. The hotel staff was awesome and told me this happens quite a bit and what to expect. They told me where I could find some clothing stores. Fortunately I found H&M and Pull&Bear near Plaça de Catalunya which has affordable clothing. My luggage showed up two days later and just one day before our cruise. Lessons learned - wear the most comfortable shoes on the flight, cross pack some clothes in each others luggage, or just deal with less and take a carry on.

The hotel staff was very helpful in assisting us on how to make phone calls, providing directions to the cruise ship bus, restaurants suggestions and other information. They spoke excellent English.

Plaça de Catalunya is the central meeting place in this neighborhood and is just two blocks from Jazz. It’s at the top of the La Rambla. Here is where you can catch the Hoho Bus. I highly recommend you get the two day pass to see everything and to rest your feet. Also there is a bank lobby ATM where you can get euros. It has an armed guard and no pick pockets. It’s also very easy walk from the hotel to Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria, Mirador de Colón (where you catch the Blue Bus to the cruise ships), Casa Batlló, Casa Milà, Palau de la Musica Catalana.

There are lots of restaurants and food stores close by Jazz. Just around the corner we had a delicious Spanish pizza topped with Iberian ham. Down the street towards Plaça de Catalunya is an organic food restaurant that serves excellent pasta dishes and a yummy apple pie. We tried two different Tapas restaurants and were not impressed. Just not the dining experience for us. Tapas are way overpriced in my opinion . However we did discover Spanish almonds at one of the Tapa places and they are amazing. Nothing at all like almonds in the USA. We did Marta's Private Paella Cooking Class (see review) and loved the paella. There are plenty of other food choices in Barcelona.

The hotels roof top pool and lounging area is a nice relaxing outdoor spot. Take a bottle of wine or cava and enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ti2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great location in the heart of the city. Rooms very clean and rather large. Staff very friendly. At times the satellite TV had no signal, but we were there to see the city not watch TV, no English stations. The pool on the roof has nice city view. Staff was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel definitely deserves a higher star classification than the 3 star rating it currently enjoys - a sentiment shared by all the parties (11 in all) who travelled in my group. My triple corner room, was large and spacious and had an equally spacious bathroom which had a shower and a bath - a first for me. Breakfast was divine - a lovely spread and very varied. The location is prime and the hotel smells good enough to eat. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a triple, 711 is very spacious. It would even fit 2 adults and two childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelaSreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Heights, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I walked everywhere and Hotel Jazz is about a central as you can get. Clean, modern. Quick walk to Las Ramblas and also good restaurants in Eixample. Tube stations right there is you want to do public transport.

Good breakfast buffet. I will definitely stay here again when I come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Jazz for several days at the end of our cruise. We found the hotel to be very pleasant, clean and the staff were very polite. The location was in walking distance to the Placa Catallunya and Las Ramblas as well as several other notable sights and many good restaurants. The rooftop pool and lounge area were a nice diversion after a hectic day in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Great location, quiet but central. Staff very helpful and friendly, great recommendations for tapas bars and restaurants. Fab roof terrace with a pool , sunbeds, and a bar, a great place for a siesta. Wewill stay here if we come to Barcelona again.



  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ali O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 513 in Barcelona
4,408 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,845 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 513 in Barcelona
3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,114 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Property: Hotel Jazz
Address: Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable location in the heart of Barcelona, between Plaza Catalunya, Paseo de Gracia, and the famous Ramblas, has made Hotel Jazz into one of the city’s most cosmopolitan hotels.A magnificent outdoor pool and a spacious terrace make the hotel a unique and spectacular spot for relaxing in the city center, and grant guests easy access to the city’s historical attractions and Gaudí’s modernist architecture throughout the neighborhood of the Eixample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jazz Barcelona, Catalonia
Jazz Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing