We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Jazz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Jazz
Ranked #42 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed in this hotel at Easter for 4 nights. We stayed in a standard double room. The bed was huge and the room was very spacious. Everything was very clean and there was a mini bar with cold drinks and snacks. The bathroom was modern and clean and they go the extra mile when it comes to making sure you have all the toiletries needed in a little presentation box in case you forget something.
Our room was high up and facing out onto the street. The room had a patio style door with a balcony rail to keep you safe. Bear in mind this is a city hotel ... you are not going to get stunning views but I liked watching/listening to the hustle and bustle of the city. There is a cracking pool and rooftop terrace with views over the city. However, when we went up, there was no staff or open bar area to obtain a drink. The hotel bar is on the first floor! Maybe we were too early in the season but I think they are missing a trick here!
The hotel is very secure your key card operates the lift as well as your room which prevents strangers getting past reception. Its location is spot on for getting around. It is a two minute walk down the street to the to of La Rambla and the main metro station.
Plan to go back to Barcelona and will look to stay here again.
A taxi from the airport is €30-35.

Room Tip: If you don't like too much noise get a room higher up but the main street view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,698
    1,494
    172
    29
    20
See reviews for
690
2,318
159
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location is excellent. Close to the metro, an easy walk to most attractions in the city and some excellent restaurants close by. The rooms are large and spacious, we had a standard Jazz Room. Excellent air conditioning, quiet and cold. Good double glazing for a quiet sleep. A very large bathroom by European standards. A shower over the bath. A large work bench in the bedroom for spreading out the paperwork. King size bed with large pillows. The breakfast was good. You can ask for an omelette, as well as the buffet selection. Can also ask for espresso coffee if you don wan a pot. Roof top terrace and pool excellent place to relax, meet friends an have a drink at the end of the day. This hotel really does deserve to be more than three stars.

Room Tip: We had room 717. Quiet and spacious at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akurafarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, IL
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had high expectation from previous reviews, and recommendations on Cruisecritic as well. Unfortunately the hotel did not live up to them. The rooms are dark, as are the bathrooms, and they are not large, as is typical in all of Europe I guess. And the usual shower without an adequate curtain, so the whole bathroom gets wet when you shower. The quality of the toiletries was less than expected, with everything wrapped in individual cellophane packages - ? The location is fairly close to La Rambla, but there weren't many restaurants very close. My main dissatisfaction was with the staff. They were generally unhelpful and I felt I was bothering them to even ask a question. There was a woman working during the day who was rather abrupt and never cracked a smile. There was a young man in the evening who was a little more personable and helped us with metro directions. Our other hotels gave us maps of the city on check in and offered suggestions. We were checking out when we heard another couple asking about discounts on the Hop On Hop Off Bus and found out (two days too late) that they sold tickets with a discount! We had a late flight out so spent some time in the lobby after sightseeing during the day and there was a man (a guard perhaps) who kept walking by and looking at us; I felt unwelcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Everything that everyone else says is so true. We loved our stay here. Very comfortable, quiet and well appointed. I too am surprised it is only 3 stars. Access by bus from airport works well except we did get a bit disorientated in finding it. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice-109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a modern Hotel located near Placa Catalunya and the head of La Ramblas. The rooms were spacious, clean and the hotel is well cared for. Staff were very helpful and there is a lovely pool and bar on the roof.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had a two night stay here prior to our cruise and we have nothing but praise for this hotel. The first plus is that it's easily and cheaply accessible from the airport. After picking up your bags just follow the signs outside the terminal to the Aerobus stop. The machines to buy a ticket weren't accepting our cards so we paid at the Aerobus stand in front of where the bus picks you up. Around 6 Euros per person gets you to the Placa de Catalunya in 20-30 minutes. We turn off all our cell phone data abroad so we didn't have Google maps to navigate to the hotel from there. Just use Google street view prior to going there to orient yourself and it's just a 5 minute walk to the hotel and easy to find.

The second thing this hotel has going for it is location. It's a short walk back to Placa de Catalunya where you can explore La Rambla and the Gothic Quarter on foot. We opted for the hop-on-hop-off bus to see everything else since we had such little time there. The hotel has plenty of food options nearby and a little grocery store across the street that's open 24 hours for food and supplies. So don't buy a soda at the bocadillo joint next to the hotel since they charge around 2.40 Euros. Get your water and soda from the grocery store and you'll save yourself some money.

Third, the hotel is clean, spacious, and modern. Big thumbs up for the wood floors. Our room opened up to the street which had negligible street noise. Always had a good night's sleep during our stay. The only knock is that when we arrived in the afternoon we heard what sounded like construction noises coming from the walls. Heard it from the lobby upon arriving as well. It was intermittent and did not occur in the evening or morning but it may be something you hear during the day. Not a huge issue for us though. We also discovered the rooftop pool and bar after returning from a day of sightseeing on our first night. The bar is open until 0200. We ordered some drinks and sat down to enjoy the view. The staff brought out some complimentary hummus which was a much appreciated treat. Didn't try the wi-fi on the roof but it's free and the signal was pretty strong in our room.

Not a cheap hotel but you get what you pay for in room quality, location, and ease of access. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onwi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hotel Jazz is marketed as a three star hotel. I found it to be much closer to a four star in terms of service and facilities. I had to cancel a night off my original booking, which I was able to do via the hotel website with no penalty charge (about a week before my stay). Reception staff were very quick to answer emails, with excellent English.

Location wise Jazz is five minutes away from Las Ramblas and Placa de Catalunya. Our party had two rooms on the 2nd and 5th floors respectively. Neither room seemed to be disturbed by noise, unlike other central city hotels I've seen.

Transport wise the metropolitan was quick, cheap and easy to use and Hotel Jazz is literally metres away from a station. I was attending a conference for the first part of my stay, at the forum, about 20-25 minutes away from the city centre. Rather than stay out of the central city I travelled in and out each day which was pretty effortless. Travelling in from the airport is easy, by private taxi was 30 euro one way. There is also an airport bus that stops at the Placa de Catalunya a few minutes walk away. This is a busy area so those with lots of luggage might struggle with this option.

The room (a standard double) itself was very spacious, clean with up to date decor and easy to work aircon. There was a reasonable wardrobe space for two people staying a week. The bed was marketed as a King but was two singles placed together, with separate sheets. It was very comfortable to sleep on but I found myself falling down the crack between the beds one night. Bathroom facilities were excellent with generous bench space and a shower over bath. Toiletries were generous and adequate quality. The heated towel rail seemed not to work, but given that it was 30 degrees celsius outside this wasn't an issue.

We didn't breakfast at the hotel since it seemed rather expensive. There are many cafes/restaurants with a short walk so it was easy enough to eat out, for all meals.

There is a rooftop terrace with a small pool (not for serious swimmers, just for a quick dip!) and lots of comfy poolside chairs. The bar staff were friendly and made awesome drinks.

Referring to the title - this place is not cheap, but not much in central barcelona is in summer. I have stayed at four star hotels that have had worse facilities - I would return to Jazz quite happily.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor for the views and longer sunlight hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Endlesstraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#25 of 512 in Barcelona
4,455 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 512 in Barcelona
3,885 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#79 of 512 in Barcelona
3,870 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,740 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Property: Hotel Jazz
Address: Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable location in the heart of Barcelona, between Plaza Catalunya, Paseo de Gracia, and the famous Ramblas, has made Hotel Jazz into one of the city’s most cosmopolitan hotels.A magnificent outdoor pool and a spacious terrace make the hotel a unique and spectacular spot for relaxing in the city center, and grant guests easy access to the city’s historical attractions and Gaudí’s modernist architecture throughout the neighborhood of the Eixample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jazz Barcelona, Catalonia
Jazz Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing