We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with an added extra”
Review of Hotel Pulitzer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer
Ranked #107 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is 2 minutes walk from all of the action. Had a small double room. Asked for a room at the back as had read comments about noise. The room I had was in the centre of the hotel room 416. It was quiet but had a view of another room and an extraction pipe. But nevertheless the quiet location meant that I could open the balcony doors without being subjected to the street noise. Bed was really comfortable. Breakfast good. Roof terrace an absolute must. A real haven.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Nic4211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor!
I'm really happy to read that you found the bed so comfortable. We take this issue very seriously. Sleeping tight is really a must in a hotel!
I'm also glad to see that you enjoyed the rooftop garden terrace! It's really unique.
Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Blanca Quintana
Hotel General Manager
bquintana@grhoteles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

I really liked this place. I booked it strictly as a last night place to stay on my way back from San Sebastian, with an early morning flight to catch out of Barcelona for the states, so I didn't really have much time to savor it (I got in around 10:30 p.m). But the service was very friendly, the room was terrific, and the rooftop bar was worth the price of admission (extremely hopping at midnight and beyond). I wish I'd had more time to spend here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HooferNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear HooferNewYork,
Thank you for your nice review!
We do hope that you'll have the chance of coming back again to Barcelona and stay with us during a longer stay!
Please do not hesitate to contact me. I'll be more than happy to arrange your booking.
Best regards and muchas gracias!

Blanca Quintana
Hotel General Manager
bquintana@grhoteles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had three nights here. The hotel presents very well but our room number 215 was very small. Barely any space at foot and one side of the bed. We had to leave a suitcase on the only armchair in room and place another dining type chair on a cupboard to place a second suitcase on the floor. As this was in front of the mini bar cupboard which housed the safe, we had to move the suitcase aside each time we needed to use the cupboard and leaving only the bed to sit on.
This was booked as a standard room, however, we did pay over $300AUD/night.
Lovely bathroom and toiletry products are very nice.
Very smart lounging space and bar area. on ground floor.
The hotel is particularly well located, being only 50 or so metres from the Placa de Catalunya, shopping, transport and restaurants.

Room Tip: Would recommend but do check on room size for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Fran,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community!
I'm glad that you liked the hotel overall. I'm sorry that you found your room too small.
Should you ever wish to come back, whether to the Pulitzer in Barcelona or the ones in Paris or Buenos Aires, please do not hesitate to contact me. We'll do our best to offer you a bigger room!
Best regards and muchas gracias!

Blanca Quintana
Hotel General Manager
bquintana@grhoteles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had decided to be in Barcelona for 3 days (a long weekend) end of june.
We booked a room for 3 nights at the hotel Pulitzer
We were not disappointed.
The hotel is very centrally located, 200 meters from the Catalunya plaza.
It is modern and very clean. The design is interesting.
The room (205) clean, well soundproofed and air conditioned.
Good bedding. Beautiful bathroom.
However the shower is a bit dark.
Breakfast excellent.
The staff is at your service. Maybe a little cold but very professional.
I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had the 205.... excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clisson Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Mr Clisson,
Thank you for your review!
I'm really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Pulitzer!
We look forward to welcoming you back again with us, whether at the Pulitzer Barcelona or at any of our other Pulitzer properties in Paris and Buenos Aires.
I will be more than happy to help you arrange your booking.
Merci, thank you!

Blanca Quintana
Hotel General Manager
bquintana@grhoteles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is our 2nd stay in this boutique hotel just off of Placa Catalunya and Ramblas, its so central it makes for a very easy going stay in Barcelona. The free WIFI is useful.

We found the reception staff were very helpful and spoke good english, as you'll find most of Barcelona do. They confirmed our request of a large bed with a bath and directed us to our room on the first floor.

The rooms aren't massive but are a good size compared to other hotels we've stayed in. We got a balcony at the front, this was very nice and it was good to get outside and people watch in the fresh air.

The bathroom itself had a bath with overhead removable shower, large sink, a hair dryer and of course toilet. It came with towels of all different sizes from floor, hand, face and bath towels and toiletries for your stay which is a nice touch.

We visited the Roof Top Bar twice, its small but very nice up there although a tad expensive, but you pay for what you get and we felt it was worth it for a nice cocktail in the fresh air, their fruit smoothies were amazing.

On our last day we didn't have to check out till 12 and they are happy to look after your cases until you leave for the airport. They store these behind the bar and have a ticketing system in place so they were very safe.

Overall a great stay in Barcelona was really made all the more better by a lovely boutique hotel in the middle of Barcelona. We have stayed here twice now and would always stay here again if we came back to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Balcony at the front is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghockley1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your stay with the Tripadvisor community! I really appreciate that you took the time to explain in such detail how the Pulitzer is.
I'm really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay for its second time!
I really wish to welcome you back for a third time! Please do not hesitate to contact me. I'll be more than happy to arrange your booking. Take into account that we have two alternative Pulitzer properties: one in Paris and one in Buenos Aires!
Best regards and muchas gracias!

Blanca Quintana
Hotel General Manager
bquintana@grhoteles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel was great. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the room was very comfortable and modern. I would have preferred a double bed rather than two singles pushed together, but this is common in Europe so I put up with it. The room also had a safe and a fridge. The wifi worked well and breakfast was good. Don't miss a trip to the rooftop bar. The tapas up there was good and the range of G&Ts staggering!

The hotel is located very well for the main attractions and has excellent public transport options close by.

My only real criticism is the slamming of doors by the house keeping staff outside my room. Didn't they realise I wanted a sleep in!

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for your nice review!
I'm sorry that you got a two-single beds room. On your next visit, please let us know and we will make sure you get a queen bed!
I'm really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and particularly the Terrace Experience!
Could you please send me a private mail with your room number and dates of stay? I would like to check why there were slamming of doors by your room.
I look forward to welcoming you back as a Pulitzer guest, whether in Barcelona, Paris or Buenos Aires!
Best regards and muchas gracias!

Blanca Quintana
Hotel General Manager
bquintana@grhoteles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here with my little boy. A couple of years ago. The choice was perfect, what a lovely hotel. They bed was so cosy. Very up market, the roof to bar was such an added bonus. The location was perfect. So close to everywhere you needed to be. The staff was very helpful & friendly.
If I'm visiting again this is where I would want to be. Well worth the extra expense

Room Tip: Location perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Julze,
Thank you for your wonderful review!
We look forward to welcoming you back again as a guest. Should you ever decide to come back, please do not hesitate to contact me. I will be more than happy to arrange your stay.
Best regards,

Blanca Quintana
Hotel General Manager
bquintana@grhoteles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 515 in Barcelona
1,947 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#37 of 515 in Barcelona
2,138 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#76 of 515 in Barcelona
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
4,647 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
943 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#59 of 515 in Barcelona
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer

Address: Calle Bergara 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $118 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pulitzer is a 4 stars Boutique Hotel full of light and with a cool and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Located in the heart of Barcelona, just few meters walk form Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and the famous Passeig de Gracia, it is an ideal base for exploring the city. Guests can choose from 91 stylishly decorated rooms, including a unique Suite with a 30sqm terrace. The Pulitzer is a real happening place: the rooftop terrace offers the perfect spot for chilling out while enjoying the best live music, its restaurant serves up locally sourced dishes in the slow food tradition and its lobby bar is a vibrant place where locals and visitors meet. The Pulitzer takes sustainability and health very seriously: in 2015 it became a Biosphere certified hotel as well as a Healthia certified hotel. Pet-friendly hotel (check conditions on our website). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona, Catalonia
Pulitzer Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing