We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill hotel, fab location, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Pulitzer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer
Ranked #109 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. I booked to stay here with my husband for his 30th birthday. We arrived at the airport after a long flight delay and in the middle of a thunderstorm so we didn't want to mess about looking for a Bus to take us to our hotel as we have never been to Barcalona before. We got a taxi and it cost 28 euros at 9:30pm.

On arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff who checked us in and directed us to our room, which was located on the first floor, above the bar area. This room may be a problem for some who like a lie in as from around 7am you hear the coffee machine. Noise was never a problem for us on a night but we did stay early season (end March). We visited the rooftop bar, would've been nice in warmer weather, but you had to buy drinks from the main bar on the ground floor and take them up, again presuming this is an early season thing. Cannot stress enough how nice staff were here, and our rooms were cleaned daily, new towels etc. on arrival our room also had crisps, nuts and sangria, oh and slippers and bathrobes (I'm a sucker for the extras!)

I had been in contact with the hotel prior to arrival to arrange a bottle of champaign to be in our room for my husband on arrival. The lady i spoke to was Amazing, she told me about the different packages they offered and offered useful information about getting to the hotel from the airport. The bottle was in the room as requested, on ice.

The hotels location is fantastic, as other people have mentioned, you are at the top of Las Ramblas and central to Catalunya. There is also a perfectly situated tube station directly outside the hotel, which has a lot of the main lines running through it, so very central for sight seeing! There is a Starbucks just around the corner too which we visited every morning before our adventures.

On our first full day we paid about €25 euros pp for a ticket on the open top/tour bus. There is three coloured lines/routes that this bus takes, we went on blue and red the main ones. The bus takes you around all the sites (Football stadium, Olympic park, harbour, Cathedral, Gaudis park etc) we hopped on and off this bus and NEVER had to wait for another bus, there was always one either parked up, or just pulling up. This was deffo the best thing we could have done, because we then planned where we wanted to go the next day. We didn't pay for a tour bus ticket again, instead we paid about €6 pp for a tube/bus ticket and ventured around ourselves-and we got everywhere! Gaudis park, the cathedral, Picasso museum, football stadium, harbour. Everything was amazing, such a beautiful place. If you want to go into the cathedral, go early, because you have to que to get a pass to que to buy a ticket-very confusing and limited places.

Las Ramblas is amazing, always busy, lots to see (go to the market) lots of shops and side streets which are a must. I was scared of being pick pocketed before we went after reading and hearing scary reviews, but we never had any trouble. I did watch my bag AT ALL TIMES, but we do in England anyway, especially on tubes and in cities. So just be safe. I got fed up of the main Las Rambles strip after two days, same stuff to see, same gypsies and people trying to sell you stuff, and its so busy, especially on a night.

I don't know about other people but we really struggled to find good places to drink, there was a decent Irish bar down one of the side streets, but the main part does not seem to be a drinkers place. We were looking to party, just relax and enjoy a cold beer....went to the sports bar, husband loved it to watch footy as there is loads of screens, but the food is terrible and expensive.

Finally, would recommend it, but if you want to go and see as much as you can, like we did, be prepared to pay. Not just costs into places which we expected to pay, but the price of food and alcohol. Your looking at €5 everywhere for a drink, and evening meals around €20 pp for a cheap starter and main...more like €30 pp. we visited Hard Rock Cafe which was a must!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank clairewyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 2,290 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We are currently about to check out of this fabulous hotel following a two night weekend break.

It is ideally situated in Plaza Catalunya, just around the corner from La Rambla with all the main shops, bars and restaurants.

We have been treated like royalty at this 4 star boutique hotel. The manager, Ms Banon, upgraded us to a superior room and even had a chilled bottle of cava waiting for us to celebrate our second wedding anniversary. The room was spotless and had separate little toiletries in the bathroom for both men and women. It is these little touches which make it special.

Breakfast was largely continental, there's scrambled eggs and bacon but it mainly consists of fruits, breads and meats. All very tasty but don't expect a full English in Barcelona as you won't find one!

The hotel terrace bar is a must. It's on the top floor and is a little suntrap. The restaurant and bar are lovely too, and the drinks are not overpriced.

We used the local tourist bus to get around: at 26 Euros per day, or 34 Euros for two days it's quite reasonable given the vast size of this city, and is divided into three lines: red, blue and green which take in the whole of the Barcelona. You can hop on and off as many times as you like and use each line. We took the scenic blue line down to the Nou Camp (amazing place!) and the red line down to the beach, taking in lots of Gaudi's amazing work along the way. The Gothic quarter is also a must. Barcelona is steeped in fascinating history.

Finally, I must confess I work in the travel industry and am therefore quite hard to please, having travelled extensively, but I think I've found a little gem in this hotel. The location is perfect, rooms are comfortable and furnished art-deco style and the staff are friendly and couteous. I love Barcelona and will definitely stay here again on my return.

Keep up the good work Ms Meritxell Banon: your hotel and staff are a credit to you!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_dixon_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, lovely bar staff, comfortable beds and quiet room, we were on the second floor facing the street. Loved the shower, hard time getting out as it was so good. Great location to hop on the airport bus and the red tourist buses in Cataluna Square. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytraveller001111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just spent my long Easter weekend in Barcelona and when I was going through a list of possible hotels, I had 2 C's in mind: convenience and comfort. I must say, I'm glad I chose Hotel Pulitzer!

Location/Accessibility (5/5)

The Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona is located at C/ Bergara, 8 – 08002 Barcelona. This hotel has probably the most convenient location in Barcelona that one could hope for. To get to the hotel from the airport, just take the Aerobus (a single ticket costs EUR 5.90, tickets can be bought through a machine nearby or through the bus driver) and get off at Plaça Catalunya. From the Aerobus station, walk directly to the other side, cutting through Plaça Catalunya. The street between the FNAC and BBV buildings is Carrer Bergara. The hotel is probably about 100m from Plaça Catalunya.

The importance of being right next to Plaça Catulunya is the accessibility to public transportation and shops. Plaça Catalunya is a major metro station and buses going to popular areas stop here. Right next to the hotel is also an ATM and a Starbucks (well, I always like trying out the Starbucks in different countries/areas and compare the difference). The hotel is about 100m from Plaça Catalunya.

I rated Hotel Pulitzer with the following:


Rooms and Facilities (4/5)
Staff and Services (5/5)
Security (4/5)
Price (4/5)
Cleanliness (5/5)

You may read my complete hotel review for Hotel Pulitzer at http://writtenbyicar.wordpress.com/2013/04/08/hotel-review-hotel-pulitzer-barcelona-spain/

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Our room was near the elevator so it was really noisy. No view from the 1st floor and the shower leaked all over the floor. Breakfast is nice and location is good. I would not stay here again.

Request a high floor away from the elevator to avoid being woken by people in the hallway.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gobola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Pulitzer. Our room, the food, the service and the location are ideal for the sophisticated traveller. I will definitely be staying here again on my next visit to beautiful Barcelona!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Location location location!!! Right in plaza cataluyna and right at the top of Las Ramblas!! So easy to arrive at the hotel from the airport, took the blue airport bus which dropped us off directly in the plaza cataluyna. The rooms were modern in design. However our room seemed incredibly small and didn't even have room to open two full size suitcases on the floor. Some wasted space with a hallway that didn't seem necessary. Wifi was free and able to connect in the room without any issues. Terrace bar however due to the timeframe didn't see anybody in it. Busy bar downstairs. Overall pleasant stay, would definitely recommend!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jrscgsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#65 of 517 in Barcelona
1,978 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 517 in Barcelona
4,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#77 of 517 in Barcelona
685 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#60 of 517 in Barcelona
1,218 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#37 of 517 in Barcelona
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer

Address: Calle Bergara 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $138 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pulitzer is a 4 stars Boutique Hotel full of light and with a cool and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Located in the heart of Barcelona, just few meters walk form Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and the famous Passeig de Gracia, it is an ideal base for exploring the city. Guests can choose from 91 stylishly decorated rooms, including a unique Suite with a 30sqm terrace. The Pulitzer is a real happening place: the rooftop terrace offers the perfect spot for chilling out while enjoying the best live music, its restaurant serves up locally sourced dishes in the slow food tradition and its lobby bar is a vibrant place where locals and visitors meet. The Pulitzer takes sustainability and health very seriously: in 2015 it became a Biosphere certified hotel as well as a Healthia certified hotel. Pet-friendly hotel (check conditions on our website). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona, Catalonia
Pulitzer Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing