We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly lovely hotel & well located if you don't mind the metro (ignore the moaners!!!)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only
Ranked #173 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfectly lovely hotel & well located if you don't mind the metro (ignore the moaners!!!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights the first week in October. We had some doubts about booking as many of the reviews on here were full of complaints, especially about the location. I suppose it all depends on what you're looking for in a hotel. We wanted a nice clean, comfortable base to explore the city from. We also didn't want to pay a fortune just to be in the city centre as many of the hotels right in the centre of things were far more expensive than this and didn't look half as nice.

Well we got what we wanted. The hotel is well kept, the staff are friendly and the location for us was perfect. It is a little bit out of the centre but it is opposite the beach which makes up for that (a two minute walk across the bridge if even that). We used the Selva De Mar metro stop which is 10 minutes walk at the very most and it is a pleasant stroll. You take this line a few stops to Urquinaona and change to the red line and you are just one stop from Place de Catalunya right beside the Rambla. There is a bus I heard of that stops outside the hotel and is a 30 minute ride to town but honestly the metro is so much more convenient and quicker. A T-10 Metro ticket is €9.85 and gives you 10 trips (including changes to other lines within an hour) and one between two will do as you can pass it back to the other person. A taxi home from us after a night out was 7-9 euros. To us the quality of the hotel and being able to get away from the hustle and bustle really outweighed the little bit of travelling to and fro.

The Diagonal Mar shopping centre is a five minute walk away and has an abundance or shops, restaurants and a fun arcade. We went there most days for lunch (Tip: Do not eat along the Rambla, you'll be ripped off, the side streets are great for finding places, also beware of menus on the street without tax included in the prices!!)

There were some cons as always with hotels. The lifts are a little slow which can be annoying. We also noticed on day three that our minibar suddenly had extra items in it whereas we hadn't used anything so it clearly hadn't been restocked before we checked in. However a quick chat with the man at reception took care of that. The final thing that was probably the most annoying thing for us was that the jacuzzi was not working. We only found this out when we were down there in our towels and had to ring reception from the gym to find out. We felt they really should have told us this on check in. However we spent so much time out exploring the beautiful city that we really didn't mind too much in the end.

The Wifi and safe are free which was great and the room was cleaned every day up untl 4pm.

Apart from people who have had particularly unlucky experiences here for one reason or another, in my opinion you would have to be very easily annoyed to find major fault with it. The only people I would recommend to avoid the hotel are people with walking difficulties or people who do not want to have to travel at all to get to the centre of things.

We had a very pleasant stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to a friend or return in the future :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, we booked through booking.com and asked for one which we got upon check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chocolatefudgebrowni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    541
    191
    74
    37
See reviews for
198
537
52
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Herrenalb, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is located close to the beach and offers rooms with sea-view. However, the noise from Ronda Litoral could be annoying. Atenea Mar is 4*-rated, and this is true. I stayed there for a business trip with meetings in Diagonal Mar. The price to quality ratio is very good, if you get an offer, normal prices are still acceptable.
The room was very spacious and clean, large window to sea. Daily maids are very kind and careful. Equipment is appropriate for 4*, also Wifi works well.
The breakfast offers are usually of high quality, sometimes the warm meals are not like that. Overall a good experience with fresh fruits and lots more. The room is airconditioned, but usually a bit to chilly.
Staff was very kind and helpful. I did enjoy this stay and could recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dl_0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here the night before a cruise, the view from the Hotel is lovely across the water. The room and hotel were clean and nicely kept.

Location is good if you are looking to stay near the beach, its also approximately 20 minutes walk from the Diagonal Mar shopping centre, however, it is not near a metro and is away from most of the sites.

The hotel is located on the green route of the Barcelona Tourist bus which allows a hop on hop off option of getting around Barcelona.

We had breakfast included which was very disappointing, there was a limited choice and what was available wasn't nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the beach, although this may cost extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

When booking this hotel I, luckily, misread the distance on the map from the hotel to Monument de Colon. The distance was some 2.5 mi but that does not matter in this case. There were taxis in abundance and also buses to Plaza de Catallunya. And for those who like a walk the parklike walk from Porto Olympico is a treat (day and night, well lit).
The hotel is spacious with a large lobby, a lobby bar/café and a restaurant. We got a large suite (some 600sq ft) on the top flor with a view over the Mediterranean (and the long beach). For the first time in a very long time we had an air-condition that worked properly, not too cold and not noisy (no adjustments needed). And to top off with a good breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: If available upgre to a suite on the top floor, facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FontanaACS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

First morning at this hotel we popped to the shop for some water only to return to find locked suitcase (safe kept coming up error when trying to lock valuables inside) slashed and money stolen. The staff showed me the times the room was accessed and twice someone using a key entered for short periods while we were out and this person(s) stole our money. The maids where standing just outside our room as we left, cleaning the room across and next door. The receptionist wasn't even helpful when I went to explain what had happened, in fact he just kept shaking his head at me like I was lying. The staff was useless, unsympathetic and made what happened so much worse. I mean we were waiting 9 hours in our room for police without any interest shown by the staff, either how we were feeling or even trying to get to grips with who had entered our room as they told me it was us who entered our room and impossible for anyone else to. If you want a 4 star hotel with no security and staff that'll treat you like a liar then this is probably for you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lemoniain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

pros:
- real 4 stars hotel - everything is very convenient, clean, everybody is friendly and helpful!
- location is very close to the beach. however we preferred to walk in the city than lie on the beach so we didn't use it's location benefits (while I am sure it affected the price). so, think twice what you want more - lie on the beach or walk in the Barcelone. if you want to walk you'd better save some money and take something cheaper and more closer to the center.
- sea view rooms include excellent sunrise! ;)

cons:
- location is not close to the center of the city. you have to ride 10 minutes by metro and then walk 12-15 minutes.
- internet is very very slow. and you have to re-login each day.
- breakfasts are a little bit expensive so we preferred to eat in the closest restaurants and in the center of the city
- they gave us twin beds! however when I booked the room it was clearly stated that it is DOUBLE bed there. but the room had excellent sea view and they were ready to change it to normal double bed room but with no sea view - and we decided to stay. However twin beds are really uncomfortable - they are close each to other but still have a gap in between - so you have to sleep separately with you spouse.

Room Tip: - Sea view rooms are great! - Ensure you reserved double bed (if you need it). - Internet is free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Wonderful outside frontage, ordinary main foyer, and hey ho, to this hotel we dont go! On the desk is proudly situated a framed trip advisor cerificate with 4 stars.Wow, where did that come from? The reception staff are indifferent, the porter a statue that rotates but cannot lift arms to assist luggage. The two elevators take a year and a day to arrive,just about squeeze 4 people in. The rooms spacious, clean as is bathroom. Breakfast is pathetic, an urn of cold mixed scrambled eggs, and a small buffet, a dancing opera to flies in the area, coffee self service from urns, luke warm, and like paste water, and serving staff that are bored and do zero.
Outside the centre, 20 minute bus ride, and 15 minute walk accross a highway, over a bridge, accross another highway to the beach. No shops nearby, and lousy restaurants with waiters pouncing to get customers. Hey Ho, no gold medal here, nor silver, nor bronze.Expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelinspecytor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#213 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Hotel Front Maritim
#311 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#233 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelona Princess
#180 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Poblenou
Hesperia Del Mar
Hesperia Del Mar
#224 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Poblenou
Eurohotel Diagonal Port
Eurohotel Diagonal Port
#376 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only

Property: Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only
Address: Paseo Garcia Faria 37-47, 08019 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Atenea Mar Adults Only)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#99 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#121 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#175 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#207 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, this hotel is ideal for pleasure or business trips The urban hotel Occidental Atenea Mar**** (member of the Barcelo Hotel Group and formerly Barcelo Atenea Mar – Adults Only) is in an excellent location, just 150 m from the Nova Mar Bella beach, and a 15-minute walk from the Barcelona International Convention Centre and the Diagonal Mar shopping centre. There is a bus stop opposite the hotel and there is a metro station a short walk away, connecting the hotel with the city's main points of interest. The hotel has 191 spacious, modern rooms, all of which are outward facing and bright, with views of the sea or the city. Every room has free Wi-Fi and, in addition, guests visiting the city have the chance to stay in a modern room full of luxury features. Among the services offered by the hotel, there is the car park (an additional charge applies), a fitness studio which can be used at no extra charge, a sauna, a hot tub and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For meetings and events, the hotel features 5 partitionable function rooms equipped with the latest audiovisual technology. In the restaurant you can sample exquisite Mediterranean haute cuisine dishes. Some highlights of the hotel services include a new terrace with a 48 m2 infinity pool with sunbeds and hydromassage chairs, a 100 m2 sun terrace with Balinese beds, hammocks, and pouffes for hire. The terrace has a snack-bar open from June to September (weather-dependent). Your can end your day at the Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only hotel with a relaxing walk along the beach, and for the sportier guests, jogging along the seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Atenea Mar Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Atenea Mar
Barcelo Hotel Barcelona
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing