We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good price for this location and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona House
Ranked #283 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed January 15, 2012

location - very good. centre town, walking distance to dock, picasso, cathedal so on

reception service - not bad.not smily or babbly or chatty but do the job. 24 hours. connect oustside call to the room. there is safty room to leave luggage after check out for free.

room - twin is slightly larger with bath tub, double has only shower room ( this might be different on another floor)

noise - can be noisy on street side, but the room non street side is darker although quieter. noise can be lound if you stay in peak season or weekends. middle January during a week was very very quiet.

wall - yes thin. I heard next door having shower or dryer

light - dark. might be struggling doing make up for ladies although can be done.

air conditioning (heater) - worked in January, but I don't like air-con so did't use. very cold in the middle of the night. but there is very thick wooly blancket in the shelf underneath safty box. did job. slept well.

morning call - didn't use. if you are worried, set alarm with your mobile.

hair dryer - worked perfectly fine. strong power enough to dry my long hair.

mirror - one in bath room. there is no mirror you can check your whole body

TV - worked fine, english pop and rock music on the radio channel called cooltura

safety box - big enough. very simple to use.

storage - 7,8 hangers. and 3,4 big shleves

breakfast - apparently very bad (my friend had it)

kettle - no. fridge - no although you can have a tea and coffe in cafe(a bit canteen look like) less than a minute walk. and super market opsit too

cleaning - was good enough for me. if you are fatsy, made clutter free in the room so that cleaner can do more job

tourist info - lots of leaflets near reception.

over all...

I think we can expect what we paid for. you cannot expect same quality and service in tesco and waitrose, can you? if you are worried about quality that much, pay double or stay somewhere far away from centre. my friend stayed in budget hotel in centre Barcelona several times. she said other places were much worse and most of them ' no lift'(had a trouble with suitcase). for me this hotel was very good for this price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mira m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barcelona House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

As a group of five 21 year old lads, our requirements for a hotel were not exactly extensive.

Saying this, the first impression was fantastic! Very modern design inside and out, The rooms are everything you need. extremely clean, spacious, equipped with lots of storage, and good lighting. The rooms come with satellite tele, a safe to keep all your valuables (strongly advised), large bathroom with a powerful shower, huge mirrors as well as complimentary toiletries.

We stayed in a triple and a twin. The triple was facing the street and although we were partying deep into the night, the noise of midday hustle did not wake us once. The twin room located in the middle of the hotel was silent with the exception of slight hallway noise.

Hotel Staff: I could not praise the hotel staff highly enough. They all speak perfect English and any questions we had about the city, local restaurants, or even places to avoid they were more than happy to answer. They are more than welcoming to guests of all ages and are always up for a chat about the stories you have already gathered in your time in Barcelona. Out of courtesy we were even given a book of discount vouchers when asking about some good deals around the city too.

The Location: Perfect on the south end of La Rambla, about a 10/15 minute walk in straight line from the Aerobus Bus stop as well as very close to several Metro stops. a taxi rank is perfectly located a few minutes walk away by the monument, however a number of the tourist attractions are within walking distance of the hotel (30/40 minutes) highly recommended with great designer stores and architecture along the way. The port is a stones throw away and is again a great walk along the beach down to some of the best bars and clubs. It's in the heart of all the action - we passed many hotels we were considering before we arrived and on reflection for a decent buzz of night life, good restaurants right outside the door and good transport connections Barcelona House is the only place you'll want to stay.

La Rambla is a little seedy in early hours, with a large amount of prostitutes and pick pocketers. However, please do not let this deter you, just keep your valuables in a secure pocket and stay sober enough to stay standing and you'll be fine. As long as you do this, you can just say "no" and walk on or stay and have some funny banter with them. The only other thing I would advise is that to stick to main streets at night and not to kick off if you suspect someone has stolen your money. (We saw a group of guys find out the hard way).

Tip: Rooms do not come with an iron, although front desk will supply you with one upon request. Only 1 key per room so it's advised to leave it at the front desk each time leaving the hotel.

Absolutely perfect for a 5 night stay. More than a pleasure.

P.s. Apologies for waking anyone up at 6am with our return each morning!

Room Tip: It goes without saying that if you are a light sleeper then choose a room away from the front of the...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

very cold, and heating did not work. noisy all day and night (must have been next door to a young group). electric box buzzed all night
found hotel staff very unhelpful, appart from spanniard on desk in mornings who was great.
constantly felt like we were being watched.

apart from that location was perfect, and was a stones throw away from la ramblas.
If you are going for a short stay it was ok, but couldnt stay there for a week

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinAstley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The best thing about this place is the location, but this obviously means noise, I just didn't realise how much noise! They did move use after the first night but even then jazz music was still audible, even through having ear plugs in! The breakfast if you can call it a breakfast was crap! Frosties, a croissant or a bread roll, to me is not a breakfast! The room was pleasant enough but freezing so I asked to have the heating on was told there was a law that the rooms had to be at a certain temperature! Fine in the middle of summer but not in December! The beds are ready for collapsin, and my husband had to be really careful! There is no kettle, no mini bar, in rooms, but it was cold enough that the San Miguel stayed cold without a fridge! My advice is if you are bothered by noise don't use this place

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancehotsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at the Barcelona House hotel mid October with our 14 year old son in a triple room. The room was at the back of the hotel, no street noise and the room was clean and large enough for the three of us. The staff on the front desk were helpful, and when we needed to check out hours before our flight left we could leave our baggage in the luggage room.

Plenty of places nearby to grab breakfast/lunch/dinner at!

You are fantastically positioned to explore Barri Gotic, and we spent hour after hour exploring the medieval streets - highly recommended.

The hotel was clean and tidy - our only LITTLE critisism was that as the floors are all laminate, sounds travels along the corridor, through the rooms, and it can get a little noisy when people come back late. This certainly did not spoil our break though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

It was a great location. The bed was very light and unstable

It was free wifi, nice renovated rooms / bahrooms.

The price was appr. EUR 80 per night for a double/twin room

Had to complain one time since the staf had forgotten to change the linnen and not left any towels, but that was fixed in 5 minutes.

Will possibly stay there again - for the price we paid. Hopefully the have changed the beds...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Just returned from this hotel and anyone worried about previous comments need not be. In an excellent location just off Ramblas. Front Desk staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Rooms were spotless, spacious and very modern (rooms overlooking the street can be noisy but hey this is a city after all) Bars, shops and restaurants surround the area and are very good standards. I will definitely stay again and recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street - you will have a better night sleep
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsay a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#231 of 513 in Barcelona
1,599 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#105 of 513 in Barcelona
2,460 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#109 of 513 in Barcelona
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#199 of 513 in Barcelona
986 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#338 of 513 in Barcelona
822 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#213 of 513 in Barcelona
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona House

Address: C/ Escudellers, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $41 - $2,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barcelona House 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barcelona House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Barcelona House Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing