We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #96 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel is in a great location to explore the city. With the Sans Station just across the street its perfect as you can get a metro or train to anywhere in the city, or for when you are arriving or departing. There is not much else around this area regarding restaurants and bars, but the hotel staff were more than willing and helpful to point us in the right direction and advise us where to go giving us some great tips. Our rate included breakfast and wow what a breakfast selection, with a wonderful view from the rooftop restaurant over the city - a great start to any day. The rooms were also great with nice soft bed linen and very comfy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxykat96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,938
    1,331
    246
    58
    34
See reviews for
579
1,826
185
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south west
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We booked this hotel via Lastminute and got an amazing deal. 5 nights in a Superior room with breakfast at less than £80 per night. We had a corner room on the 18th floor and the views were amazing, the room was lovely and big and the bathroom with a separate walk-in shower fabulous. We loved everything about our room and the bed was so comfortable, just what you need after a day of walking, walking and more walking. The hotel staff at check-in/out were really helpful and polite as were the staff at breakfast time. Ok, it would have been nice to be a little closer to La Rambla or Gothic area, but the metro is extremely close and cheap to use (buy a T10 ticket @ 10.30 euros). There are places to eat about 10mins walk away (towards the Magic Fountain) in the old bull ring, which is now a shopping precinct called Arenas, up on the top floor. We don't recommend Mussol though as food portions small. If you can get a Superior room, then go for it. We would happily stay at the hotel if we were to return to Barcelona - it ticks all the boxes :-)

Room Tip: Superior room as high up as possible. Also ask for a corner room as you get 2 double aspect windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you arrive by train from another city or the airport, the hotel couldn't be more conveniently placed - just across the street. The Sants Estacio metro station is just across the plaza in front of the hotel. From here you can reach all the main points of visit in the city via the metro system.

The view is the main attraction of the room. We booked a double room with panoramic view and they delivered. From the 21st floor, we could see half of the city, and from the 23rd floor restaurant/breakfast room you can see the the whole city. The room was as described regarding size and interior. We were pleasantly surprised with the bathroom with his/hers vanity, shower AND tub. We spend a few late evenings planning next day's trips looking out of the window. We enjoyed that.

The receptionist were very friendly and helpful - and spoke English. When asked about restaurant recommendations, they were more than willing to help. The room was cleaned every day.

Our booking did not include breakfast. We were offered breakfast for the entire stay at a reduced price (EUR ~14) per person per day. We declined and chose to have breakfast elsewhere except for one day. As we didn't take the initial offer, we will be charged full price for breakfast, which is a bit steep. We found the breakfast buffet ok, with a vast selection to everyone's taste. It wasn't spectacular in any way, but average. We did not regret declining the offer and having breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dortedyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya is an excellent hotel. It has everything you need and more. The staff are very helpful and pleasant, everything is clean and access to the tube is brilliant as its right accross the road from the Sants station.

I booked this trip as a suprise for me & my girlfriend, it was my first time in Barcelona. I'm delighted that I chose the Torre Catalunya for our stay. I proposed to my girlfriend on the 2nd evening and staying at this hotel made our trip even more special.

The view from our room was spectacular, we took advantage of the spa facilities which were great too. We spent a few hours in the hotel bar and the staff in their made us feel very welcome - with a great selection of snacks and drinks on offer. If you are looking for a hotel with great access to the rest of Barcelona then I would highly recommend you stay here. I will upload some pictures at a later date. Before I forget, the hotel even allowed us to use the spa facilities when we had already checked out to freshen up for the flight home. It's things like that, that go a long way with people.

Thankyou!

Rob & Caroline

Room Tip: Higher floors are recommended if you want spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

First, I stay the luggage in the hotel before check in. When i was back at night, they put my luggage in room. I felt so sweet and thank their service.
Secondly, the set dinner was perfect. My children coundn't finish the food, they helped to keep the food and allowed us to take the food to room. That was i m appreciate their service:-D

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 675fannyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at this new, super-modern high-rise hotel this week. Having just stayed in Palermo in the beautiful, elegant old-world Grand Hotel della Palmes, the Torre Catalunya was quite a culture shock, as it couldn't be any sleeker or more up-to-the-minute. It isn't in the prettiest part of Barcelona, being located a short walk from the city's largest railway station and bus station, but this makes it fabulously handy for getting around the city and also catching a train to the airport.
Plus points: gorgeous, air-conditioned modern rooms with huge comfortable beds and delightfully luxurious bathrooms – ours had a walk-in wet room shower. Also, the restaurant-breakfast room on the 23rd floor has stunning views over the city from the enormous windows. The staff are charming and helpful.
Only one minus point: if you want breakfast, it's not included in the price of the room, so factor in between 13 and 17 euros per day per person. That said, the breakfast choice is excellent and you can really fuel up on it before venturing out into the city.
If you are new to Barcelona and want easy access to the buses (including the brilliant Viatour city tour buses), the Metro around town, and trains to the airport and along the coast to Sitges, Tarragona etc, this hotel is ideal, and the accommodation is four-star and very good. I'd highly recommend it. If you want somewhere typically Catalan and picturesque, though, look elsewhere!

Liz Johnson

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the more amazing the views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIZ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

All the staff I spoke with on the phone and through email (namely - Natalia and Sebastián) were increadibly helpful and spoke perfect English. My girlfriends father was admitted to hospital and we were unable to make our trip to Barcelona and the hotel done everything in their power to help us. We are looking forward to making this trip at a later date in the year

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#74 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,755 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#80 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,970 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#71 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expo Hoteles, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing