We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #98 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Barcelona”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is perfect on so many accounts. The staff is efficient and courteous. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The room could use a little more modernization the TV was not an LCD and the radio player in the room was an old cassette player. I would have not minded it being there but if you are keeping it in the room try to make it of a decent standard. We were lucky enough to get a high room so had a very good view of the city. However even if you dont get a high room, the restaurants are located on the top floor and offer a panoromic view of the city as this hotel is amongst the tallest structures in the city. Carry your dslr and tripod!!!
The breakfast is a good spread and the food quality is on the higher side. The hotel is very funcitional and gives hints of being a luxury hotel but those hints are very very very few!!!
The location of the hotel is perfect, its a stones throw from the main station which connects to rest of spain and the barcelona city.
I will recommend this hotel as a good place to stay if you are tourist or whether you are a business traveller

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,028
    1,393
    257
    66
    38
See reviews for
615
1,906
196
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skokie, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here from sept 11th to sept 15 2013 Very convenient location, near two train stations, very nice view from higher floors and wonderful staff. loved this place Mohito was the cocktain of the week and bartender made it so good for us.

Room Tip: better view from north west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

They were caring in providing an earlier check in since I got there really in the morning.
The room was big, clean and confortable and the location is easy a good one to use public transport and get to know the city. Strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aneves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Suite room was great, had a nice view though we weren't put up as high as we had wanted - the 17th floor. Request a room higher than this, you'll get a more satisfying view.The staff in general were OK, helpful but we never really got a welcome/friendly vibe. If you're on a business trip or a Spanish local, great. Gym and pool is fantastic, though pool is not enough to do laps in.

After our stay we felt paying a bit more to stay centrally would have been worth it, just to be able to walk out and back for dinner. It might be OK for some, for us, was a real hassle having to stay out all day to save coming back on the metro (pricey!).

Don't eat at the fine dining at the top floor - was overpriced, the dishes were either average, or too strange.

Final (general) tip - if you bring your own items similar to the hotel's (cups, cutlery, towel), stow it away before room service. Room service definitely took away a soup spoon I own and basically after 3 days of continually asking for it and chasing it up (no one got back to me) they finally said room service did not know about it.

Room Tip: No smoking, high floor (above 17th).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara_T21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomel, Belarus
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week in September 2013 and would agree with most of review I read here: big room, nice view, close to airport, etc. In general I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again with no doubts. I would recommend it especially for business trips as there is very nice business centre on -2 floor, bar with terrace and restaurant with Night Barcelona view for informal appointments.

Several things I would like to mention:
- wifi is not too good in the corner room. I have to go closer to the door or make Skype calls from the lobby otherwise the quality of the line wasn't good
- when I booked reservation welcome cocktail was offered as one of the extras. I have seen no any "welcome cocktails" :) Not a big deal but probably web site needs to be updated to remove this extra or ...
- when I checked in I was told that I need to pay at the time of check out but I was asked to pay several days earlier. As well as previous it's not a big deal but I think it could be communicated :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Excellent comfortable rooms, great views of Barcelona. Visual restaurant is literally a visual feast. Staff is very helpful. Spa facilities are not great. it is very close to the sants station. If you are looking for slightly cheaper option, hotel expo is a sister concern and a budget option.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors for the views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Paid $100.00 AUD for an excellent corner room in this hotel. We arrived at Barcelona airport from Brussells that afternoon and for straight on a train which was so easy to Sants Estació station which is just a 5 minute walk to the hotel. The train took approximately 15minutes to get there. Check in was great and we were given cold towelettes as it was summer. Our room was massive and bathroom seemed even bigger than the room.

The staff were lovely room service was quiet cheap for basic food which we ordered and the room was excellent.

For the price location quality and service I highly recommend this hotel and will be staying here again when I come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venessasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
3,918 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#132 of 513 in Barcelona
2,603 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#194 of 513 in Barcelona
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Sants
#108 of 513 in Barcelona
3,177 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,092 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 513 in Barcelona
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing