We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and the best views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #102 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here one night prior to our cruise. We wanted a hotel close to the train station. Was it ever – we only had a 20 meter walk from door to door. We have nothing but good to report about this hotel which has to be one of the best in Barcelona. First good news we had was a complementary upgrade to a beautiful comfortable suite on the 21st floor. WOW – what a view of Barcelona. It was so nice we could have sold tickets for others to enjoy it. Very friendly staff at the reception desk answered our questions and was truly interested in our experience there. We took a taxi to la Rambla (12 Euros) and enjoyed the evening there. To top it all off, there was a very large buffet breakfast at the hotel on the 23rd floor where you can take in a view of the city from high while enjoying your meal. We took a taxi to the cruise port at the end (20 Euros). Without a doubt, we would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a high floor - it is really worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,412 - 1,418 of 3,888 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed there in August for four nights. A short taxi drive from the Airport; do not be fooled by the exterior of this hotel. We were welcomed warmly by the staff at the Hotel on arrival. Check in was easy and we were very pleased to find that we were on the 22nd floor with an executive double room, having upgraded online when booking. The room was of a great standard with all the mod cons that you would expect and with an outstanding view from the room of the City of Barcelona, especially at night. The room service was of a reasonable price; however in true hotel tradition the mini bar in the room was extortionately priced.

I found the location of the hotel to be excellent in terms of being able to access a variety of things around the city. The location to the train station meant as a hub of accessing anything else within the city was a breeze, once you figure the metro system out of course.

As part of our booking we were given one free access to the spa, usually around 7EUROS per person per visit. I was a little disappointed with what they had to offer in this area; the gym, pool, sauna and steam room weren't as grand as I would have expected having seen the rest of the hotel. With it being located on the second underground floor, within the car park, it felt like this was an after thought, none the less, for us on this occasion it was free.

Disappointingly, and probably the only area to complain about, was the sleep quality with there being some kind of fayre outside the hotel with loud music and fireworks playing until 2 in the morning- every morning! However, once it stopped we slept very well, though perhaps outside the control of the hotel, it was a big annoyance.

It is worth noting that the train leaves from the station outside directly to the Airport every half an hour for around 3.50EUROS per person single and takes you directly to T2 (Something I wish I had known prior to travelling).

Room Tip: Get as high as you can within the building for the best views across the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This holiday was for me and my wife's anniversary, we picked possibly the best hotel out of the thousands in the city! The location of the Torre Catalunya is amazing - literally across the road from the main train station in Barcelona, Estacio Sants. Every day we simply walked across the road and hopped on to the metro in to the city, so easy! If you want to walk to La Ramla, its approx 30-40 mins.

The hotel itself is well acclaimed and deserved 4 stars. Rooms are spacious and clean with marble floors (we were in the 12th floor in a double executive room). The lobby is spacious and staff very friendly.

The bar on the ground floor - although a little expensive - is open till 1am. If you like spirits, they may charge you £10 for a drink but trust me, you get your money's worth! The only thing we did not try was the restaurant on the 23rd floor, we preferred to eat in the city.

Other than the location and quality of the hotel, the one thing that stood out for us and really made us happy (and why we would come back) is the positive and caring attitude of the Manager. We had maintenance issue and discrepancy with the bar bill due to incorrect charges. The way the manager took care of both issues and provided assurance on getting things resolved, was quite frankly a breath of fresh air! The very kind lady also took off an evening'sf drinks charges as goodwill. We will definitely book this place again and highly recommend it to anyone visiting the beautiful city of Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrekker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here with our 2 sons and partners prior to our cruise from Barcelona had a wonderful 2 nights. We were greeted by warm and friendly reception staff who had arranged for our rooms to be on 20th and 21st floor as we had previously read on trip advisor that views from higher floor were worth paying a supplement for, we were not disappointed! Very spacious rooms admittedly a little dated but little touches of bath robes, toiletries and huge bath room area made up for it. Bed was very comfortable and spacious with nice quality linen. Chose to eat in the hotel restaurant on the first night and had fantastic panoramic views of the city from the 23rd floor, staff were attentive and made the experience special - food quality was also excellent and in my opinion good value for money. We looked around the local area for restaurants but felt that nothing compared to the hotel restaurant so decided to dine there again on the second night, had a little problem with the order which got confused and 2 members of our group had to wait for their main course we were more than generously compensated for the delay and would not hesitate to recommend the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent and again served on the 23rd floor providing fantastic views to wake up to, good variety to meet the needs of the international traveller. Location excellent for public transport and also for the open top bus which stopped right outside. Plenty to see in walking distance. Would we return very definitely.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors worth paying supplement for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncanjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My partner and I visited this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of July 2013. From the outside the hotel looks a bit run down but the inside was amazing. We did not upgrade to get a floor on a higher level but we managed to be on level 6 which had great views and a huge window.

The room was very clean, and we were very impressed with the lovely bathroom which was all cream marble with a better shower than I have at home!. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were keen to dine in the restaurant for breakfast as the views at the top of the tower were incredible and it was nicely furnished. However we did not do so as the cost to do this was extortionate considering the cost of breakfast anywhere else was 1/3 the price.

The metro was just across the road so it was easy to get to town and the shuttle bus for the airport was a 5 minute walk down the road so it was a good location. They also have a spa which we sadly only saw on our last day but the pool looked very cool. On our last day the hotel allowed us to freshen up for the airport in the spa facilities and by staying there you can visit the swimming pool on the roof of the hotel next door. It is a small pool and not great but considering the views and the ease it was fantastic on our last day to use for a couple of hours before checking out. There is a quaint outside restaurant/ bar just down from the pool as well so a perfect hang out to end the holiday.

Overall we were very impressed. Things that could be improved were only the cost of breakfast and the appearance of the hotel from the outside.

Room Tip: The higher the better, better views at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank averageexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great transport links, right opposite the main station in the city which access's the airport shuttle and metro! We upgraded for £12 per night to a suit with panoramic view of the city on the19th floor and boy was it worth it! A little ropey to begin with as the upgrade took 1 hr to have the room cleaned, and the first day the maid forgot our room. However the walk in shower room was very nice, views were picture book and Molton Brown toiletries were a nice touch! But, with other suites I have stayed in around the world, the mini bar is included, this one was very over priced!! The tv had only 5 English channels, all news! Again not really what you'd except! Also, although very minor, it wasn't until we checked out that we were told there was a city tax so had an extra £20 charge to pay, even after the £100's paid for the room to begin with.

Room Tip: Upgrade!, corner suite has great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGower23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel was very welcoming and had a pleasant 3 night stay here, Great base to explore the rest of the city and you can get the train from the airport to the major Sants station which is next door which you couldn't hear at all... Also I saw a few reviews which say there are no nearby restaurants... There are about 8 restaurants which most have outside seating and great looking food and nothing like the price of the Marina or La Rambla all of which in one stretch a five minute walk the other side of the station from the hotel... To be fair we only noticed these during the bus tour which took us right past them as we had naturally always walked the other way towards the Plaza Espanya and beyond when going out exploring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavinbmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#333 of 515 in Barcelona
2,850 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 515 in Barcelona
4,096 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 515 in Barcelona
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#92 of 515 in Barcelona
1,719 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#62 of 515 in Barcelona
3,217 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#135 of 515 in Barcelona
2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $105 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expo Hoteles, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing