We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #100 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in July 2012 and was amazed by the value for money that this hotel offered.
A warm welcome upon arrival, the room was stunning and very large. The location is just opposite one of the central railway stations.
I did not choose to include breakfast with my stay but I did dine at the restaurant one evening and the food was exceptional quality.
I would choose this hotel again on my next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTravelbug1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,825)
There are newer reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,548 - 1,554 of 3,825 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

I found this hotel by reading several reviews in different sites and its own website. In most of them, this hotel is known for reasonable prices and finally we booked a room there.
I can say the staff is really friendly and great. Our room was 'suite collection' and was good.
We were in 21th floor and we had a great view although windows were not clean!
We had breakfast for one day for 16 euro per person and it was perfect but expensive.
Bar and restaurant were ok.
Swimming pool was small and they charge 6 euro per person per day for pool and sauna.
Location is good enough since there are bus and metro stations close to it and also one can travel easily from/to airport.
Finally I think you pay more than you think since almost nothing is included in the room (except a mini gym). Therefore I don't recommend this hotel and I guess one can find a hotel with same service but cheaper.

Room Tip: east facing have a view to sea.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fafa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We sugget to include breakfast in the room rate and to put more bathroom facilities in the room. The staff is great, the food is good, very good breakfast. The location is just out of the very heart of Barcellona city centre but 5 minutes by metro. Airport in 20min by taxi.

Excellent stay! Hoping to come back.. Merry Christmas!

Room Tip: There is a lot of trafic in the area, so i suggest a room on higher floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great Hotel, perfect location, professional service. I've been their for 1 night stay with my wife. Location is great. Its just outside the Saint Station. Its direct train from Airport and you have access to local tube/underground. Its 5 min walk from hotel to Espania Station and 8 mins walk to Magic fountain. Lots of eating places on stone throw distance from hotel. Its highly recommended. On my next trip to Barcelona I'll book it again.

Room Tip: Try upper level room for better view of city at night.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is mainly designed to fulfil the needs of business travellers. The staff was professional and can give you all the help needed i.e directions, suggestions for restaurants and attractions to visit. I would suggest that you stayed at a higher floor so that it will not be much noisy and will have a better view. Rooms are comfortable, clean but kind of plain. The location is excellent since it is not far away from the airport by train while the access to main sightseeings and center of the town is very easy. We had stayed at the hotel as a group of friends and really enjoyed walking to the magestic fountain - it was very close. In case you visit the hotel on Easter holidays there is an orthodox church nearby - staff may give you the necessary info. Definitely, I would suggest the staying to the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors less noisy
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaTraveller213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is quite well located in front of the train/metro/transfer station "Estación de Sants". This allows you to easily access the hotel from the Airport and go to Downtown Barcelona without worries about taxis or buses. The front desk staff is very friendly and offered me customer service in the language of my choice. We started check-in business in English but since Spanish is my native language, I could not resist the temptation of interchange expressions and ask questions in regards to local attractions and subway system.
The hotel is excellent, great customer service, location. I was offered a room upgrade with better view which I took in a heartbeat. The Best of all was the Breakfast Buffet at the Pent House. It was breath taking.
I will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who would pay a couple of extra dollars (or Euros) for a well-deserved vacation.

Room Tip: The high floor rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bozacito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

not bad but not exceptionnal. Average for this kind of hotel.
Next time I will choose another one...
The spa is very small, the gymnas is correct.
The problem is that hotel has no particularity, no soul, nothing to make you comme back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank LHDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,975 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#210 of 513 in Barcelona
3,000 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#139 of 513 in Barcelona
2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#332 of 513 in Barcelona
2,790 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,115 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#106 of 513 in Barcelona
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $122 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expo Hoteles, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing