We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Average facilities & building but friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #71 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average facilities & building but friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights over the weekend at this hotel, which is a bit of a landmark over the city as it is so tall (we kept spotting it from the tops of things!). First off, it is clearly a business hotel rather than a romantic break hotel, so the facilities are pretty functional. We thought the room looked pretty basic when we went in, with no carpet and plywood built in everything - one bedside lamp also didn't work. The bathroom was nice though, and the shower and bath were great, with lots of pressure & lovely hot temperatures.

The staff were also nice when we interacted with them, helpfully providing us the free wifi password upfront (amazingly doesn't happen too often) & answering our questions. We didn't manage to get up to the top floor restaurant for dinner unfortunately (booked out), but the morning staff very kindly let us wander round on our final morning so we could say we had seen the views.

The location itself is mixed - the massive train station is convenient for the metro although rather unappealing and smelly; and the metro is needed because you are a bit of a way out of the centre and La Rambla. We did have to think about the trips we would make and how to maximise our ten-trip travel cards which maybe inhibited us slightly in being adventurous and staying out all night. All in all, I wouldn't come back to this hotel if I visited Barcelona again, but not because of anything the management and their team did wrong!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonelyasacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,757
    1,213
    210
    48
    28
See reviews for
507
1,651
169
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Wonderful hotel with great staff and attention to detail.

Even laid on a birthday cake for my son!

Would not hesitate to return. Only small gripe is that the windows needed cleaning, spoiling the magnificent view a little.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pentlandfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mas de Barberáns, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel. People were very friendly and supportive. Location is good because of the tube is close by. The restaurant is fantastic, amazing views from the city. We didn't like the beds. They weren't very comfortable. We woke up not in the best conditions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XaviEstelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This four star hotel has an excellent location. It is half block away from the Barcelona sants station (especially if you take train from Madrid or any other city to Barcelona). The hop-on and hop-off tour bus stop is behind hotel. A few blocks away from the major attractions. The room is very big, clean and marble modern decorated. You can also take the public transportation right in Sants station (L3 gets you to the city center). Buy a 10-ticket pass so you can share. From hotel to airport is about 27 euro ride, 20 minutes and very reasonable.

We stayed there for three nights and the room service is also excellent. They remembered my birthday and sent me a birthday cake to the room. The restaurant is on the top of the hotel and has a great view of the city, especially in the evening. Very friendly front desk staff and helpful.
Definitely this hotel is recommended and rate high on my hotel list.

Room Tip: choose a room face to the sants station and it has a very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Torre Catalunya for 4 nights. This is one of our favourite hotels in Barcelona and we stayed there before. We like the area a lot – not too central, but very close to all the places of interest. We stayed at the suite on the 20 floor with an amazing view. If windows were cleaned properly, the view would be even better. I celebrated my birthday in Barcelona and we got a bottle of cava and a piece of cake from the hotel – very nice touch. The room is very spacious, good bed and great bathroom + extra toilet. 2 TV’s with many channels. We had breakfast once and it was very good – a various choice of everything you need. But we still find the breakfast quite expensive (12 Euros). You can eat for 5 euro in many nice local bakeries just 5-10 min. walk from the hotel so we did it instead of eating at the hotel. We also used SPA once – it is small, but it is good if you just want to relax for an hour after a long day in the city.

The only negative thing was Wi Fi problems which were never solved. It was not working and we had to call for help a few times, but the solution we have got was 1 hour use of internet ( we have got it 3 times), but they never managed to fix it properly.

One day the maid forgot all the garbage in the middle of the bathroom and forgot to refill shampoo/shower gel. A kind of unprofessional…but it can happen…

Anyway we enjoyed our stay there and we would stay there again. But not top score because of WiFi problems and dirty windows.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you do not mind travelling by metro for a few minutes to get to the city centre, then this is really a good choice. The hotel is in opposite of the train station Barcelona Saints and the metro station, perfect location!
We had an executive room, on the 15th floor and we had a very nice view of the city.
Breakfast and restaurant is on the topfloor, with also an amazing view!
The room is spacious and clean. Staff is friendly, they even sent us a birthday cake, nice gesture.
Great price-quality if you want to escape from the city centre madness.

Only one thing, when we arrived in the afternoon (after check in time) the room was not ready yet. But they offered us a free drink, that was nice.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#9 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,484 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#68 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 5,165 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#15 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Sants
#88 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 2,335 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#10 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing