We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel. Good connections without being in the heart but still so close.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #96 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel. Good connections without being in the heart but still so close.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Hotel in a great place. Both main station (that would bring you in from the airport - about a half hour train journey) and metro on hand and great connections to the centre. Very nice hotel. Very welcoming reception staff and they were happy to check us in early which was brilliant.

Lounge bar open till 1pm - reasonable. Good for a drink before going out or coming back from a night out. Did not experience the restaurant on the top floor as we wanted to have dinner in the centre, on the harbour and experience the rest of the city, so cannot comment on that.

Wifi is free but only for 30mins of your whole stay. Which was disappointing, really this should be free for staying guests.

Also the spa €6 per person per day if you want to experience the spa. Really this should be free for staying guests and you should only pay for any treatments you may have.

Television - although it says satalite tv it only had 3 English speaking channels which were all American news channels.

Rooms were clean and tidy. Only issue was we got a room on the fourth floor, which was a little noisy and overlooked the car park but other than that good.

Just to add we only wanted somewhere to stay. We didn't pay for breakfast because the bull ring arena (local shopping centre) had lovely coffee shops to grab a pastry in the morning. Only a 5 min walk around the corner.

And if you are not after fancy and to rest your head. Wanting to be close to centre but not pay a fortune then brilliant hotel. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,940
    1,331
    246
    58
    34
See reviews for
579
1,828
185
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August 2012 - there was a bit of confusion when we first got there as one of our rooms hadn't been reserved, but after the initial mix-up we were really pleased by what we found at the hotel. The rooms were spacious, the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept on (the pillows were amazing!) and the shower was huge. We didn't have breakfast included, but we had paid a very reasonable price and there were plenty of lovely places to eat close by. Nice bar downstairs. Would recommend and would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Used this Hotel nights before and after a cruise. Easy to find from the Airport by train.. convenient for the metro and the hop off and hop on Bus.Good breakfast and hotel very clean - staff are very helpful.Ideal for anybody wanting a reasonably priced hotel for several days. Worth paying for a room upgrade 6 or 12 euros to have coffee making facliities and better room. Bullring centre nearby with good shopping areas and restaurants on the top floor

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in oct'12 for a visit to the camp nou,which is approx 20 mins walk.As said in previous reviews ideal location to visit any area of the city using the metro,the hotel itself is spotlessly clean,well presented and the room we had on the 14th floor was spacious with a superb bathroom,breakfast was well worth the 12 euros pp and the views from the restaurant on the 25th floor were spectacular.Would stay here again also easy link by train to the airport from the sants station opposite the hotel.All staff we encountered were very helpful.

Room Tip: we accepted a reasonally price upgrade from standard and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

At first I wasn't too thrilled with the idea of staying far away from the city center since it was my first trip to Barcelona, but my opinion quickly changed. Finding the hotel was very easy by taking the Renfe train from the airport and ending up at Sants Estacion right across from the hotel. We got the wifi, spa, and breakfast upgrades and had a room on the 18th floor. The rooms are nice and spacious and we had a great view! We also thought the breakfast was worth the price with many options to choose from and excellent service.

If we did not stay in this hotel, I believe we would have been stuck in the major tourist areas and would not have explored the neat neighborhoods surrounding the hotel. There is the mall that was once a bull fighting ring that has many restaurants on the top floor, a five minute walk down the street that also opens to a beautiful view of a Fountain and some other buildings that are escaping my memory. Although the mall itself is not impressive, going to the top floor definitely was. There is also a park nearby and grocery store right next to the hotel to buy water and any other necessities.

We were disappointed with two things: the wifi and the spa. First the wifi connection kept going out on us and we would have to get new passwords all the time to keep a connection. This was important to us since this was a "work-cation." As for the spa, skip it! There is a pool, sauna, and steam room, but we were disappointed in the facilities. If you want to go there, just pay the day rate because its almost the same as the "upgrade" rate you pay when you first check in.

I would recommend this hotel for those who do not mind taking the metro to all destinations. Make sure to get the 10 trip pass that sold for about 10 euros- it'll save you some money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Funnbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days. It is right by the Santa Estacio station so is ultra convenient for the airport and is well connected for the metro system for sight seeing too.

The rooms are spacious, perhaps a little tired, but very comfortable and clean with excellent showers.

Breakfast buffet was very good but it was the service that stood out, from the reception to the waiting staff.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed one night in the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya and were not disappointed. It has an excellent location next to the train station. The service we received was first class with helpful,friendly staff. The panoramic restaurant on the top floor was out of this world. What a way to have breakfast !!! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#74 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,755 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#80 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#71 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Expo Hoteles, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing