We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, creepy noice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
Ranked #159 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good value, creepy noice.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Pros

The rooms were ample.
It was clean.
The staff was helpful and friendly, most of them spoke a little bit of english.
The buffet breakfast was good.
Great value.
The room had two televison sets.
The consierge spoke english, spanish, catalan and french.

Cons
The walls are paper thin, ergo you are always hearing voices, door slamming, sneezes etc. In fact, the first night I thought that someone had broken into the room. Though I should mention that my nerves were on edge since I was reading Stephen King's It.
The hotel might have trouble with the pipage because you could hear strange gurgling noices at night.
The location is not the best.
The wi-fi is spotty.
The view in our room was that of pebbles and bamboo.

Without the things above the hotel would be a 5 star hotel so I hope that management sees this review and tries to improve it's hotel.

Room Tip: HIgher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveeating1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your opinion with us.
We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience. We are working on the issue you mentioned regarding the internet, trying to improve the speed of the connection.
All our rooms are refurbished, therefore nobody has complained about the noise, but we will make sure to check the problem you mentioned specifically for the room you were in.

Your opinion is very important to us and we appreciate it very much. All staff would like to thank you for the great evaluation you have given.
We hope you will choose our hotel again for your next stay in Barcelona.

Best regards,
Carlos Ariza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    181
    46
    19
    14
See reviews for
94
208
18
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and got an upgrade to a luxury suite. The desk staff were excellent and very helpful, the breakfast was also excellent and served by a very nice lady. The rooms are comfortable but the bathroom could have been bigger and better designed - practicality should have taken precedence over modernity! There was no mirror outside the bathroom. The free wi-fi connection was hopeless so better to buy the upgrade which worked OK - eventually. The hotel is away from the centre of town but well situated for bus routes, both regular and tourist buses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing your opinion.
I inform you that we are working to improve the wi-fi service and we will take in consideration your others opinion about the bathroom. Thank you for your nice words about the staff, we try to do our best. Next time you book with us we will try to give you another room that is more of your taste.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumezzane, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have enjoyed my staying at the hotel; the positive aspects are: clean, friendly helpfull staff, design, bathroom and beds. Negative: wifi connection doesn't work very well but it does for basic stuff, couch is not that confortable to sleep on (in case there is a third person in the room), breakfast a bit poor although good, not ver yclose to the center but reachable with public transportation in about 20-30 minutes. On the back of the hotel there are lots of building very close so you can hear some noises sometimes.

Room Tip: Room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melzago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion.
About the wi-fi connection, we are aware of our problems and we are working on it.
Not all of the rooms are at the back of the hotel, for the next time you book with us we can give you one of those. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in a Junior suite, and was very pleased and satisfied. The staff was friendly, professional and helpful. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean, very functional, yet giving the feeling of a 'home' rather than an 'assembly-line' hotel. I particularly loved the possibility to fully open the windows (overlooking a quiet street and a nearby little park and playground), as well as the electric shutters which completely block out the sunlight allowing for a good sleep after a night of partying...The bed and matress were very comfortable as well.
The location of the hotel is excellent, not smack in the middle of the heavy tourist traffick, but still very close to the extremely efficient and convenient Barcelona public transport system. (The nearest Metro stations are about 10-15 min walk, but there are buses and trams on the Diagonal within 3 minutes walk, with which you can connect to the Metro on the same ticket). For those who prefer taxis (which are reasonably priced in Barcelona), there is a taxi stand right across the street. The hotel is within comfortable walking distance to big modern shopping centers and many nice retail shops. it is in an upscale residential/business area, and I always prefer to mingle with the locals rather than with tourists (although there will always be plenty of those as well -this is Barcelona).
For the sake of completeness, I can mention only 2 minor flaws: The first is that at a buffet breakfast, I woul expect some eggs (other than that the breakfast was excellent, and the breakfast room very pleasant). The second was the free ('basic') WiFi : The signal in my room was rather weak - I had no problem with my laptop, but on the iPhone I was sometimes unable to connect. The surfing speed is adequate for low-volume surfing, but too slow for streaming videos, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First at all thank you for your time writing this review on TripAdvisor,

We are truly pleased with your good impressions of our Hotel, we love you could enjoy the
details of our Junior Suite.

Our team strive hard to make our guests feel at home, enjoying the comfort of the hotel, the tranquility of the area and the easy connection to the bustling center of Barcelona.

Waiting to have you with us on your next stay in the city.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Absolutely recommendable Hotel !!!!

Located in a quiet street within 15 minutes by public transport from the central square of the city.
The price was amazingly cheap but the Hotel give us the standards of a 4stars superior.

Small hotel, around 50 rooms where the staff is the best of its values: helpful, friendly and professional.

The rooms are well designed, with wooden floors, beautiful and modern bathrooms (amazing shower !!!), and comfortable beds.

The front desk stuff recomend us great and not overpriced restaurant every day, there where the best!!

Sure we will repeat!

Room Tip: Spend a little more and take a Deluxe room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time writing this lovely review of our Hotel in TripAdvisor,
We are really thankful for your kind words about the hotel facilities and the comfortability of our rooms.

We want all our customers feel like at home and we are really pleased you appreciate the hospitality of our team.

Thank you very much and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Journalist
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Barcelona has no end of high and low end hotels, with all points in between, and plenty of apartment rental services too. After renting a little flat for 3 nights in the heart of Tourist Land near the endlessly-crowded and noisy Gothic Quarter, I returned for one night and stayed at the Gran Derby, one of four hotels in a small chain that I plan to patronize everywhere I can. Since I required a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom space to share with a pair of teenage boys, most hotels were quite costly, but my intrepid travel agent suggested the Gran Derby.

For the price, which was incredibly, almost unbelievably reasonable, I was expecting a dump, but I figured I could suck that up for one night. Now I wish I'd stayed there the entire time. This small property is located some distance from the throbbing heart of Barcelona, in a quiet and pleasant residential area that's easily accessible by the impeccable subway line (it's located between two separate lines).

Our two-bedroom, two-bathroom duplex was a pure delight, with comfy beds, soft sheets, and stylish accoutrements, along with TV's in each room, one of the best showers I've experienced anywhere, and elegantly-packaged "product" in both bathrooms. We all slept fantastically well and were reluctant to depart.

The 10-Euro breakfast buffet was a lovely and delicious bargain the next morning - along with a variety of scrumptious baked goods, several types of local ham and cheeses and cut fruit, there were eggs made to order and plenty of bacon (if desired).

The staff was also unfailingly helpful and polite - moving all our baggage into our room while we were out exploring, giving us terrific tips on restaurants (much less expensive in this "local" neighborhood than anywhere near the tourist sections - we had one of best meals at a nearby café) and the best subways or buses to take.
All this for UNDER $200 a night! Try and match that anywhere, I dare you!

When I return to that fabulous city, the Gran Derby (not to be confused with the nearby DERBY Hotel) will be my home. I will search no more forever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Writerontherecord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear guest

We truly appreciate your lovely review of our Hotel, we are really please to help you to enjoy our amazing city with our facilities and our hospitality .

Our daily effort is comforted to see the feed back on this kind of comments.

Obviously we will look forward to have you again in the Hotel in your next stay in the city of barcelona

Thank you and best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I liked it quite a lot. It's clean and very modern. Nice decor on the inside, hardwood floors, two level suite, two tv's (one downstairs, one upstairs). The only downside was the air-conditioning, too cold - might've been broken. Lot of restaurants in the area. A bit of shopping, good area although it's more of a business central rather then tourist attraction.
Other than that great place to stay at, for business or pleasure, will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Take the two-level suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaMikeD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest;

First of all we are glad to spend time for writing at Trip Advisor.
We try to make the customer feel at home with a modern style and functional.

We would love to have the chance to welcome you again in your next visit to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Carlos Ariza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#74 of 513 in Barcelona
1,931 reviews
Hotel Derby
#287 of 513 in Barcelona
684 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#108 of 513 in Barcelona
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#126 of 513 in Barcelona
1,173 reviews
Eixample
ILUNION Auditori
ILUNION Auditori
#297 of 513 in Barcelona
1,000 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#142 of 513 in Barcelona
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Derby Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Derby Suites

Property: Hotel Gran Derby Suites
Address: Loreto, 28, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#91 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Derby Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star (luxe) hotel located next to Barcelona's Avinguda Diagonal, one of Barcelona's commercial and business districts, and just a 20-minute walk from Passeig de Gràcia and the city centre.Located in a building with an English-style façade is a cosy boutique hotel with 43 guest rooms on an almost completely pedestrian street.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, the Hotel Gran Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Services43 guest rooms: Standard rooms, Junior Suite Duplex and DeluxeEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffetRoom serviceWi-Fi in all areasGran Derby function room and the terrace-swimming pool area for eventsGym and saunaOutdoor swimming pool and solariumLaundry and ironing serviceParkingSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gran Derby Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Derby Hotel
Gran Derby Barcelona
Hotel Gran Derby Suites Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing