We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay at a beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
Ranked #166 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent stay at a beautiful hotel”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My partner and I spent a long weekend in Barcelona and had the pleasure of staying at the Gran Derby. Our room, a junior suite, was superb value for money and offered an abundance of space. The staff were really helpful and although the hotel is not in the centre of the city, there are transport links that can get you there in 15 minutes. We will be staying at the Gran Derby next time for sure.

Room Tip: The junior suites are huge considering their price and would recommend them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your valuable time posting your opinion at Tripadvisor. We would also like to thank you for your nice words about our staff and the hotel. The company made a big effort to update the rooms to a more modern and enjoyable shape. It is very comforting to know that your stay was satisfactory and you are willing to come back to your place in Barcelona.

Thank you and best regards,

Carlos Ariza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    181
    45
    19
    14
See reviews for
92
207
18
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Gran Derby and I have appreciated the hotel both times. Large rooms with remarkable bathroom space and if you get a room with a view facing the backyard you might get a bay window with a glimpse of the swimming pool.

The only thing that could be a bit better is the breakfast. While not being bad at all, I found it a little limited. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent posting your opinion at Tripadvisor; to know what we’re doing right and the details we can improve is one of the best tools we have in order to offer an increasingly better service.

In the past couple of years we have refurbished almost all our rooms and now is the time when we can appreciate the results on kind commentaries like yours about our facilities and also about our staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Carlos Ariza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overpelt, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My only comment on this Hotel is that I was very not amused ast year February during the week of the big Mobile exhebition. Room-rate was crasy (800,00€) and I was obliged to take more than 1 night. I have been a very regular customer for years and even management could not help me out. Result, I booked a hotel outside of Barcelona !

Overall I can only say Excellent, Rooms and espacially the staff, they alway make me feel more than welcom ! My complements.

Room Tip: Not realy, they nearly almost give me the same room on the 4th floor -->exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for such a nice review. It is of great help for us to hear how such a frequent customer like you perceive the hotel and the service we try to offer every day.

To know that your overall evaluation is "excellent" about the rooms and the staff, after so many years of knowing us, is definitely comforting.

Thank you very much, again, for being one of our best customers ever.

Best regards,

Carlos Ariza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

After already writing one review, and having more than a dozen or so stays here, I felt compelled to write another.

The rooms are excellent as you will see in my attached image, however the staff is what truly makes the place fantastic, I am a business traveller, and always arrive from Asia around 6:30 am, the hotel however never makes an issue about this always allows me direct access through the room and having samples send to the hotel with the staff looking after them, makes it like a 2nd home to me.

I am not going to tell you what the best room is but can tell you its on a high floor and ends with a 3, for me to know for you to find out, good luck hunting!

Room Tip: As I said the best room in the house and I had most of them, is on a high floor and ends with a 3, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepsapphyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear customer,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the time you spent posting your second opinion at Tripadvisor. Your review, full of such kind words about our hotel and staff, is especially significant for us, furthermore considering that it comes from a regular distinguished customer and a Top Contributor of Tripadvisor. It makes us proud to hear that you feel like home every time we have the pleasure to host you at Gran Derby.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Carlos Ariza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eregli, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed there 2 nights with my 2 friends, I booked 3 duplex rooms.. We all loved Gran Derby. The rooms are spacious and well designed.. The Reception staff were very polite and helpful.. I absolutely recommend this hotel. A big shopping mall is 10 minute walking distance..
" Viena Pedralbes " is a good place to eat something. Neu Camp is very close.. Taxi station is 30 meters away from this hotel.. In Barcelona, all the taxi drivers know Gran Derby Hotel..
We rented a car from the airport for 3 days.. but we left the car to the hotel's parking lot.. and in Barcelona, we travelled around by taxi..Taxi prices are very cheap.. The only bad thing for this hotel is Free Wifi connection..The signals are not strong in the rooms, but we did not mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KorayTnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guests,

We remember your stay with us, it makes us very happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay at Gran Derby and you are willing to recommend us in such an important website likeTripadvisor. Your nice words about our team will be told to them in order to recognize the effort they are making.

We are sorry to hear that you had problems with the Wi-Fi connection, we have been working on improving these service and currently we have solved these signal blind spots.

We’re hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Carlos Ariza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Easy, cool hotel, lacked pretension . Small Spanish chain, incredibly comfortable beds, great location, helpful, relaxed staff. Absolutely recommend for an easy short stay. Pool looks great too. I also loved peering into nearby apartment windows...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind words about the hotel and our staff. To know that distinguished guests like you appreciate our service makes us really proud and, at the same time, this encourage us to keep on working in order to improve in every possible way.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Carlos Ariza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#76 of 512 in Barcelona
1,890 reviews
Hotel Derby
#296 of 512 in Barcelona
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Sants
#107 of 512 in Barcelona
3,114 reviews
Eixample
ILUNION Auditori
ILUNION Auditori
#292 of 512 in Barcelona
993 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#149 of 512 in Barcelona
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Derby Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Derby Suites

Property: Hotel Gran Derby Suites
Address: Loreto, 28, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#91 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Derby Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star (luxe) hotel located next to Barcelona's Avinguda Diagonal, one of Barcelona's commercial and business districts, and just a 20-minute walk from Passeig de Gràcia and the city centre.Located in a building with an English-style façade is a cosy boutique hotel with 43 guest rooms on an almost completely pedestrian street.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, the Hotel Gran Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Services43 guest rooms: Standard rooms, Junior Suite Duplex and DeluxeEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffetRoom serviceWi-Fi in all areasGran Derby function room and the terrace-swimming pool area for eventsGym and saunaOutdoor swimming pool and solariumLaundry and ironing serviceParkingSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gran Derby Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Derby Hotel
Gran Derby Barcelona
Hotel Gran Derby Suites Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing