We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Be Mar Barcelona Hostel
Ranked #211 of 759 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good hostel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Visited with a friend recently in an 8 bed dorm, had no problems with the hostel. Was clean and staff were helpful. Only annoying thing was showers didn't have a space within the cubicle to place your things. Lockers and hostel were very secure, was told not an amazing area but never felt unsafe in the streets and having added security of swipe cards helped. Breakfast was good. Wifi usually reliable. Close to la rambla and paral-lel station. Supermarkets very close by as well!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobeball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    77
    41
    12
    19
See reviews for
7
43
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I shared a 10 person room with 8 of my friends and 2 others. The accommodation was basic but comfortable enough, although it was cramped at times. Facilities including the bathrooms were okay, but could have been cleaner. However, the location was very central and close to all nightlife and the atmosphere was fun and social. There was a lot of space in the common area to meet new people. We were told as girls not to walk down the street late at night, as it is not the best street but other than that the area was perfectly nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecelyRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The room I'm staying at is hot as a sauna because the air conditioning is broken for 3 nights already.

The front desk staff can't find a solution for that and we keep sleeping and sweating every night. Barcelona is already hot and our bedroom is even hotter!!!

And more: I have booked a 8 bed dorm and they put us in a 10 bed dorm and no explanation was given for that.

I do not recommend this hostel as they cannot find simple solutions for their problems.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guilherme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Tbilisi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

The location is amazing, one of the lovely narrow streets of Barcelona. Its very near to Las Ramblas. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duckling21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Be Mar was a great place to stay in Barcelona. The rooms were clean and tidy and a huge locker allocated to each bed to lock your belongings so very secure. Clearly a dodgy area of Barcelona but come and go quickly and no probs. Staff make this hostel fab, great breakfast also. barcelona has huge pickpocketing issues so watch your stuff whilst walking around. Instructions to hostel from airport are clear which makes it easier other than the train fare has gone up so have some extra ready to buy your ticket.

Room Tip: Party hostel if you want it to be. lots of activities to meet other travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie1967_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed here for a week in Barcelona. Found the location to be descent, although found it to be a slightly sketchy area. But always travelled with a friend and paid close attention to our personal belongings, and had no problems.

Found the staff to be helpful, but very busy. Maids cleaned the rooms on a daily basis. Was nice to have individual lockers in every room that could fit our entire backpacks!

Saw a few large cockroaches in the bathroom, coming out of a hole in the floor. Maybe this is something more people are used to and I'm just being a princess, but I am from Canada and have certainly never seen anything like this before around here! Didn't see them in the rooms though. Also made sure not to leave food lying around, just in case.

The breakfast was adequate, nothing special, but a meal that is included in the price is always an advantage when you're paying for all your meals while traveling.

The downside for us was that we had several bookings, due to unforseen circumstances, and had to switch rooms a couple times, and we had run out of cash by this time in the trip and had to use credit cards. They charge you a certain amount per transaction when you use a credit card, so be aware of this and make sure you bring enough cash. It was my first time in Europe and I would definitely bring more and set more aside the next time around!

The worst part was that we had a 16 bed dorm a couple nights, and the air conditioning was broken. It was extremely stuffy, but we also had a couple drunken nights and were able to pass out quickly, so it could have been worse!

All in all, we had a good experience here. As far as hostels go, this one is descent, and the setbacks were minor and did not ruin our time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

After staying here, and re-reading the other reviews, I wonder if the people who stayed here and thought it was the best hostel they've ever stayed at have stayed in any other hostels.

I made this reservation before having stayed in another Barcelona hostel, which I would stay at again in a second, but I won't be returning to Be Mar. I made the reservation based on price and location -- so let me start with that and then I'll move on to the other things. Traveling by myself, and not planning to spend much time in the hostel, mostly I cared about having a bed and bathroom. The bed was fine, for Ikea bunk beds, there are pillow, sheets and blanket available already, which is very good. The electronic key for the lockers is a good thing, because while I had my own with me, this makes things much easier + convenient. The bathrooms were clean, though if it's busy, I'd recommend bringing in your own in case there isn't any left -- this is not a nice thing to encounter. However, I don't know if it was just me (but how hard is it to work a shower/sink) but there was NO HOT WATER! Uhm, that might be fine in the hot Barcelona summer, but not when it's cooler outside and inside! And we're in Europe, not the developing world! So I'd like an at least tepid shower, thanks!

The location is great, though it's farther from the main part of Las Ramblas than I expected (when also dragging a suitcase from Placa Catalunya - though it's really not far at all otherwise). Depending on where you're arriving from, it's probably best and definitely closest to take the L3 Metro to Parallel. There are a few other metro stops very close by.

Now, on to the extras. I found the common area and galley kitchen to be cramped, the internet was not a stable connection (nor for the staff) and basically the whole place is windowless. A bit strange. While I realize that this is a hostel, and one with a bit of a reputation, to be carrying on in the common area at 8am still up from the night before was a bit disturbing to myself and other guests, and the person at the reception didn't ask anyone to be quiet. Breakfast is toast, cereal, instant coffee, tea, and toast. You get what you pay for.

The staff were certainly helpful and should be commended. They have to put up with a lot.

If you're traveling on an absolute shoestring, stay here, but even so I'd say that there are other hostels in Barcelona that have my vote now. Sorry, Be Mar.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaSilvestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Ideal Youth Hostel
Ideal Youth Hostel
#226 of 759 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
El Raval
Be Sound Hostel
Be Sound Hostel
#303 of 759 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#132 of 759 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Barcelona Centro
Hostal Barcelona Centro
#59 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Barcelona Urbany Hostel
#68 of 759 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Mar Barcelona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Mar Barcelona Hostel

Property: Be Mar Barcelona Hostel
Address: Sant Pau 80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 759 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Be Mar Barcelona Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right where you want to be!Best location, cool and famous Hostel in Europe!!! Be Hostels Mar is the perfect Hostel for you right in the city centre!!! Well located and close to the most important spots. Five minutes from les Rambles, the Port and the Olympic Park. We have many years experience welcoming travelers from all around the world, so we understand what you want!Find in Be Mar Hostel:- Free breakfast- Free Internet and WIFI access to keep connected with the world- Free fully equipped kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Be Mar Barcelona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Mar Hotel Barcelona
Be Mar Barcelona Hostel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing