We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this Place, Space, Location, Staff!!”
Review of Itaca Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Itaca Hostel
Ranked #27 of 739 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in 4 different places in BCN and Itaca Hostel is by far the Best!
For convenience, central location, friendly helpful staff, computer access, maps, information, services and price... it's a great deal!
Our room was large and comfortable with a shared full kitchen, bath and living area.
I've done the whole 'hostel' thing in my 20s and 30s so wasn't sure how it would feel at 43 on honeymoon, but Itaca feels like a home instead of a hostel or hotel.
Clean, modern but with old-school charm.
Cheap and good coffee- and with the kitchen, it's awesome to go to the mercat and buy stuff to cook instead of eating out all the time. Great place to re-group, ground, and rest.
It's so close to the major tourist areas but located in a hood that feels more lived-in with real people instead of drunk 20-somethings.

Room Tip: We stayed at the private double/4 bedroom apartment a few blocks away- quiet, close-in, very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 200KellyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 433 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in the apartment Itaca Blue which are just within a couple of minutes from the main building
First of all I liked the locations of the hostel, just next to the Cathedral. The stuff is really nice and always eager to help. The rooms are very clean and we also had towels
I will choose Itaca hostel for my next visit to Barcelona

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galina666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the private bathroom twin share Itaca apartment (a street or two away from their main hostel) for a couple of nights in early July 2013 and it was excellent. The room was spacious, clean and aesthetically appealing. The location was also a short walk to the Barri Gothic district (once you get used to the winding streets of Barcelona). There was even breakfast laid out on the communal kitchen bench in the morning of cereal, toasts and juice. The only minor drawbacks were: lack of A/C (which is not what you'd get in a hostel anyway), the ceiling fan was a bit loud and the wifi was working on/off, but it didn't detract at all from the quality of this place. The staff at the hostel were really helpful with whatever we needed as well. I would definitely stay here again when in Barcelona next.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpow6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in the twin bedroom one night and the dorms the next night. The location is great and the hostel provides everything you might need during your stay. Manuel was by far our favorite staff member so if he's still there be sure to get to know him and ask him about where to go in Barcelona. We also stayed in the two bedroom apartment for two nights. It was kept clean and in a good location but the shower door was broken and the oven did not work. It is also not as stylish as the pictures let on but we didn't really care about that. The apartment and hostel were peaceful and homey (not one of the hostels with a rooftop bar and group trips to clubs like Razzmatazz - so if you're looking for that, look elsewhere.) Though we were "scolded" for a few drunken mishaps by one of the staff in particular, Ithaca was a pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at Itaca Blue for three nights, which was a short two minute walk away from the main building. We booked a private double room with shared bathroom. Generally, the hostel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast, while simple, was plentiful and satisfying. Although we had a shared bathroom, there was always a shower cubicle or WC whenever we needed to use one. Wifi was excellent. Our only complaint was that it was located above a restaurant, which could get a little noisy at night. It was ok that our room did not have a television, because we were out most of the time anyway! While you can get cheaper accommodation in Barcelona compared to Itaca, the location is excellent and we do not regret staying there.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank JtinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked this hostel as our first lodging destination while in Spain. Our room was on a separate building from the main check-in location, only a couple of minutes away. We shared a floor that had 3 other private bedrooms, a kitchen, and a bathroom with 2 showers. The place was quiet and clean, and the size of the room was really good. The only complaint I have is that we found a dead roach under the bed upon arriving, and then I killed another one the following day (not sure if they came through the window or what). Also, the WiFi was very, very spotty

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was probably the best private room I have ever stayed in in a hostel. It was at their new location, Itaca Red, a large flat with three bedrooms. One bedroom is ensuite so only two groups have to share a bathroom - plus there is both a full bathroom and a WC. Fully stocked kitchen was great for preparing food to save money. The location was really nice, near two metro stations and the Cathedral. Only about 30 minutes to walk to Sagrada Familia, and only 5 minutes to get to Plaza Catalunya (where the airport bus drops off and leaves from). The staff was very friendly and helpful with maps and directions.

Room Tip: Itaca Red was great; I never went to the dorms in the main building so I can't comment on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#19 of 739 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Eixample
Bed&Bike Barcelona
Bed&Bike Barcelona
#24 of 739 in Barcelona
242 reviews
Eixample
360 Hostel Barcelona
360 Hostel Barcelona
#38 of 739 in Barcelona
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Jam Hostel Barcelona
Jam Hostel Barcelona
#41 of 739 in Barcelona
164 reviews
Gracia
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
#3 of 739 in Barcelona
389 reviews
Eixample
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
#42 of 739 in Barcelona
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itaca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itaca Hostel

Address: Ripoll 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 739 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $30 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Itaca Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the Gothic area of Barcelona, in a quiet pedestrian street next to the Cathedral square.If you stay with us, in just a few minutes walk you have all the main cultural atractions (Picasso Museum, Cathedral, Music Palace, Gaudí’s arquitecture, MACBA, CCCB, Ramblas…) the beaches, traditional tapas bars and areas to enjoy the cosmopolitan nightlife of Barcelona.We guarantee you are in the centre, where everything happens but you will have peace to sleep well!!In Itaca we don’t allow people to stay who don’t respect the right of others to rest. For those (like us!) who like to enjoy the nightlife but also the wide cultural variety our city offers, Itaca is the ideal place to stay. For those who look for getting drunk and out of control, well, we suggest that you head to one of the many ‘Party Hostels’ that exist in Barcelona!Itaca has a maximum capacity of 30 people, this allows us to have a more personal touch with you, and between you. We are able to give you the attention and help that you need to enjoy your stay with us.Our installations are spacious, clean and welcoming. All the rooms are exteriors with balconies. We have dormitories, double rooms, family rooms and apartments.US….Inspired by our travels, we opened Itaca en August 2001 with the intention of bringing together the things we liked best from other places, creating a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. A place to socialize and rest, where you will feel free to discover our culture at your own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Itaca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itaca Hotel Barcelona
Itaca Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing